We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Self-Guided Tour”
Review of Bell's Brewery

Bell's Brewery
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Galesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Comstock Brewery is home to our 200 barrel system, where beers like Oberon and Two-Hearted are produced. The "Brew Gallery" was designed with visitors in mind and is just a short 12-minute drive from our original brewery and Eccentric Cafe located in downtown Kalamazoo.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Michigan
Level Contributor
402 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Terrific Self-Guided Tour”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First, a lot of people seem to be mixing up this facility with the Eccentric Cafe downtown Kalamazoo - which makes me wonder if they have been to either.

This is the corporate office and new 200bbl production and packaging facility. You can also see the original production brewery here, still in use - 50bbl, I think.

Mon - Fri they offer self guided tours from 10am - 4pm. You walk in on the ground level. Walk upstairs and you literally walk through the brewhouse. What you see in the brewhouse will determine if they are brewing or not. If they are not brewing, you may look into the grinder, mash tun, etc.. You can then walk and see the original smaller brewhouse, finally continue on to the bottling and packaging viewing deck (windows). When I visited there was a person stationed in the brewhouse, he was knowledgable about the brewing process and product line... and made sure I know I could ask questions.

On Saturday guided tours are available.

This is a great way to see one of the United States largest craft brewers -- the facility is beautiful. Bell's is currently the 7th largest craft brewer in the United States.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved Bell's!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a great lunch and some fantastic beers at Bell's. They had a huge selection on tap and trying the flights of beer was a lot of fun. The beer garden is beautiful and looks like a great spot to hang out and hear some music. We're already planning a trip back soon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, mi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Informative, fun brewery tour”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

First let me say that this brewery is not the same as Bell's Eccentric Cafe, which is the downtown Kalamazoo location. This is the actual brewery. It does not have a taproom or offer food.
My husband and I were offered a VIP tour through our membership in the Michigan Brewers Guild. Because this was a special event, our tour guide was permitted to give us samples of a recent special brew, the Sparkleberry, which was also available at the Bell's Eccentric Cafe. Normally, however, tour guests are encouraged to visit the Eccentric Cafe for samples.
Our guide, Clay, was very knowledgeable and had an answer for even some of the toughest questions about the brew process from some very hardcore beer enthusiasts.
The facility was very clean and beautiful. We didn't actually go "behind the scenes" into the bottling area or see the brewing process in up close, but we could see everything from the vantage point offered by the numerous windows above where the beer was being made.
This tour was fun, brief, educational, and we got some free Bell's schwag like buttons and pens and bumper stickers. If you're curious about how Michigan's flagship craft brewery works, check this facility out, then head ten minutes down the road to downtown Kalamazoo for a bite and a sampler. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank incitatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Many great memories at Bell's. I really like what they've done with the space in the renovation. Give it a shot sometime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun brewery”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can try so many of the brews here! There are a number of brews that are only available here and are not for sale anywhere else! The honey mead is available in the gift shop. I am not a huge fan of honey mead due to the sweetness, but it is good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Brewery also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bell's Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing