We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent getaway spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Frankfort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I decided to write a review after reading a few poor ones, our experience couldn't be further from these. We stayed in a beautiful room which was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was amazing and we admittedly stuffed ourselves silly. This trip was a getaway to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday, and when we arrived we found lovely pieces of cake set out for us to celebrate with. The staff was pleasant, we very much enjoyed the wine tasting in the cellar, and the Sunday brunch was another opportunity to embarrass ourselves with how much delicious food we could consume in one sitting. All in all, this was a very pleasant trip, and I would and have recommended Betsie Bay Inn to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiganiander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Frankfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Betsie Bay Inn last July, as it had been recommended to us by friends. We called the Inn with inquiries about the area and their amenities, then booked right away.
There is definitely a personal feel about the place. The lobby feels like your entering a lovely, spacious living-room. It has a nice fireplace and comfortable leather chairs for lounging. Whomever decorated the place certainly paid a lot of attention to detail and comfort.
The restaurant and bar: Well, I have to say, the food was great...and a nice variety of items on the menu...not to mention an amazing wine cellar!
Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The owner was kind enough to show us the banguet facility and the formal dining room which are very nice.
We spent a lot of time in town at the gift shops and at the beach. The hotel is only about a block from the beach!! But, we found ourselves sitting in the back garden a few times, just chatting with other guests.
Such a great weekend; definitely a romantic few days! We'll be going back this summer.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovingmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

It started as soon as we arrived. Our room had been double booked, so the room we wanted was gone. The front desk was wonderful in trying to ease our disapointment. we requested to speak to the owner but when the gal called her office we could hear the owner yelling at her to tell us she was not there. The room we were put in had a filthy cold hot tub. The floating scum indicated it had not been cleaned for some time. When we complained we were given $50.00 towards dinner and free sunday brunch. Even free, the dinner was not worth it, but the brunch was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank freddieboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetsieBayInn, Owner at The Hotel Frankfort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Yes, indeed, we really messed up on this one. We unfortunately did double book the room, however we were able to move the guests to a room very similar to the one they wanted.

I was mortified when I saw that the hot tub had not been cleaned. We are so particular, and to have something like that overlooked upsets me greatly.

We really did everything in our power to make it right. We emptied and thoroughly cleaned the tub, then refilled it so that it could be used on the second day of their stay. Plus we did not charge them for their first night. Additionally, we gave them a $50.00 gift certificate for our dining room, plus free breakfast. I visited these people personally to apologize to them while they were dining. They were very pleasant and assured me that they were happy with the way things had been handled. They said they were enjoying their dinner. (Our chef teaches at the Culinary Institute in Traverse City, and we have received awards for our food, and have had numerous excellent reviews in magazines and newspapers.) To say that dinner was worth less than nothing seems a trifle vindictive.

Oh yes!! And I can't remember the last time I yelled. I was unable to meet with the guests at the moment they requested, knowing that my staff would do an excellent job, but as I said earlier, I made it a point to visit these people personally later on. I'm a soft spoken Scottish woman with a genuine desire to please our guests.

These guests may have been disappointed but I could not by any means describe this as a disaster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Stayed for 1 night during Fall Festival weekend. Nice place right I town. Walking distance to Everything. Very clean room.# 207. Upgraded after minor booking error from a new employee. all worked out though. Pleasant people working. And the owner is as sweet as pie. A little over priced for such a small town, but they sold out for the evening. cocktails and restaurant downstairs. All you need. would stay here again. for perhaps.... under a hundred bucks.
but the rooms sell. hmmm

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cuzzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We always are looking for a different place to stay that has character, charm, great service, and Betsie Bay Inn has most of the qualities that we look for.

We stayed in room 102, which was a small king-bed suite with wood-burning stove and two-person hot tub. The room was clean and charming. However, some small maintenance issues were a little disappointing: although they tried to get the a/c working correctly, it never did cool the room down to our liking (maybe because the unit was fairly old, and the fact that the hot tub, even covered, creates alot of humidity?). The weather cooperated, though, and we slept comfortably with the window open and the ceiling fan running. There were no bedside lights for reading, so we had to use the ceiling fan light for that...again, a small inconvenience. The shower head was okay, but regulating the temp was not easy.

The hot tub was wonderful, but it had been filled to the point where the two of us (neither being petite people) could not enjoy the tub together. Again, a small inconvenience, but something that could be improved in the future.

On the very upbeat side, the location in Frankfort was very nice. A block's walk to the beach and lighthouse for some wonderful evening walks (great fog/sunset scenes to photograph while we were there!), and some nice little shops in Frankfort to windowshop and stroll past.
The restaurant in the hotel was very nice. We felt the food was above par, especially the dinner menu. GREAT Fish! and prepared to really enhance the wonderful fresh fish that Michigan has to offer. We did not eat lunch there, as we were out enjoying the area, but did eat breakfast there all three mornings. We did have to send sausage back for being undercooked on one occasion, but was our only - again, minor - complaint on the food. Service was a bit slow at times, but for the most part, the ladies waiting tables were attentive and helpful. Would we recommend Betsie Bay Inn? A conditional yes, if they can continue to work on maintenance issues, and continue to fine tune the service aspect. Again, no great big complaints, just a few minor ones that can easily be corrected if the owners pay attention to the details. This little inn has the possibility of being a very high quality hotel at a very reasonable price!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OffTheBeatenPath55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Betsie Bay Inn is a step up from a motel chain, but at the price of a good B&B (and without breakfast.)

There was nothing wrong with it, but we stayed there for our honeymoon and we regret it. For quite a bit more than we payed at wonderful B&Bs in the area, we got a standard, impersonal and small room (room 210).

Dinner was nothing special, and the wine quite bad.

If you are looking for a beautiful place, stay somewhere else. If you are just passing by and need a room, stay at a Holiday Inn or something like that, you will save good money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitorluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetsieBayInn, Owner at The Hotel Frankfort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2008

Sorry these people didn't like their experience. I know we can't please all of the people all of the time, but we definitely bend over backwards to cater to our guests. We have not had a single complaint from a honeymooning couple this year.

Room 210 is $135 during Peak Season, and you won't find anything much cheaper in our area at that time of year.

Please be sure to read our other reviews for a balanced perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway. Frankfort is a very nice, small and quiet beach town. Teenagers might be bored here, but if you are looking for a charming and relaxing stay with your sweetie, this is the right place.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which includes a wood stove that is stocked with wood during the colder months. The Jacuzzi tub was spotlessly clean (a big concern if you’ve done any research into the diseases that often grow in jetted tubs) but the tub is not really big enough to fit two comfortably. I have attached a photo of this part of the room, as it is not shown on Betsie Bay Inn's website. The most unique thing about the room is the sauna that is reached via a spiral staircase.

We also saw the St. Andrews Lodge room. It is very spacious and the hot tub in the room could fit six people – no cramped Jacuzzi tub there! It also contains a wood stove plus a sauna and a steam shower.

The restaurant has great food and the the wine tasting that is included in the room rate was fun. The staff is very friendly and seem to genuinely care about guests enjoying their stay.

I can only think of two negative aspects of this hotel. It has no elevator, so pack lightly. And the outside of building is washed with lights, which shine brightly into the rooms at night. We were surprised how much light came in around the Venetian blinds (no blackout drapery) in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AmethystTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
0.2 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
162 reviews
7.6 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
731 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
77 reviews
15.3 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Frankfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Frankfort

Address: 231 Main St, Frankfort, MI 49635-9048 (Formerly Sleeping Bear Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range: $81 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Frankfort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered in Frankfort's historic Main Street, just two blocks from one of the most picturesque beaches of Lake Michigan, sits the historic Hotel Frankfort. Our 84 year old boutique hotel boasts 17 guest rooms, all with private baths, individually controlled heating and air-conditioning units and each decorated with a unique theme. Our larger suites feature whirlpool tubs or sauna, two-story rooms, and even a fireplace - perfect for your spectacular Northern Michigan getaway! Feel like dining in? We have a full scale restaurant, dining room and bar along with corporate conference facilities, with gourmet catered meals available for gatherings of up to 200. Come let us serve you in style and experience all Northern Michigan has to offer. From biking, to fishing our famous Salmon runs, snow skiing, sailing, or experiencing a great meal at one of our many unique restaurants, or even just watching a gorgeous sunset - Frankfort is the perfect place to explore! Whatever your pleasure, you'll be charmed by The Hotel Frankfort's blend of old world graciousness, modern-day amenities and peerless personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Frankfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsie Bay Hotel Frankfort
Betsie Bay Frankfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing