We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We could not have had a more wonderful experience. This inn was small and quaint, with the manager attending to any need we might have. Perfect location and cozy, rustic furnishings. Hotels like this should be in every town in America. Love!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenaRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it really helps other travelers know that the small independent motels can be nice too. I'm not sure we're "Perfect" but we sure do try to make all our guests feel at home. Hope you can stop by again soon, thanks again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Waters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed here twice now for snowmobiling season, and once at the other place up the road. Honestly, there is no comparison. I could go on and on about how bad the other place was....but instead I'll turn my attention on how great Waters Inn is.

The most important thing of all is these rooms are clean (unlike the other place)!!!! Each room has a TV, microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. You only get free internet for 60 minutes every 24 hours. To have internet all day it's $4 per day.

There is no longer a bar across from the motel, but the motel is directly across the street from trail 7. There is no need to trailer your sleds anywhere to ride. The parking is great, and you can easily unload your gear and toss it right in your room, and have your sleds parked right next to your room window.

Right from the room you can easily do a 60-70 mile loop (or more) when you arrive. You can also ride from the motel to the Mackinac Bridge too, but plan a whole day for that adventure. There are two gas stations right in the area that you can ride too as well. They even give you a free area trail map which is extremely helpful.

About 5 miles up the trail is a great sports store for all your snowmobile needs that is directly across the street from trail 7. Easily accessible by snowmobile. There is also a bar/restaurant right next to it that was a great place to stop and warm up.

As stated in the other reviews, yes the bathroom is super small, but to me it's not that big of a deal. I would however love to see some small shelves put up for us women. Women tend to have a lot of "bathroom stuff" and to be able to set it somewhere would be nice.

My only other negative is the rooms are pretty dim. Additional lighting, or a light in the ceiling would be nice. Yes the walls are thin, but both times we've stayed we weren't bothered by that.

We love staying here and wouldn't even try any place else!!! We recommended you guys to everyone. :) Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stays while Snowmobiling in the Gaylord area. We appreciate you mentioning how clean our rooms are, for us there is no higher priority. We know our guests enjoyed having a bar/restaurant across the street, and hope it will reopen soon under new ownership. So sorry for the misunderstanding about the wireless internet, it is free for our guests. The pay internet access you found is offered to others in the area. Because of your feedback, we have made it a priority to make sure all guests receive the free wireless code before leaving the front desk. We also appreciate your comment about the need for a shelf in the bathroom and are making that a priority this spring..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found this little gem a few years back and ended up going there several times a year for our anniversary and weekend getaway. Last year we called to reserve our room...the new owner was rude and uncooperative. We had always brought our 10# dog with us and she was perfect every time and even got along wonderfully with the resident cat. The manager who was always there was so nice and friendly..her absence must really be disheartening to those who continue to visit. When we called last year the man was extremely rude about them never allowing pets and argued with us about it. We were very put off by him and have not been back. This makes me sad because it really is a great place to stay. We had visited the motel usually twice a year and miss going up to the area.Anyone visiting should make a point to go about 7miles north to "Stampedes"...it is awesome. I will be honest and say that our "staying" experience at The Waters Inn was always wonderful and recommend it if you don't have pets.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniels64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We appreciate your business and your GREAT review about your many stays with us. We changed our pet policy because all of our rooms have new carpeting and we take great pride in our cleanliness. With the rise of allergies due to pet dander and the possibility of an"'accident'" on the carpet we made the difficult decision to stop accepting pets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We got caught in an ice storm and couldn't drive any longer. We got off interstate 75 at exit 270 and had no idea if the little town of Waters had a motel. We found the waters Inn. This is a 10 unit motel where the rooms are as nice as any 4 star hotel, The owners of the motel treated us like visiting royalty. I would stay at this motel over any big chain any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCNygren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thanks so much for your GREAT review. We appreciate you taking a chance on our small family owned motel. Many people pass us by to stay at the big chain places. Because we're small we really do think of people who stay with us as guests. Thanks again for staying with us and proving that "LITTLE CAN BE AWESOME".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So this was our last stop on a 6,000 mile trip. We began our trip at a family run inn and wanted to end it that way. The place is easy to find and the manager was nice. He gave us room 10. The room was on the small side but cozy and cute. The room wasn't totally clean though. The lamp in the room was extremely dusty, same with the alarm clock and the phone was absolutely filthy. The bathroom towels were all stained and the wash clothes all had strings hanging off them. We were afraid to use the bath towels as they appeared dirty so we dried ourselves off on the hand towels (which were nice). The beds were not soft or hard so we slept well. The one irritating thing was there were only blinds in the front window and no curtains so the light outside shined into the room all night long. Not a huge deal but if you can only sleep in pure darkness it may be an issue. Overall we had a great stay minus the above issues.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for your through review, as a small family business we read every word carefully and are always trying to improve. We strive for a home run at every at bat, but even Domonic Brown, hits a triple once in a while. Bob, our resident manager did find the dust in the lamp, and has vowed to stand on his tip toes to look in that spot more often.

I wish you had brought the issue with the towels to his attention, because we have lots of extra fresh towels we keep on hand.

We appreciate your 4 star review, and your comment that "Overall we had a great stay" and we plan to earn all 5 stars in every category on your next visit.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My son and I stayed here last weekend during our golf trip to the area. After checking all the other Gaylord hotels and comparing the rates and reviews we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. We only needed the room from 7:30 at night until 8:30 in the morning and it certainly had everything we needed for a good rate. The whole property seemed well maintained and we enjoyed the small town atmosphere. We had dinner across the street and breakfast at The Hilltop in the morning as recommended by the manager. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks SO Much for giving us a try, so many people drive by assuming that the big name brand places just have to be better. We all start with the same mattresses, sheets and towels and we are VERY PROUD to have been rated #1 in Gaylord by customers for well over a year.

We only have 10 rooms and we are very focused on making sure every guest is a happy customer!

Thanks for taking time to write a review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The room in which we stayed at the Waters Inn was clean and comfortable. There were two double beds, a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. The bathroom is tiny and the shower is small. Lighting in the room is poor. If you stay here, check the TV as it receives many more channels than the list in the room shows, some of which are HD. The price is reasonable and the desk clerk is terrific. The free wi-fi worked well. We would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for your review, and letting us know about our out of date TV channel guides, we have updated them and are proud offer nearly 70 channels on our new 32" flat screen TV's.

Thanks for mentioning our room amenities and our reasonable pricing. We know our bath rooms are cruise ship sized, but we do have one of the nicest handicapped rooms in the area, that has a bathroom with a roll in shower, if someone in your party needs it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
9.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
16.0 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Inn

Address: 10565 Old US Highway 27 S, Gaylord, MI 49735-9471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $99 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off I-75 at Exit 270 on Old US-27, the Waters Inn is The Peaceful Alternative, with access to everything the Gaylord area has to offer, without the traffic, noise and neon. On the snowmobile trail and a nine iron from dozens of lakes and golf courses. Lodging for those who would prefer to enjoy everything the Gaylord area has to offer, without the noise, the big box stores and the traffic jams, just 8 miles south of Gaylord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing