We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Lights Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Love, Love Love Harbor Lights!! We stumbled across the town of Frankfort and Harbor Lights Resort by pure accident a couple months ago and feel in love with the area. We were returning from an anniversary trip to Traverse City down M22 and needed to find a restroom. Came to an intersection and decided to turn right through town and lo and behold there was the beach and the resort and we called as soon as we got home to book. We have 3 sons, ages 10-13, who had a blast. We wanted a 2 bedroom but there was only a 1 bedroom left. It ended up to be perfect. The condo was larger than I thought it would be and fully stocked with all the necessities. Amazing view of the Bay, just steps from the beautiful sandy beach and the water is the clearest I have seen for Lake Michigan. Kids could ride their bikes all over town and the Bestie Trail for walking, running and bike riding is super. We didn't want to leave and are planning to make this an annual summer trip. Thanks Harbor Lights for the smooth booking, check-in process, morning coffee and doughnuts and for making this resort a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Had another great time here in Frankfort at the Harbor Lights Resort!
The front desk ladies are fantastic! A Huge "HooRah! for Shelly, Diane and Marsha!
They really make you feel at home when it comes to making you feel comfortable!
If you need anything they are right there!
Also, the owner, Steve Campbell is wonderful! He was always there, on site, making sure your time ath the resort was wonderful~
I had my family there for the week of July4th!
The weather, the beach, the food, everything was spot on!
This town is small and yes there are not a huge number of hotels there. But that is what attracted me to Frankfort to begin with!
It is very laid back. If you are coming to go to the beach, relaxing with a good book, then this is the place for you!
The beach is literally right outside your door!
The July 4th fireworks are fantastic to watch from the beach! This is our second year watching the fireworks on Lake Michigan!
We were in the Luxury suites for the week. On the second floor. Love the view!
Everything is walking distance! Food/dinner/movie theatre/beach and more.
If you want to play golf, there is Arcadia Bluffs and Crystal Mountain within 30 minutes.
Yes, there was a bit of noise on the first floor below me (one night) and they finally quieted down. But, where ever you go, there are always rude people!
Give this place a shot! You will not be sorry!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliversRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and two young sons spent a week of perfect pleasure at the Harbor Lights Resort in Frankfort, Michigan this past summer. There was plenty to do if you wanted or nothing to do if that was on your list as well. The hotel itself gives you spectular views of Lake Michigan as well as easy access. You can ride bikes, jet ski, paddle board and canoe or just watch the sun set. The rooms have everything you will need and are impeccably clean. The staff is friendly and always available. This is definitely a place to visit each year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodyliggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

You can't beat the location. Close to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach, easy to walk to the shops and restaurants downtown (don't miss the Crescent Bakery). That's the major draw. But the motel room (we didn't stay in the condos) left a lot to be desired. It was clean, but dark and threadbare. Calling this a resort was a stretch. Very basic rooms with old, tired and ill-fitting sheets, dated (old, even) television, dated furniture, worn carpet, stained ceiling. For the price, I guess we expected more. Most people would spend the majority of their time at the beach, but with bad weather, we didn't have that choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank illinitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve-campbell, Owner at Harbor Lights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

We really appreciate your review as it confirmed the need for us to take action in this particular bank of rooms that had not been updated in awhile, (it's the last section that we needed to update on the property). I'm happy to report that the motel rooms in this section have been updated and we hope you give us another try as we want to make sure all our guests have a great experience. Thank you again for your candid review.

Steve Campbell
Owner - Harbor Lights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Harbor Lights is a wonderful place to stay in Frankfort! The staff was exceptionally helpful. Even though the place was full, it was quiet. The rooms were clean. It is located right on a fabulous beach. My kids could walk out 30 feet and still be only up to their knees. One child descibed the temperature of the beach "like a bathtub." This is unusual in northern Michigan! You can walk to several restaurants, our favorite was Dhingys. There are many nice shops and ice cream places. You can also rent bikes or paddleboats nearby. One of my kids said, "We never have to leave!" Overall it was a fabulous vacation. Wonderful sunsets too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinsplusmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Just returned from a stay at this place. Overall, it was pretty average.

Positives: Great location, nice sized room, very friendly people at the front desk, pretty clean.

Negatives: Thin walls, extremely cold pool, luke-warm hot tub, musty swell in the room.

To expound, there really aren't many places to stay for a night in Frankfort. The other highly rated offering has a two night stay minimum for the autumn weekends. So, I chose this place. It's one of those places that looks nicer on the outside than it does on the inside. Great location. A very short walk to the pier/beach. Very friendly folks at the front desk. Upon opening the door, the first thing to hit me was the musty swell. When you walked around in your bare feet, the carpet seemed slightly damp. Maybe that just comes with being so close to Lake Michigan. My son and I tried the pool, which is in a separate building, meaning that you will freeze coming and going to the pool if you are dressed to swim. As far as the pool water temperature, open up the cold water tap and let it run - you'll have the same temp as this pool. No way is it heated. My ten year old and I both stated that it was the coldest pool we'd ever experienced. Other guests tried the pool for less than a minute and left shaking. As others have stated, the walls/ceilings are very thin. You will hear every toilet flush, every step taken on the wood stairs. This is no exaggeration. Would I go back? I honestly don't know. The price was just okay ($99 + tax for a motel room). But if not here, where?

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigtwoheartedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve-campbell, Owner at Harbor Lights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

I wanted to thank you for the candid review you gave on our property and address a couple things. I imagine that the experience you had with the pool must have been when it been recently filled and hadn't had proper time to warm up...that was our fault for opening the pool too soon before it was up to tempertature and will not happen again. Not sure whey the hot tuib wasn't hot though. We keep the pool at 83 degrees and the hot tub at 103 degrees and we pride ourselves for keeping it clean and do not over chlorinate it. We have also recently updated many of our rooms and there will be no "damp" rooms. And while we haven't changed any walls, many of the rooms have new ceilings, furniture, doors etc. which should help with sound transfer. Not to say a guest won't hear anthing outside of their own room, but I can say it's not been a complaint we've heard recently. Again, we thank you for the review and hope you choose to give us another try.

Steve Campbell
Owner - Harbor Lights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Frankfort is a cozy little town nestled on the northern Lake Michigan shoreline, and Harbor Lights sits on the beach where the town spills into the lake.

If you're going, you'll want the beach-front condos. Harbor Lights has a variety of condos and motel-type rooms, but only about half are on the water, facing the Frankfort Lighthouse and breathtaking sunsets.

From Harbor Lights the town of Frankfort is about 200-yards away (seriously, that close), so walking to town for dinner, some tourist shopping or ice cream is not only easy, it's almost mandatory.

Harbor Lights is a family-run, combination condo/hotel. Some condos aren't in the rental pool, so you'll likely mix with owners as well as travelers. This tends to make things nice, as the people with a financial stake in the resort help to make sure everything looks nice and is run professionally.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
172 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
7.8 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
757 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
84 reviews
15.4 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#2 of 3 in Empire
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Resort

Address: 15 2nd St, Frankfort, MI 49635-9298
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range: $119 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Lights Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Lights Resort is located on the beach in Frankfort and features motel rooms, a variety of suites, and 1, 2 and 3 bedroom vacation condominiums. Enjoy the indoor pool and spa and private beach area. Just a short walk to downtown Frankfort's shops, restaurants and movie theater. Open year-round. Daily and weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Lights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Frankfort
Harbor Lights Motel
Harbor Lights Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing