We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL IN AREA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrington Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
New Baltimore, Michigan
2 reviews
“BEST HOTEL IN AREA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our room with 2 queen beds was a nice size had a table 2 leather chairs and a nice flat screen tv. The cookies and popcorn in the evening are just a wonderful addition to the nice breakfast in the lobby in the morning. Rooms, halls, pool all were extremely up kept and clean. Every employee we came across had a big smile on their face and after meeting the owner (who placed fresh raspberries he just picked in a bowl for us) I could see why!

I would of gave it 10 stars if I could have - I will definitely return!! Thank you Ann for helping me with the charge incident! - Customer Service there goes beyond any hotel I've ever stayed at!

Room Tip: We had a main floor room and I would probably recommend this only because I know it was quiet - not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you Marion for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the raspberries and, of course, our hotel. We have a wonderful staff and it is so fun for me to post these positive reviews on their bulletin board. They really appreciate see them (or maybe, it is because they are always followed with a free lunch of their choice). Although I can not always provide raspberries, we will strive to make your next stay a very positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
40
12
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I had a gift certificate for a jacuzzi room. I had looked at the rooms online and was excited for a pleasant relaxing stay. However when we got to our room the jacuzzi was tiny, outdated pink color, and the caulking around the tub was peeling off and you could see the grime imbedded in it. When I called the front desk I was told that this room had a smaller jacuzzi because it also came with a "fireplace." Ooooo...an electic fireplace that you can't see from the jacuzzi or the bed. And was also informed all their jacuzzi rooms were full that night. Needless to say we didn't even use the jacuzzi because it was so gross. I'm bummed my parents wasted $170 on the gift certificate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Kristin, we are very disappointed and apologize that you did not enjoy your stay in one of our "State Rooms" while using a local charity gift certificate. I agree that pink would not have been my choice in color for a Jacuzzi, had it not been that color when purchased four years ago. Since our purchase, Room 37, which has nearly 550 sq. ft., has been furnished with the finest in linens, new room furnishings and a new bathroom mirror and vanity. With its extra large windows overlooking the pool, it is a favorite of many guests. However, no one takes pleasure with a room defect or discrepancy. Nor does anyone gain. It is our policy to promptly correct issues, preferably ahead of a guest. We continue to make guest improvements and we take all comments and suggestions very seriously as it is our aim to always provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room. While we regret that we failed in your situation; hopefully, both you and your parents are pleased that all of the funds expended went to a worthwhile cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

After a 4 hour drive to Fremont where my children and I had never visited, the Harrington Inn was a nice surprise! It was in perfect proximity to our destinations for the evening, and the staff made us feel very welcome. This was our second stay, and the kids loved the heated pool and fresh baked cookies. There was also pizza happy hour! I really liked that you could walk across the street to Spankys pizza for the best breadsticks you will ever have in your life! The hotel is about a block from the town movie theater, and there is a small lake within walking distance with a playground and a place to get ice cream.

This small town hotel actually welcomes executives from area corporate headquarters, and it shows in their professional and attentive staff. Thank you all for great conversation and 2 wonderful stays! If we are in the Fremont area again, we will definitely visit the Harrington.

S. Cade

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but draw your curtains if you get one facing the parking lot:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you, Stephanie, for writing such a nice review of the Harrington Inn. Thanks also for mentioning nearby attractions and restaurants. The theatre next door has just been renovated and usually has the latest in available movies. Spanky's restaurant across the street does have the best in "bread stix" and it was nice that you had a chance to sample them. The all-sports-825-acre Fremont Lake, with its playground, beach and public launch is a great place to relax and/or sample some delicious ice cream. Boat rentals are available on the west side of the lake for guests who desire to try to cast for bass, walleye or another catch. Fremont is also just minutes from two great rivers, the Muskegon and the White. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Harrington is a lovely, well-appointed Inn with warm reception, spacious accommodations, and pleasant staff. The rooms are very quiet and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed our time there, as well as the delicious, hot-from-the-oven cookies!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnelses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and giving special credit to my staff. It is always our intent to provide all guests with friendly service and a clean, comfortable room. The walls dividing our rooms are concrete block walls filled with sand and then covered with drywall which makes them especially quiet. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Having lived in Fremont for a few years 2 decades ago, I suspect Fremont is no one's idea of a tourist destination, though there are winter and summer sports options nearby. It may be a frequent business destination with Gerber Baby Food having a major corporate HQ and manufacturing plant just down the street. Whatever brings you to the Harrington, you will love it. Warm, fresh-baked cookies greet you on arrival (and seem to be available all day). A nice continental breakfast is offered in the mornings. We were upgraded to a king suite with in-room jacuzzi and the room was huge and so nicely appointed. Bed coverings were luxurious, overstuffed chairs comfortable. Everything was spotless and although we did not use the pool, it is a lovely small heated outdoor pool--our room overlooked it. So Fremont is not the big city or anything but if you are traveling through Michigan and want a lovely little hotel to bunk in for a bit, the Harrington will do nicely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Scott for writing such a wonderful review for the Harrington Inn. Pleasing guests and providing for their comfort are our main objectives. We are pleased that you choose this hotel for your lodging needs while in the area on business.
Fremont is a centrally located city only 25 minutes from Michigan Adventure and Lake Michigan, 45 minutes from Meijer Gardens, Grand Haven and Grand Rapids. In less than 15 minutes, there are 4 golf courses and two great fishing and canoe rivers, the Muskegon River to the south and the White River to the north. The 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake is just 3 blocks away. In the evening restaurants and a nice theatre are very close. The large Spectrum/Tamarac Health Center (free to guests) along with non-motorized paths and parks are close by the hotel. In addition, to other city shops, the area Amish community offers a variety of quality products.
We look forward to seeing you again either on business or just to revisit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framche-Comté
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Harrington Inn in Fremont is a small hotel, but very nice! Rooms are large, so are beds, and very confortable. Everything is very clean. The main difference with the regular hotels is the personnalized feeling you have by entering this place : you do not feel like 'a number', and that makes it very special.
Bid advanatge of the place : wi-fi! No code to enter each time you log, and free : direct and easy connection ! Breakfast is simple, european like.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seb8975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
You are correct, our guests are special to every person on our staff and, as such, there is no substitute for providing personalized service. Beyond this service, providing clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms drive out activity today and the hotel plans for the future. We look forward to providing you with lodging in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Four female members of my family and I recently had the wonderful pleasure of spending a weekday evening at The Harrington Inn. What a great staff!! Making you comfortable and welcome is their priority!! What a pleasant place to stay and they are continually working to make it even better. Although the rooms were all booked, we heard no sounds of others. The beds are SOOOOO comfortable!! The bed linens were superb!! This made for a great night of sleep even for those in our party that do not sleep well.

We highly recommend The Harrington Inn and their great staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you, Jean, for recognizing my staff. They are very dedicated to the pleasure of providing each and every guest with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our guests are our priority not just in a slogan but in practice. It is the best part of my day when I can relay such positive guest comments. Thank you also for recognizing the many guest improvements that have been accomplished since our purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
21.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
24.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
17.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington Inn

Property: The Harrington Inn
Address: 1117 W Main St, Fremont, MI 49412-1476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Newaygo County > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 3-Diamond AAA rated hotel, our friendly staff promises that whether you select a roomy Single Queen or a Deluxe King Jacuzzi Fireplace State Room, you will have a quiet, clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The Harrington features a 24/7 front desk, free high-speed WiFi, business center, on-site laundry, and fitness center. At no cost, guests may use the nearby Spectrum/Tamarac Fitness Center featuring a fully equipped with an indoor pool, track and sauna. A seasonally-heated pool is on site. All rooms have interior hall access, keyless lock, refrigerator, microwave, pillow-top mattress, comfortable leather seating, desk, and 32" HDTV with DVD. Enjoy a continental breakfast, afternoon fresh-baked cookies and evening popcorn. Douwe Egberts coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit are always available. Restaurants, Nestle'Gerber, Dura Automotive, Fremont Insurance, Spectrum Gerber Memorial Hospital, Fremont Theatre, Dogwood Performing Arts Center and the 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake are all nearby. Only minutes from the Muskegon and White Rivers, four area golf courses, along with parks and walking paths. Free transportation is available to/from Fremont Airport. Lake Michigan, Michigan Adventure, wineries and Meijer Garden are an easy drive. Major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Harrington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrington Hotel Fremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing