We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German Meal”

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
Warren, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Traditional German Meal”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Bavarian Inn Restaurant is an authentic German restaurant. The servers are extremely helpful and friendly. The food is out of this world. My favorite is the Schnitzel. The atmosphere is great and the murals on the wall are great. I would definitely recommend the Bavarian Inn Restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flystroker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    537
    337
    128
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Service was quick and staff attentive and friendly. We split the sampler and it was plenty for lunch. Everything was very good. Beef was a little dry, but the gravy made up for that. The stollen was wonderful. Be sure to ask for their jam as they no longer bring it with breads.

Helpful?
Thank pandato3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There have to be better places in Frankenmuth”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had the Bavarian Sampler which consisted of chicken, pork, and beef. None of it was good. The chicken was dry, the breaded pork cutlet had to be all of 1/8 inches thick with twice as much breading which was so over-cooked that it was dark brown and dried out, and the beef was thin and tough. The sauerkraut tasted like it was from a can and was mushy. The breads and the potato puffs were quite good. Frankenmuth is a tourist attraction and I would have to believe that this restaurant does not depend on repeat customers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We've visited Frankenmuth many times and thought we'd try a different restaurant this time.....total disappointment. The entire meal was disappointing and did not live up to the expectations of a family style chicken dinner. The potatoes were very salty, the stuffing was a mushy pate mess that tasted terrible, the vegetable was squash that had a lot of sugar added. The ice cream was good though! We will not return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kokonut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must try this restaurant!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wonderful food, tastes just like my grandmother cooked it, affordable prices, an experience not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CATHY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing