We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of The Harrington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrington Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Carson City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was there on business and the service provided was excellent. The rooms were ver clean and nice. Breakfast was good and at night you could get warm cookies and popcorn upon request. :) Pool was outdoors but IS heated and they even provide an outdoor grill.

Room Tip: Whitetail Suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you, Danielle, for taking the time to tell others of your positive experiences while at the Harrington Inn Hotel. My excellent staff takes much pride in their efforts to provide guests with a clean and welcoming environment and it is a pleasure for me to inform them of such encouraging guest comments. Hopefully, your travels will again bring you to the Newaygo County area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
103
46
13
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our first visit to the Fremont area and the Harrington Inn. We had quite a few family members stay there for a family wedding. The staff is wonderful! Breakfast was more than you get at the high priced hotels and they use real plates, cups etc. The coffee machine in the lobby makes excellent coffee! We will definitely stay here again if we ever travel to the area again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you, Lavina, for your very positive review and for selecting the Harrington Inn for your lodging needs in Newaygo County. Hopefully, your family members were as pleased as your family. It was my pleasure to meet you and many of your family. The Harrington Inn staff works diligently to provide guests with a very clean, comfortable and quiet stay, whether here for the first time or for many weeks. This is a very nice area to visit and we look forward to seeing you in the future. The fresh Douwe Egbert coffee will always be ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and 2-yr-old son came with me for 3 days in late May 2014 while I was working there during the day. The room is clean and the hotel management is very friendly. The free breakfast is great. The pool is very clean and perfect for cooling off for adults or children. I've been going there for 5 years and am very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you, Kirk, for your review, noting the hotel's caring, friendly and diligent staff. It was a pleasure that you brought your wife and child with you as well. There has yet to be a time that other guests were disturbed by noise from a room due to the nearly sound-proof dividing walls. The staff looks forward to seeing you in the future and, of course, your family is always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Harrington Inn was immaculate. The beds were great and the sheets divine! All the extras were a pleasant addition, including the bottled water, the tempting cookies, and the big variety of fruit and breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you Sue for choosing the Harrington Inn hotel for your lodging needs in the Newaygo County area and for informing others of the positive aspects of your stay. Every guest likes to have a clean and comfortable room. Providing guests with the addition of fresh fruit, water, fresh-baked cookies and the free use of the nearby Tamarac Health Center is our way of making you feel more at home. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Inn is a surprise in this small community. From the moment you walk through the doors, you are met with a warm, clean, inviting atmosphere. The rooms are very tasteful and up to date. Beds are very comfortable. Charming place, this is truly a "Jewel" . Real hospitality, the kind you don't find too much anymore. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTrish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your positive experience. The entire staff is dedicated to providing guests with a friendly, clean, quiet and comfortable stay. It will be my pleasure to share comments with my staff. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I arrived early, just ahead of a major snowstorm, and was given my room immediately. Someone walked me to my room and showed me how all the energy efficient features worked. Clean well appointed room. Due to weather my second day work schedule changed and they allowed me to check out at 1:00. Small town hospitality at it's finest!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for mentioning the hospitality of our dedicated staff who take great pride in serving our guests with a clean and comfortable stay. When special circumstances arise, it is always a fun challenge to try to please. The "Golden Rule" is the best rule. Over half of our guests have been here at least once before, we look forward to serving your lodging needs again as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great staff, they take care of you. I have a strong dislike for noisy heating /cooling systems in hotel rooms, not a problem at this hotel. I would take this hotel over any regular chain anytime.
Traveling at this time of the year the fireplace in the lounge area was very welcome along with access to coffee, fruit and even home baked cookies, can it get any better?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothtotheflameLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your stay at the Harrington Inn. All guests desire a quiet and relaxing room. The quietest and most efficient heating and air conditioning have been installed in all rooms. All rooms are also separated by block walls filled with sand to prevent adjacent room sounds from entering. The staff is pleased that you enjoyed the Douwe Egbert coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit that's available 24/7 in the lobby area, not to leave out the fresh-baked cookies every afternoon and popcorn in the evening. Should your travels bring you back to Fremont or the Newaygo County area, we welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
21.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
432 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
248 reviews
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
49 reviews
23.6 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington Inn

Property: The Harrington Inn
Address: 1117 W Main St, Fremont, MI 49412-1476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Newaygo County > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 3-Diamond AAA rated hotel, our friendly staff promises that whether you select a roomy Single Queen or a Deluxe King Jacuzzi Fireplace State Room, you will have a quiet, clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The Harrington features a 24/7 front desk, free high-speed WiFi, business center, on-site laundry, and fitness center. At no cost, guests may use the nearby Spectrum/Tamarac Fitness Center featuring a fully equipped with an indoor pool, track and sauna. A seasonally-heated pool is on site. All rooms have interior hall access, keyless lock, refrigerator, microwave, pillow-top mattress, comfortable leather seating, desk, and 32" HDTV with DVD. Enjoy a continental breakfast, afternoon fresh-baked cookies and evening popcorn. Douwe Egberts coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit are always available. Restaurants, Nestle'Gerber, Dura Automotive, Fremont Insurance, Spectrum Gerber Memorial Hospital, Fremont Theatre, Dogwood Performing Arts Center and the 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake are all nearby. Only minutes from the Muskegon and White Rivers, four area golf courses, along with parks and walking paths. Free transportation is available to/from Fremont Airport. Lake Michigan, Michigan Adventure, wineries and Meijer Garden are an easy drive. Major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harrington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrington Hotel Fremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing