We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for business travelers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harrington Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place for business travelers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I agree with Bob and Gayle. This was a delightful experience and I must say I was surprised that a small town in northern Michigan would have such charming accommodations. Could be because Gerber is nearby?

The staff were professional and friendly. The rates were competitive. The rooms were large and spacious; full of amenities. Even a microwave oven, a 32 inch flat screen LG television and a DVD player! Everything seemed new. The bed was very comfortable and the leather couch was a surprise also. A very comfortable room. I will definitely stay there again as my business interests will take me to Fremont in the future. I would heartily recommend this hotel if your visit takes you to Fremont or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eansor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is the comments received from our guests that drives today and provides guidance for the future. We have made many improvements since our purchase on July 1, 2010, but it important for us to stay tuned into our guests. The majority of our guests are in the area for commercial purposes. Quiet comfort in a nice environment is high on their list of desires. However, we have not forgotten those guests who desire an even larger room with a fireplace, wet bar and Jacuzzi tub. We certainly look forward to and welcome your return. As we have contractors here as I write, you will see even more positive changes on your next visit. Lou M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
40
12
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesville, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Came to Fremont for a business meeting at the Harrington Inn. The hotel is recently updated with very nice furniture, TV, and bedding. My room was large and clean. Free wi-fi is always a bonus for me. The meeting space was large and private. The cost was a great value for the quality. I hope to hold meetings at the Harrington Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiMisterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you Mike for your comments. It is the aim of the entire Harrington Inn staff to provide the area's finest lodging. To read this first-hand from a guest is very special. Guest comments drive our present decisions and provide direction for the future. We look forward to your return. Lou M - Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is on the main road thru Fremont, MIchigan. It is a one story facility that is nestled back off the road. The front desk help not only offered us fresh baked cookies, but welcomed us "by name" with open arms and offered to assist us in any way possible, even recommending local restaurants to us. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable - not to mention spacious accommodations! I do not know where they got their mattresses and bedding from, but it was the BEST nights sleep the two of us had had - and that includes even at home! The manager / owner greeted us at the front desk upon check out and we had a lovely conversation and he hoped we would return.. which we will make it a point to do so! This is one place not to drive by, but drive to. For a vacation or just a one night get away.. you won't find a more pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: Any choice is a good choice at this facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpoolqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. At our recent employee Christmas party, as part of our fun evening of Q & A with various rewards, the question was asked, "Who is No. 1" at The Harrington Inn? We were unsurprisingly pleased that nearly every employee wrote, "The Guest." Thank you for reinforcing this important goal. We are here for you and not the reverse. You are right the fresh cookies are hard to resist. The mattresses in all guest rooms are unsurpassed by 5-star hotels in West Michigan because it is the most important aspect of a restful night. We look forward to your return. Lou M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were Wowed by the spacious room, leather chairs, the big, very comfortable bed with lots of pillows, the heat lamp, flat screen tv, whirlpool, fridge and microwave and quiet room. Continental breakfast stays open later than most and is simple and relaxing. We were impressed with the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. The automatic doors were a nice touch, no putting down or shifting your luggage around to open the doors. If ever in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay there again and would highly recommend it. Bob & Gayle Bennett, Prescott MI

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob and Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you Bob and Gayle for your review and even a follow-up phone call. This may be the first written "WOW" but it is the aim of the entire staff. The plans for the future include even more "extras" to ensure guest comfort, convenience and a relaxing home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again. The entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln park, mi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It was starting to show it's age a bit, but has been newly renovated. We have really enjoyed our recent stays here, especially in the summer. It has a nice, well maintained pool with a beautiful wooded background. The beds are really comfy and they now have very nice oversized leather chairs in some of the room categories. Also free Wi-Fi and nice flat screen TV's. They have a continental breakfast each morning, freshly baked cookies at night and will even make popcorn in the evening for you if you request it. You can also walk across the street and get a very good pizza at Spanky's. The prices are reasonable too.

Room Tip: The deluxe queen rooms have two large, comfortable leather chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at The Harrington Inn. We are pleased that you recognized the many upgrades since your previous stay. We purchased this 39-room property July 1, 2010 and have invested over $350,000 since. In addition to the areas mentioned in your review, the quietest and most efficient heating and air conditioning units were installed in every room. On September 16, all lighting fixtures and areas were updated for energy efficiency with no decrease in guest comfort. Although we have fecently been accepted to the Small Elegant Hotel Registry, we intend to continue guest improvements in our quest to towards excellence and comfort. Lou M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In sunny Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed here many times for work. The location is very convenient for my job location. The staff is very kind and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Each room has a microwave and refrigerator, which makes eating healthy on the road much easier. They have fresh baked cookies every afternoon and a nice continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSunnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for review. You are the reason for the many improvements that have been accomplished since our purchase of this hotel in July 2010. More improvements are planned and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice home town touch. It's obvious that service is a priority and the customer owns the place when they arrive. Rooms are clean, spacious with comforable beds. A good nights sleep is always important to us and we weren't dissappointed. Rooms also have refrigerators. The pool was well kept and inviting. The cookies in the lobby and continental breakfast add a nice touch. We would have no hesitations staying at the Harrington when we return to the area.
Bob & Carol/Kentwood, MI

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Bob and Carol for your review. You are both wonderful guests and your comments are highly valued by everyone at the Harrington. We look forward to seeing your smiling faces in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
21.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
24.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
17.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington Inn

Property: The Harrington Inn
Address: 1117 W Main St, Fremont, MI 49412-1476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Newaygo County > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 3-Diamond AAA rated hotel, our friendly staff promises that whether you select a roomy Single Queen or a Deluxe King Jacuzzi Fireplace State Room, you will have a quiet, clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The Harrington features a 24/7 front desk, free high-speed WiFi, business center, on-site laundry, and fitness center. At no cost, guests may use the nearby Spectrum/Tamarac Fitness Center featuring a fully equipped with an indoor pool, track and sauna. A seasonally-heated pool is on site. All rooms have interior hall access, keyless lock, refrigerator, microwave, pillow-top mattress, comfortable leather seating, desk, and 32" HDTV with DVD. Enjoy a continental breakfast, afternoon fresh-baked cookies and evening popcorn. Douwe Egberts coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit are always available. Restaurants, Nestle'Gerber, Dura Automotive, Fremont Insurance, Spectrum Gerber Memorial Hospital, Fremont Theatre, Dogwood Performing Arts Center and the 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake are all nearby. Only minutes from the Muskegon and White Rivers, four area golf courses, along with parks and walking paths. Free transportation is available to/from Fremont Airport. Lake Michigan, Michigan Adventure, wineries and Meijer Garden are an easy drive. Major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Harrington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrington Hotel Fremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing