We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whananaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whananaki Holiday Park
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled 11.5hrs by car to get there and hoped it would be worth it. We were not disappointed. Great mix of relaxation and coastal adventures with an easy going atmosphere. Some Good points-Boat and car parking out of the way, no hard and fast rules about noise given on arrival, happy banter appears to be allowed and acceptable perhaps to reasonable hours rather than lights out at 10rules. Great location, well serviced shop, close to harbour, walks, good beaches for swimming, surf and kayaking, friendly staff and patrons. Selection of entertainments -enjoyed a fun quiz night. Good sized undercover eating sitting area. Appreciated a daily splash in the pool. Suggestions- is it possible to allow showers to run cold water when hot time runs out. Maybe another soap dispenser in ladies, pretty cramped sink bench washing area.
Given we go somewhere new most years the question is will we be back? Absolutely, this was a great spot for our summer holiday, didn't want to go home. We've told heaps already about this little piece of paradise. Worth the trip.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Nuttykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShontelleGoodhew, Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi!

Thank you for your feedback! We are very lucky to have people during our peak season that make the HUGGEEE drive all the way from Fielding!

We are looking forward to having you back and have taken on board your comments for improving (which we are always looking to do!).

See you in the future!! :)

Shontelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed in quite a few NZ camping grounds/holiday parks and this one is up there with the best of them. It does not feel over regulated but runs like clock work. There is lovely relaxed, friendly atmosphere about the place. It is not flashy but everything you need is here. Whananaki is a great little spot, far enough away from civilisation to allow you to truly relax but less than an hour's drive from Whangarei. There are some great beaches nearby and a community that embraces the holiday makers. If you are looking for a genuine kiwi family camp in a great spot, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShontelleGoodhew, Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your amazing feedback on our camp ground. As this is our pride and joy we get the most out of sharing this place with everyone else. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we do hope you return in the future! :)

Shontelle Goodhew
Manager at the Whananaki Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We travel close to 300kms each year to arrive at our favourite summer destination. We are looking forward to our fifth year at this campground, we keep coming back to relax and have a great time with family (and friends we catch up with annually). While its a drive to the best beaches, its worth it, and we hope to continue coming back. Great friendly fun camp.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShontelleGoodhew, Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your post and review of the Whananaki Holiday Park. We appreciate the effort you have gone to, to write about our special place and your time here year after year!
Can't wait to have you all back again. :)

Shontelle Goodhew
Camp Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our summer pilgrimage always sees us at Whananaki North Holiday Park. It is a long-haul for the kids, especially being wedged between chilly bins and boogie boards. I love to see the excitement on their faces with every glimpse of the turquoise sea through the trees, bringing hope of sun-drenched days on the beaches, barbecue dinners and all that a classic Kiwi summer holiday entails... sunscreen applied with sandy hands while hopping from foot to foot on scorching sand, the smell of a two-stroke outboard idling at a tidal boat ramp and the slapping sound of jandals on feet as they chase footballs and Frisbees.
The park itself is very social and family-friendly and the facilities are great.
South Beach, Moureeses, Kings Beach and the Mermaid Pools are favourites among the dozens of stunning bays that dot the coastline.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShontelleGoodhew, Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your review on the Whananaki Holiday Park! We love getting feedback and having our campers come back year after year. We can't even make our camp and our little treasured area sound as fantastic as your description.
Looking forward to having you back in 2014. :)

Shontelle Goodhew
Camp Manager at Whananaki Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whananaki Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whananaki Holiday Park

Address: 2160 Whananaki North Road, Whananaki 0181, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whananaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Whananaki
Price Range: $15 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northland's Best Kept Secret!• A family park situated between an estuary & farmland• Longest footbridge in the southern hemisphere• Stunning versatile coastal location• Poor Knights Island Reserve just a boat trip away• Fabulous places to walk your dog or ride your horse. PETS BY ARRANGEMENT• Water sports, fishing, diving, tramping, surf beaches, tranquil beaches, birding & on the Te Araroa Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing