We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty treasure”
Review of Coho

Coho
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Relax by Betsie Bay on our covered deck, while enjoying fresh local cuisine, fine wine, a full bar, and Michigan drafts!
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty treasure”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Terrific food. I had a smoked fish fetuccini which I would never have thought to order, but would do so again and again. Creative cuisine in a friendly white tablecloth atmosphere. I believe there is a dining area with a view of the harbor, as well. We'll definitely be back when we are in the area!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurieOTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Puzzling Lack of Service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited after the summer hordes left in order to have a more relaxed time on my spouse's birthday. Coho was less than 1/4 filled when we showed up. We've dined here before (both with the old and new owners) and enjoy their preparation and the interesting items on tap, including some from St. Ambrose Meadery that they make for the trade and don't offer commercially.

As usual, the preparation was good. The service was miserable. After our meals came I asked the waitress where the bread was . . . her response, with a nervous giggle "Well, I'll give you double when you come in next time." Still no bread. Next time? With an attitude like that, an attitude that stinks on ice, there probably will not be a next time.

I had the Ostrich Strogonof and my spouse the Salmon special. Both were tasty, and served hot with a good presentation.

After having eaten our entree, the check was dumped on our table - nothing about coffee, nothing about desert. Again puzzling to both of us and left me wondering why such service when we could see attentive service at larger tables? That amateur, flippant, mood-killing, service doesn't befit this restaurant. So my overall rating reflects that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cute town, good location GREAT food!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited this restaurant while staying with friends who live in the area. We each had a different menu item as well as delicious salads and soup d'jour. We were all very happy with our choice of food and even happier with our bottle of wine. To top off such a great meal we all managed to share large slice of carrot cake for dessert. Perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We found the food high-priced and average at best. Not a bad experience, but not good enough to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let's Go Coho”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I ate here alone on a Friday night, wasn't stigmatized for soloing, got great service and a great tasting duck for $22. Most people ask for rear deck seating overlooking Lake Betsie but I prefer the front window seat, watching Frankforters come and go. Clean as a whistle and the manager pays a call on everybody to thank them for stopping by. What more do you want?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coho also viewed

 
Frankfort, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Coho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing