We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delighted our Out of Town Guests”

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
Shelby Township
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delighted our Out of Town Guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had friends visiting from Indiana over the 4th of July weekend. The two things they wanted to do was visit Greenfield Village and Frankenmuth. Of course, we picked the hottest day of the year so far (Saturday 7/2) to do Frankenmuth. Looking for a place to cool down and enjoy a good meal, we suggested the Bavarian Inn. Our friends were totally impressed. Only had to wait a few minutes to be seated and the service was, as always, prompt and courteous. We explained that the BI’s “claim to fame” was the chicken and German-inspired dinners. Three of us went for the classic family style chicken dinners and one for the whitefish dinner. It was two thumbs up (or should I say two forks up) all around. I think this was the best chicken dinner we’ve ever had at the BI. (We’re there several times a year and usually try one of the specials.) And our friend couldn’t stop raving about the whitefish. Needless to say, our out of town guests were very well pleased (maybe because I treated?). Bottomline, the BI was hitting all the right notes. The only suggestion I might have would be to expand the wine list. It’s pretty limited if you don’t like German wines (which we don’t). Of course, we then had to go back out in the heat… but that’s another story.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hudsonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    500
    313
    120
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have been to Frankenmuth many times, and usually leave hungry as we have never really found a good restaurant. This time we decided to give the Bavarian Inn a chance. We were pleasantly surprised with the food. We all just ordered single dinners as the all-you-can-eat is $22.00 to $26.00 depending on what food you want. The single dinners are $16.00 to $18.00 each. We all ordered the German sample dinner. The food was great, best I have had in Frankenmuth. The portions though were very small. If you are the least bit hungry you will need to get the all-you -can -eat dinners. I recommend the food, just prepare to spend some money.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryannewmanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingtab, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
I'm so glad you finally gave us a try! We pride ourselves on great food and service, and I'm happy you found that to be the case on your recent visit. The all-you-care-to-eat family style dinners are a great value for hungry guests! When you're in the mood for something lighter, try our Roof Garten, where we have soups, salads and sandwiches, or ask for our luncheon menu, which has delicious entrees without all the side dishes. We look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington hills, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The food was terrible. One of the worse dinners we ever had!
Fritz sampler: potato cheese puffs, breaded mushrooms & Mozzarella cheese sticks were fried, dry and bland!
Schnitzel and chicken were also fried, dry, bland, and certainly not fresh. The sauerkraut was right from a can!
We don't recommend that to anyone.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianInnn, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
I'm so sorry you were disappointed with the food you ordered! Our menus feature a variety of items, made right in our in-house meat department, from the Frankenmuth (fried) Chicken to grilled, smoked and broiled items like our Chicken Imperial, Broiled Whitefish, Beef Rouladen, Kasseler Rippchen & New York Strip steak, and our sauerkraut comes to us from cabbage grown right in Lexington, Michigan. We hope you give us another try next time you're in the area and try one of our many non-fried options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Style Meal is Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My two brothers, my husband, and I dined here on a Sunday evening. We didn't have a reservation, yet our wait was less than 5 minutes! I don't believe this would always be the case but we were delighted. The chicken dinner with all the sides was just as I remember from my last visit a couple of decades ago. A great value for great food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingtab, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Lee,

Thanks for the great review! I'm thrilled we've maintained our food consistency and were able to live up to what you remembered. Of course, that's partly because we are blessed to still have matriarch Dorothy Zehnder in the kitchen 6 days a week. Please don't let it be decades before you visit us again.

Tabitha Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“How do you spell "bland"???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We were so excited to eat at the Bavarian Inn. Maybe we were too excited.
I liked the soup.
Everything else took too long and was so bland - lacking in flavor.
We were so disappointed.

The service was nothing special -- tables so close together it was difficult to carry a conversation with loud patrons behind us. Nothing pleased them so we were really ignored as the wait staff tried to appease them.

Just wish the food was better -
On the plus side, you get plenty of food!!! Way more than we could ever eat and we did not know this going into the place.

Try the other restaurant - Zehnder's across the street -- do not know if it is an improvement but someone else can write about that one.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank luv2trvl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing