We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great libations / snacks; service has room for improvement.”

Stormcloud Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stormcloud Brewing Company opened in June 2013 just two blocks from Lake Michigan in the lakeside town of Frankfort, Michigan. A small brewery specializing in Belgian-style brewing, Stormcloud offers 16 taps in addition to a full, locally-inspired menu of flatbread pizzas, small plate appetizers, soups/salads, charcuterie plates, and specialty popcorn.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great libations / snacks; service has room for improvement.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is different in a neat way, because you walk up and place your order, find a seat, and then they bring everything to you. We sat at the bar and, although the cashier gal was friendly enough and the people in the kitchen seemed to be having a great time, the bartender was kind of a bag. She didn't acknoledge us when we sat, when she gave us our flights, or after our flights were empty... and so we left. I mean, not a word, not a nod... nothing. It was really weird. Not sure what the problem was, but she seemed to be pretty much the opposite of a real bartender.

We only had some popcorn since we'd eaten dinner shortly before-- we had the sriracha and coconut and it was AWESOME!!! don't be scared by the $5 price tag because you get a TON!!! the other stuff we saw coming out of the kitchen looked pretty good, too.

I'd say try it for the beer and food, but only if you're not concerned with great hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieP499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    123
    29
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Small town brewery experience. Had live music. Full, but not packed! Sampled 8 beers - wouldn't drink the vanilla java blonde ever again, but the rest were good. Stouts are my favorite.
Great location. Great logo. Great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly casual hangout...”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved it...Youi figure out what ya want, and walk up to the bar to order. The staff is friendly, and watch to see if you have questions, and help is there right away. Free samples of beer, and even a Growler to go if ya want. A laid back, friendly place to settle in, and watch a game, meet a friend, or just relax and have great conversation with one ya love. We had Mexican style pizza and a big bowl of popcorn.. GOOD STUFF! To cash out, you just tell them what ya had and they ring ya up... hows that in this day and age? Friendly town, and friendly people... see this place out if you are in the area sightseeing.!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdhstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a drink with or without a light meal”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken salad wrap paired with a beer recommended by the staff. There are both inside and outside tables to watch street traffic as you sample their large variety of beers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurieOTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stop On Our Michigan Road Trip...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a random road trip through Michigan the first week of October we googled our way from Indiana to Storm Cloud Brewery. Awesome little brewpub in a little gem of a town in Michigan. The town sits right on Lake Michigan. Simple but quality driven bar menu. Rainmaker Pale Ale, Fun Guv'nr Black IPA, Night Swimmer Stout topped the list of yummy brewskies on tap. Great Brewpub Atmosphere! As restauranteurs we appreciate the efforts of the independently owned establishments! Keep up the great work and the great brews!. Cheers!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormcloud Brewing Company also viewed

Frankfort, Benzie County
 
Frankfort, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Stormcloud Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing