We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time but average food”

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun time but average food”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have not been to The Bavarian Inn for a while and the quality seems to have fallen a bit. The wait staff dress in authentic German style and it is very quaint. Howvever the chicken dinners are served family style and are somewhat overpriced. The chicken is good, but not great and the side dishes are a little bland. The menu states that the meal is served in courses, but they pretty much bring everything at once. We tried the beer sampler for fun, but it was served in small plastic glasses and was warm. Not a wise choice. I would not recommend the sausage sampler, it was dry and poorly presented. The initial offering of food is short on quantity. You can ask for seconds but it is difficult to get the wait staff back if they are busy. It is overpriced but still a lot of fun. In additional to the restaurant, there are adjoining gift and pastry shops at the Inn that are fun to explore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyguy248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianInnn, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
We don't want to be average :)

A goal of ours is, "We have a reputation of high quality in the products, services and facilities we offer." I'm sorry you were disappointed in your recent experience here. Your well-explained details regarding the beer sampler and the initial portions have been forwarded to our bar and kitchen teams.

We would love to have you join us again in the future. If you would, please call Kim Ramirez or Jennie White, Hospitality Managers, at 800-228-2742 so we can discuss this further with you. We'd love to bring you back to see how unique and fun we are...from those shops you mentioned to our three levels of dining in our 8 dining rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    537
    337
    128
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Germany!”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife, 12yr old son, and I ate here on a Sunday evening at 6:30. This is our 1st time in Frankenmuth so we felt obligated to try the local specialty. The themed dining rooms and authentically dressed wait staff take you straight to Bavaria without the language barrier. We made reservations so we didn't have to wait for a table. The service was quick and very friendly! The food was great! The chicken was very plump and juicy. Our only complaint, wish we could've had a slice of German chocolate cake for desert instead of the softserve ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great as always.......”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The food, service, and atmosphere were all superb. Will take our kids back again as they were treated as royalty. The chicken and sides was hot and delicious. The service was quite fine. The price is fair when you factor in all of the courses. Lines down the block can't be wrong.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kershMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“The food never stopped coming!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was a terrific place to eat. The food was wonderful and there was soo much of it. Everything was good. The staff made us feel like we were part of the family, and the decor made us feel like we were in Germany. It is a must see for anyone visiting Frankenmuth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Before going all I heard was you have to eat the "famous" chicken dinner. So we went and after waiting 30-45 minutes we finally were seated. The service was very slow. Lots of time sitting waiting for the next course to be brought out. Part of that was our server as a table near us had a different server and they got everything very quickly. The chicken was good, but pretty much like any other chicken I've ate. They start with bread, which is pretty good. They then bring "salads" whic consist of a cranberry relish, pickles, pasta salad and coleslaw. Next is the noodle soup, which actually was quite good. Then with the chicken they bring squash, mashed potato, buttered noodles and gravy. The buttered noodles were very good. It would be nice if they offered some selection in which side dishes you get as neither of us wanted squash and I don't like the mashed potato.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boxermom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing