We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we go back, we will stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marv Herzog Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When we go back, we will stay here again!”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a lovely hotel. Nice staff, good breakfast, free drinks in the evening. Our room faced the river. We were here for Thanksgiving day and night--enjoyed walking around the village (many shops were open), ate our meal at the Bavarian Inn, stayed here on Thursday night, and went to Bronners on Black Friday! We really enjoyed our time in Frankenmuth and will probably go back again sometime.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    120
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
121
273
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel was very clean, the desk workers were very helpful and nice. There was a full breakfast which was very good, and a nice touch was the evening reception with complimentary wine and beer. We had a very nice, relaxing stay, the room was very spacious with a balcony and a jacuzzi. Everything seemed immaculately clean! I have nothing bad to say about it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The staff and accommodations in this little hotel is absolutley terrific. The complementary breakfast is very good and has just about anything you could want to start your day. The complementary 'happy hour' is a definite bonus with snacks and decent beer/wine beverages. The one small drawback is that the rooms on the street side of the hotel are subject to the noise level of the street traffic, but that's a minor inconvenience in an otherwise enjoyable stay. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMs0_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We reserved a king jacuzzi on their web site the night before we left. Got a call the next morning from the hotel that the king jacuzzi wasn't available and was offered a dual queen jacuzzi at a discounted rate which was fine with us.
The upper floors have small balconies. Our room was on the third floor city side so there wasn't much to look at from the balcony and the road noise was noticeable at night. We spent a lot of time on the patio area off of the lobby which overlooks the river. Very relaxing with a nice view. I'm sure the river side balconies are preferred unless something special is happening street side.
The underground parking is convenient unfortunately my Mustang bottomed out at the crest of the driveway's exit to the street. Best to exit from the entrance of the circle drive with cars like mine.
We had a good meal at the Frankenmuth Brewery next door. Zenders and The Bavarian Inn are a very short walk down the street.
The jacuzzi for two in the bathroom was nice and we used it both days we were there.
A free hot breakfast buffet is always a plus and you are given coupons for two free drinks each (beer or wine) for each night of your stay between five and seven.
The hotel definitely benefits from being relatively new having opened only three years ago. Carpets, furniture, appliances, etc. are all clean and in good repair.
We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay for a reasonable rate and plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaerfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for some R & R. Staff were excellent and very friendly. The 2 free drinks and snacks at happy hour were great. Sitting on the terrace watching the boats was very relaxing. The hotel is close to everything, parking underneath the hotel is easy. The rooms were great, the bed really comfy and the pillows superb. Didn't have a problem with the space under the door as some have mentioned. The bed is tucked around the coroner from the door so couldn't really see why it would be an issue. The lack of a pool seemed to make it a magnet for older travelers with no kids which for this particular break was great. The hotel was lovely and quiet and when in the rooms you couldn't here a peep. Breakfast was good, more than adequate and the whole experience was exactly what we needed. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattnvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Hotel itself is nice, however, if you are ordering a room with a river terrace view or any special components (such as a whirlpool), then you need to be very careful.

I purposely reserved a room in advance with a river terrace view for my 27th wedding anniversary. Upon checking in on July 15, I was given a non-river terrace view and I immediately discussed the discrepancy with the check in person. She shrugged and said that they left a phonemail message with me a few days back and informed me of this change. I received no phonemail messages and checked all my phone calls for the previous three weeks and none were from the Frankenmuth area code (989).

In seeing the people who did receive the river terrace views, it quickly became apparent to me that there were groups of people that "bumped" me to the non-river terrace view. I felt like I was on the Titantic and dropped to steerage class.

This was my first and last time at the hotel. The breakfast and room were both good, however, the main part of why I booked the hotel was for the river view.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pegasusmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

For my money this hotel is in the best location in Frankenmuth. Easy. The brewery is basically next door, and everything else is about a block away. One one side you have a view of the street and horse-drawn carriages all day. On the other side of the hotel you have a view of the river.

The staff always have a smile on their faces. You get a couple of complimentary drinks every night. The breakfast is basic powdered-like eggs and sausage, but it's a zillion times better than a continental breakfast, which you could have if you wished.

Out in back there is a nice big deck where you can enjoy your drinks and read the paper and relax. It's quite nice.

At night it was quiet. Not a peep.

For kids they offer snacks in a little pantry. That was convenient. Free popcorn and snacks beats shelling out a dollar a pop at a vending machine, which they have also.

The location can't be beat. Everything is within walking distance.

Hungry? The brewery is next door. Tiffany's is a block away. T-Dubs is a block away. Zenders and the Bavarian Inn restaurant are two blocks away. That's about all you need.

Shopping? The shops are a block away. The shopping square is three blocks away.

Want a drink? The brewery is next door. There's a little bar across the street. Tiffany's is a block away.

Really, if you're going to Frankenmuth, there really isn't any reason why you shouldn't stay here. The hotel itself and the staff are great. But when you add that to the location, it's probably the best place to stay in Frankenmuth.

The only exception might be if you are dead set on a place with a swimming pool, which they don't have. We kept busy enough that nobody even noticed.

I'll stay here again. There really isn't a reason not to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertTolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Property: The Marv Herzog Hotel
Address: 501 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1617
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marv Herzog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing