We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must see!

My first trip to visit Fayette was amazing. The fall colors were gorgeous. The park sits on the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
ak3250
,
Anchorage, Alaska
via mobile
Walking in the Past

My husband and I camped for two nights in the very quiet clean camp grounds here. We also took a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Terese_707
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Read all 184 reviews
  
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
147
34
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
34
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake michigan ghost town white cliffs visitor center snails company town waves crash bit out of the way upper peninsula scenic beauty love history delicious ice cream history lesson greenfield village the gift shop sells living history picnic lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My first trip to visit Fayette was amazing. The fall colors were gorgeous. The park sits on the shores of Lake Michigan. The buildings were closed for the season but we didn’t care. There as still so much to see and gave us an excuse to return next year. Young children might get bored but older children and teenagers would love it. It was easy to walk around. The pathways are in good shape. I highly recommend a visit.

Thank ak3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I camped for two nights in the very quiet clean camp grounds here. We also took a walking tour of the historic town of Fayette, which is a must see whether you camp or just drive through the park. We would definitely stay here again. The only down side we experienced was not being able to have wood for a fire the first night because the park attendant left right after we checked in, and it was only late afternoon when we arrived. We made sure we bought wood first thing the next day.

Thank Terese_707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It is neat seeing the work that has been done on this sight between visits. The last time we went the hotel hadn’t wasn’t open, and now they have restored the office to it’s appearance. Don’t miss the music hall! It is kind of on the back of a building, upstairs, and is by far my favorite part!

1  Thank thetheaterdante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

For most people ... an abandoned 19th century industrial site would not be that interesting, but this is one place that is a hidden gem. Fayette State Park has been in the park system since 1959 .... but the history dates back to 1867-1891 as an active concern and home to around 500 employees and their families. The state has done a great job with maintaining what is still here, and giving so much information about who, what, when, where, and why that it is a place that I would come back to in an instant. The setting is now quiet, clean, and peaceful .... it was not that way right after the Civil War. The Jackson Iron Company was responsible for this company site and town, and responsible for virtually harvesting most of the hardwoods on the Garden peninsula to the point where they closed the smelter due to the lack of charcoal to run the two blast furnaces that were making pig iron. Then they shut the doors and went away. This scenario is very much like what happened in the area north of Houghton-Hancock when the copper mines shut down. There is so much history here, and this is well worth the trip off of US Hwy 2 west and then south of Manistique. Place this on your Michigan bucket list ... this area will sneak up on you and you will delight in the beauty of Snailshell harbor.

Thank trainfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Definitely worth the drive to be able to see a an old town and hear all about the people who lived there and to go into the old houses. The views are amazing too!

Thank hidjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This was our favorite stop along our trip... Even a deer decided to walk through while people were walking around!

Thank Happy-Traveler-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

I was so impressed by the campground. Small, clean, and quiet. The bathroom facility were clean and well kept. The shower facilities were single person that was nice. One of the better state parks I've camped at. No cell service tho.
The township was really cool. Loved the history and how well preserved it was. The views were breathtaking. The walking trails were well maintained. I would reccomend a trip to fayette

Thank renob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Fayette is a picturesque area, a very interesting self guided walking tour, and a window into a real 19th century “company town”. We learned a lot and took a lot of really great pictures.

1  Thank DGS2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Wow!! What a change. The park service has worked hard to repair all the buildings. They have done a remarkable job laying out the paths, the educational information, and the historical information! A job well done!! Next time I won’t wait 30 years. This a great great place to see. Very beautiful. Do yourself a favor-go to Fayette. Got its history; for your knowledge; for its beauty.

1  Thank brockwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We really liked learning about the history of the Fayette area. We like seeing how people lived back in the 19th century and this park really lets people see what life was like back then by letting visitors explore the old town buildings and reading all the displays. It should be even nicer once all the floors and all the buildings have been opened. The few caretakers we saw during our visit were very nice.

1  Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews