We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Nearby Hotels
$104
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frankenmuth Motel(Frankenmuth)(Great Value!)
$90
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn Lodge(Frankenmuth)
$164
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth(Frankenmuth)(Great Value!)
$100
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heidelberg Motel(Bridgeport)
$63
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$71
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Birch Run)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveler rating
685
304
98
58
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
685
304
98
58
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkelf hollowlazy rivernew additiondrop slidefamily suitegreat wolf lodgedragonfly roomchicken dinnerzehnders restaurantbreakfast buffetolder kidslocker roomlife guardschristmas lightstube slidesgreat family fun
Filter
Updating list...
938 - 943 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were debating on this water park and another one. We had never visited this location before. We were surprised by the fact that adding a crib was an extra charge(this would have been free at the other water park)to our room yet we saw at least 4 in the hallway right outside our room. The water park was nice but a lot of the things in the park didn't work in the bucket area. The alligator was broken and yet still in the pool. The turtle in the baby area also did not work. We have 3 kids 10, 2, and 1 year old they were all entertained somewhat and really enjoyed the time there but did get bored after about 2 hours. However the women's and men's locker rooms were a huge disappointment!! One private shower, no changing areas, pretty much made it the worst part of our trip trying to change and pack up. The spin machine for the swim suits was also not working. A male attendant kept walking in part of the room to throw wet towels in the bin which made the whole changing experience even more uncomfortable! The room was about 100 degrees when we first got there so we had to turn on the fan which in turn made it freezing during the night and there weren't enough blankets. The amount we paid for this hotel and this park was double of what we would have paid at the other location. The food was the saving grace!! The night time pizza deal was amazing. The wait staff in the elf lounge were great at getting our food for us to take to our room, getting our discount worked out, and also letting us know about breakfast. Breakfast was amazing, again the staff was great, friendly, food was beyond good!! However those poor people that have to work both the lounge and the pool area are too over worked. It took a very long time to get our food at dinner time!!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, room was very large, nice, had a balcony but all we could see was the room right across from us. The room was a big walk for our family of 5 when you have 2 small kids who have no patience!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmrsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello, thank you for your candid feedback, we are so happy you chose Zehnder's Splash Village for your get away. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you incountered during your stay. I will personally look into the specific concerns you mentioned. I am glad to hear that our Cafe' met your expectations and will definately pass that along to our Food & Beverage team. We are and have always been open to guest feedback over the past eight years at Zehnder's Splash Village and within Zehnder's corporation as a whole. If you would like to discuss your feedback futher, please feel free to give me a call at 800-863-7999 or at webmaster@zehnders.com.

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We and our three grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Splash Village. The facilities were in great shape, and the activities kept the kids happy. The food met everyone's tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful even though they had to deal with crowds most of the time. We noticed that, even though the hotel was full of families, we heard no noise at all from other rooms of the hall. The checkout process, which enabled the grandchildren to continue playing after we checked out of the room, was made smooth and easy by Lori Butler, the attendant at the front desk. The only negative was the Presidents' Day crowd, but despite that there we really no problems, and everything went smoothly. After all, we picked that weekend too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hello, thank you for stopping at Zehnder's Splash Village with your grandchildren! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appriciate your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a night here recently and found the hotel rooms to be clean and updated. The fridge and microwave are a nice touch. It is very family friendly, esp for families with younger children (8 and younger.) Not a lot of riff raff here - very nice normal people. :)

The negatives, however, outweighed the positives unfortunately. We tried to keep our tourism dollars in Michigan rather than traveling to Ohio to the larger water parks...but this water park was a bit too small for my older kids (15, 12, and 9)

After 2 hours each day we were ready to leave the water park. (esp on day 2 when the lily pond/b-ball pool was closed) If the smallness of the park didn't cause us to leave after 2 hours, the chlorine fumes and crowds made us leave. The air is sooo heavily smelling of chlorine that we were all coughing after 2 hours. There were signs warning of this, esp for asthmatics (none of us are). The hotel strongly needs to look into better ventilation - the other water parks don't smell this strong!! I feel bad for the lifeguards who are probably damaging their lungs on a daily basis.

We went on a Thurs night in Feb, during our school's mid-winter break. I'm guessing lots of other schools also had that break, because the park was crowded. Very crowded. Esp the lazy river, which was just wall to wall inner tubes. The restaurant for breakfast was crowded too - it's almost like the hotel, restaurant and water park all aren't equipped for full occupancy in the rooms.

Not to be a whiner (I think I'm past that) but the halls were very noisy till late at night with families, and again in the early morning (6:50 am) with families.

We did appreciate the free shuttle to Zehnders (3 min drive downtown) to the restaurant (yummy chicken dinner included in our package price.) Employees were nice everywhere.

If I could offer solid advice to the hotel owners, it would be this - expand the water park. It needs to be bigger for the crowds. Expand the restaurant and snack bar. And please, please get better ventilation before you have a serious lawsuit on your hands when someone is unable to breath because they are coughing so badly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amyg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello, thank you for taking the time to express your opinions and perspectives on Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and are constantly looking for ways to improve our overall guest experience for all ages. We will definitely keep your feedback in mind. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travelled shortly after Christmas with our two children, almost 7 and almost 4, my husband's parents as well as, his sister, her husband and their 2 year old. We all shared the loft suite. We found the accommodations were a good fit for our large group. The loft was quite warm through the night, but the beds were very comfortable. Everyone had a great time in the waterpark, from the two year old right up to Grandpa. We found all staff friendly and attentive, from the front desk to the lifeguards. When we could get the kids away from the waterpark we were very pleased with the close proximity to the outlet malls. We had one member of our party become ill and the staff was extremely helpful in helping us with unexpected needs that arose. We would absolutely return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello, We are so glad that you chose Zehnder's Splash Village for your family getaway and that you and your family enjoyed it so much! thank you for the excellent rating, we are so honored to receive that from your review. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we are a family of (6) 2 adults 4 kids(2-4yr olds and 2-8yr olds) we stayed 4 days and 3 night with and stay and eat package. Room was ok and was big enough 2 queen beds and a queen sleeper sofa. could of had more free channels on tv. Food was good and there was plenty, Elf café morning services was slow on two of the days though. water park was perfect size for our kids it kept them busy, we even used the reg. pool area too to break up the day although the dragon fly pond was not in use for half of one day. the hotel could have giving tokens for inconvenience of the pool. the shuttle bus added to the no rush weekend. I also believe since we stayed 3 nights tokens should have been part of the package for the game room. we do recommend the hotel and are planning another trip here later tis year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Zehnder's Splash Village. Thank you for your patience during the mechanical issues we experienced, during one of the days of your visit with us. We appriciate your understanding and feedback. Your suggestions are important to us, they let us know how we are doing and how we can improve our overall guest experience. We are so glad to hear you and your family had a great time and are planning another trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews