We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing Thru”
Review of Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Awesome stop. Great and easy access. Very clean. Bob was very friendly, didnt really visit. Gas Station very close, bar across the street as is post office. Woild definitely stay again. Parking directly outside room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaiserkorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review, we like to think of our place as "the peacefull alternative" to staying in downtown Gaylord, where your room might have a great view of the Walmart parking lot. Your review mentioned clean, and we make a big deal out of making sure your room will be squeaky clean. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Waters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Been here twice in the last couple years. Both times my dad and I were golfing in the gaylord area and wanted a nice clean mom-n-pop style place to stay at. I can honestly say that this is one of my favorite places that i've ever stayed at. Each room has its own up-north theme to it. The first time we stayed our room was a skiing theme. The second it was more of a hunting fishing theme with a buck on the wall. They have flat screen tv's with a nice picture. The bathrooms are really small, but when you're only staying a couple days it's not a big deal. The rooms are fairly new, nice bedding, and very neat and tidy. The bathroom is also spotless. If you're ever in the Gaylord area, you should definitely give this place a shot. It's cheaper, cozier, and more unique than any chain hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your golf adventures to the Gaylord area. We pride ourselves in providing a great room at a reasonable price. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our first stay was great. Manager was very friendly. Very clean room & beds are very comfortable, each room have a different theme that was so nice & different. Coffee maker, fridge & Microwave, & right across the street a bar with great food. We really enjoyed the wood cabin theme. & location very convenient. We will be back. Highly recommend Waters Inn!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHARON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

As a first time customer we appreciate you staying with us and writing a review. You mentioned clean and comfortable, and that's exactly what we strive for! Your words just may convince someone who usually sticks with the big brand names to give us a try, and once they do they almost always come back. Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved our brief stay at Waters Inn. Bob was great - super helpful and friendly. The rooms were perfectly clean. The bathroom (while very small) was also spic and span. We loved the nightlight in the bathroom! Such a personal touch. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yellowdaisylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback. We are very proud of our resident partner Bob, he works very hard to make sure everyone feels at home. Thanks for noticing the night light in the bathroom, they were added as the result of feedback from another guest. We are looking forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Gaylord area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The manager goes the extra mile for you. Very personable. The rooms were very comfortable and have everything you need. I love the wood cabin theme. I come here every year to fish Bradford Lake. I will be back next year. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKipker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, we look forward to your next visit to your favorite fishing spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good thing there wasn't an emergency because after they took your money you couldn't get them to answer their phone. The pillows were very thin and I needed another, the water pressure in the bathroom was just a trickle so a shower was out of the question, the sink was way to small with no counter top to set anything on and the walls were so thin, we could hear snoring coming from the next room. The parking spaces aren't marked so someone encroached into our spot making it impossible to park in front of our room. The only good thing was the room was clean.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Raelene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m happy you found your room clean, because clean is our #1 priority! I’m sorry our resident manager was hard to reach by phone, but I know you got the extra pillow needed. I’m surprised about your concerns with the parking and water pressure, we have never had complaints about either before. All our rooms have new 32” Flat Screen TVs, new windows and new bathroom floors. Thanks for giving us a try, sorry we weren’t the place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were up here fishing and wasn't looking for a fancy place to stay, just a clean affordable place. Perfect! Very clean! Very nice guy that was a pleasure to deal with. A nice place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ripnlipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBicknell53, Owner at Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks SO much for taking time to write a review, so many people now read online reviews before choosing a place to stay, and as a small family business we appreciate your feedback!

You mentioned clean and affordable and that is exactly what we shoot for.

We hope you enjoy the new 32' Flat screen TV's we just installed in all our rooms on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
9.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
16.0 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Inn

Address: 10565 Old US Highway 27 S, Gaylord, MI 49735-9471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $99 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off I-75 at Exit 270 on Old US-27, the Waters Inn is The Peaceful Alternative, with access to everything the Gaylord area has to offer, without the traffic, noise and neon. On the snowmobile trail and a nine iron from dozens of lakes and golf courses. Lodging for those who would prefer to enjoy everything the Gaylord area has to offer, without the noise, the big box stores and the traffic jams, just 8 miles south of Gaylord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing