We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
Paris, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The two meat menu was a good experience. We had an excellent waitress. Make a reservation or you will stand for long periods of time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    526
    328
    125
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph,On
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Made Frankenmuth Famous!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

German decor, ambience and menu have contributed to the Frankenmuth reputation and made this restaurant into a major tourist attraction. Great shops and a bakery downstairs that you must tour. Many wonderful hard to find ingredients to take home.

Unfortunately, my earlier memories were much better than my actual experience this visit. Dinners are overloaded with carbohydrates. Meal starts with a basket of bread, followed by a lovely chicken noodle soup that comes with too many noodles. Cole slaw is good, cranberry salad is unusual and very tangy - chicken pasta salad and bean salad hearty enough to be main courses. All salads were delicious but not exactly light fare.

Then the real stuff comes out! Breaded, deep fried chicken accompanied by mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, butternut squash. Did not like the snitzel - found it over seasoned and very tough. Orange vanilla swirl ice cream with a cookie for dessert. Tons of tasty food with very few "healthy" low fat, low carb choices (if any!) Very traditional menu but it seems to be time to add a few lighter options to the menu.

Waitress asked if all was well many times - she just never waited for our response! Never offered coffee, just the bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“German food in a German town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bring your appetite and have the family style with chicken and at least one German meat. They offer plate dinners with a plethora of side dishes, too, and through the years we've tried many of the dishes. We've never had a bad meal. Reservations on the weekend will save you standing in a long line, but the lines do move quickly if you don't call ahead for a table. The decor on the inside matches the outside design, and check out the Glockenspiel with its Pied Piper story while you're there. There are shops in the basement including a bakery, candy store and a gift store that has some interesting clothing, home decor and jewelry. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRamirez, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Great advice Lisa! Please come and see us again soon. We appreciate your visit and taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went with friends & couldn't believe all the delicious & different dishes we were served. Delightful surroundings & a terrific waitress. The dinners were wonderful, wish we lived close so could indulge again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RJRSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“As Advertsied”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

When going to big touristy places like the Bavarian Inn for the first time, I always have that feeling that it can not possibly live up to the billing and many do not. The Bavarian Inn, fortunately, does live up to the billing. It has all of the décor and authentic ambiance as promised, plus the food is pretty darn good as well. I am a fried chicken snob so to say, and while this is not the best I have had, it is very good. What makes the meal top notch is the sides and other items that come with the meals. The potatoes, vegetable, and appetizers were great. Plus, the gravy was excellent. Most restaurants have a hard time making gravy, which is why most just pour it out of a jar. Not the Bavarian Inn, you know this is made from real chicken stock and is pretty close to what your grandma our great aunt would make. Plus, the home made breads are excellent as well. You can even buy it in a bakery, which is part of a downstairs tourist mall. We were very pleased with everything at the Bavarian Inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stickbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing