We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Frankenmuth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marv Herzog Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
St. Clair Shores, MI.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Frankenmuth”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This small hotel (34 rooms) is actually owned by Marv Herzog's family. It's a beautiful, cozy, clean hotel. It is located on the main street and has undeground parking. It's right next door to the Frankenmuth Brewery. (which has excellent food) There are rooms with balconies facing the street or the river. It's walking distance to the shops and restaurants. This is not a place for children. I recommend for adults as there is nothing for the kids to do. Included in the price is a very nice breakfast and beer or wine and snacks in the evening. There is also 24hr. coffee. It's a gem for a nice little getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charmomster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    122
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
125
281
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is great, we always stay here when coming to Frankenmuth. It's newer, clean, great location, and comfortable! They offer free drinks and snacks at happy hour ... drinks are fine, but the snacks are kind of a joke - avoid the snacks, there are a bunch of great spots to eat nearby -- Can't go wrong here though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasAces77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great central location in Frankenmuth.
Rooms are simple and clean. If you like a more pampered experience, this may not be for you. Room size is great, bed is comfortable, bathroom is modern and clean. Wifi is offered.
Lobby is welcoming with fireplace and sofas. Decent breakfast area where both a hot breakfast is served mornings and complimentary beer & wine every evening.
If the hotel served a better quality beer and wine during the evening event, this would be a far better experience in my opinion. Offering beer from the local brewery, or a German or Michigan beer (charge a dollar for the upgrade) over Budweiser, would be a nice improvement. . Same goes for the wine.
Staff Is both helpful and friendly. We will return - but skip the evening drinks and get some HB on tap nearby!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a few days in Frankemuth for a short winter getaway.
Lovely hotel. Small, friendly and comfortable.
Enjoyed the postings about Marv Herzog life story. Look forward to staying there again to find out more about him.
Staff was very accomodating.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the river. The sunrise is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdarlingOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our son lives is beautiful Frankenmuth, so we always love a reason to stay at the Marv Herzog when visiting him. Love this place! Friendly, new, spotlessly clean, modern, elegant, comfortable. I could go on and on. We have never been disappointed. The employees at the front desk are friendly and accomodating. The beds are incredible. The evening beer and wine is fun. It would be great to see a fitness room added to the hotel. Use your AARP discount and get a great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was a nice surprise to serve and find the hotel is new. The check-in was easy and the room was clean. They were able to position our two room adjacent to one another. The location is central to all shops on Main Street. The Happy Hour (5-7p) features a two drinks per adult at no charge (wine or light beer) and includes light snacks (nachos, vegetables/dip). The breakfast was better than most hotels. The cleaning takes pride in their work and was friendly, but they forgot shampoo on Day 3. Overall, this was a very good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Its a much smaller hotel than those in the area, which made it an even nicer place to stay. Very quiet and family friendly hotel and great staff. The room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel is also relatively new. As mentioned by other reviewers, there was a free evening Happy Hour and a breakfast buffet. Both were just fine. There is underground parking, which was great not having to clear the snow off of the car each day. The hotel is centrally located and in the warmer weather, it would be a nice walk to all of the restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay at the Marv Herzog Hotel should we stay in Frankenmuth in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms should be fine location wise. The vending machines are by the elevator and in a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Property: The Marv Herzog Hotel
Address: 501 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1617
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marv Herzog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing