We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indoor waterpark alternative!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frankenmuth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indoor waterpark alternative!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We often cross the border to head to Zehnder's. The price is totally affordable and the size and scale of the facilities are geared to our young children. We love to buy the inclusive price with food and waterpark. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello, thank you for your continued patronage to our facility! We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Douglas Lemcke General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    288
    91
    56
    31
See reviews for
919
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Odessa, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second year of going to the waterpark/hotel in Frankenmuth and I'm sure we'll go again next year also. The rooms were nice & quiet, the food was great and the kids and grandkids had alot of fun in the water park which is attached.

Room Tip: Last year we were on the bottom floor and found that noiser. This year we were on the 2nd floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy_Jackson1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your continued patronage to our waterpark! We are so glad to hear your family had a great time at our facility and sincerely appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great value for the money. For a 2 night getaway with our family, we couldn't have picked a better place. The kids had an absolute blast in the water park. There were limited things to do in the water park, so we divided up the time in our day by shopping at Birch Run outlets (10 min. drive), and visiting Bronner's Christmas store next door. We found that with a 4 year old and 8 year old, they could only last 4 hours maximum at a time in the water park before getting overwhelmed and exhausted. The Breakfast Buffet was great and we had the family package where it included a meal for all 4 of us at Zehnder's as well. We certainly were well fed, and entertained, and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello, thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear your family had such a great time at our Hotel & Waterpark. We really appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke, General Manager Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely maintained but for the price there were some complaints. The photos are accurate and the staff is nice. They do need to work on a couple things. To enter parts of the play are you have to go in on either end. At one end there is an exit that doesn't have an alarm. With 2 kids to watch snd as crowded as it was a pervert could easily snatch a kid and have a good head start! That worried me. Our tv was busted so they had to installs new one. The maintenance people were very nice but it was a hassle and they left clipped wires on the bed and my granddaughter scratched her leg. She was overtired so that caused a meltdown.

The balcony was nice as a smoker. In the room it does Not have thermostat heat do I was up all night turning the heat on and off. Never right temp seeing as its winter. And when I went to use the bathroom the light and fan turned on automatically and the bright light woke me up so I didn't sleep all night. Especially when it woke the kids.

Last but not least my sister came up for about 3 hours with my nephew to swim. She ordered drinks and they asked her for a room number. When she went to pay they told her they put it on the room! Now I paid for her drinks and she had no cash. They were too busy to reverse it and put it on her card.

None of this is too big a deal but for over $260 a night they are concerns. After all I only paid 4x that for air and hotel for a week on hawaiii! No comparison for the value. If it was $100 less I wouldn't complain

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions and perspectives on our facility. Your suggestions and comments are very important to us. Per our phone conversation, I can only assume we have discussed all of your concerns to the best of our ability. Should you have any other concerns or questions, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke, General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First, the waterpark; it was a blast for the kids, they could play in the many pools and sprayers and climb up the play sets and shoot and dump water on themselves and others. They enjoyed the slides and could not even stop to eat. I even found myself having a great time as well. The one critique is that there is not much space inside the park for tables, chairs, etc. for families to gather and sit. If you don’t get there early don’t plan on having a table or a chair; I always think it is funny that at places designed for children and families are usually so unfriendly towards them in their design.

Now, the hotel; the staff was friendly and welcomed you to the resort. The rooms were “updated” at best, simply painted the rooms and updated some carpets. The halls smelled of moisture and musty and still felt like you were in the 80s. The rooms were decently sized but again outdated (especially for an updated hotel). The walls are paper thin and you can literally hear kids screaming and people’s conversations next to you all night. Also, the room vibrates with people run up and down the halls. There is a handy wetbar area with a mini-fridge which is appreciated to store water, kids’ juice cups, etc. Overall this resort was OK, the kids had fun so that’s all that matters. It is very convenient to the park, so I would probably go back and just suck it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear your children enjoyed their experiance at our Waterpark. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experiance and increase value for all ages and we will definitely keep your feedback in mind. Thanks again!

Douglas Lemcke,
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went to Zehnder's for my daughters 2nd birthday, and also took our son age 4. Both kids couldn't wait to race down to the waterpark in the morning. One thing that we love about waterparks in the USA is that they allow smaller children to go down the big slides. The kids love them so we drive a little bit further so they can have more fun. Kids are also allowed in the hot tub. Our kids liked the decor in the waterpark as well. It is smaller than Great Wolf Lodge, but also cheaper and we had a fantastic time. Line-ups were almost non-existent to get on the slides. There is a fridge in the room, so we ate breakfast there. Zehnders is also fairly close to Birch Run outlets so I snuck out to go shopping after the kids were in bed. We just stayed in a regular room with two beds this time, as the suites don't have a fully enclosed separate bedroom so we don't feel that it's worth the extra money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammerHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Zehnder's Splash Village! We are glad that you had a nice time celebrating your daughters 2nd birthday. We look forward to seeing you and your family sometime soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We coordinated an overnight trip here with several other families. My three kids and I stayed in a family suite. We'd been here last year and our room was much nicer then, so not all suites are the same. The ones with balconies seem much nicer. However, the suite is spacious enough. When you have children I always appreciate a small fridge. The bathroom could stand to be remodeled.

The kids had fun at the water park, and even I enjoyed the slides. My 12 year old son didn't have anyone to play with and soon became bored, so the park might be better for younger children. Nonetheless, my son was able to entertain himself in the hotel's arcade.

At Zehnder's we had a party of about 20, and just about everyone had some type of food allergy. They accommodated us very well. The food is good comfort food (although I think they need to overhaul the noodles). Definitely ask for some type of discount or package at the hotel.

My main gripe is that I wish they had a later check out time. We always like to go back to the water park on the second day, but the 11 am check out time doesn't leave us enough time to return to the room and shower before heading out for a day of shopping downtown. I wouldn't even mind a later check-in time, because most people go to swim right away and then go to their rooms to clean up, etc. Overall, it's a fun and simple overnight trip.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Zehnder's Splash Village! We are glad to hear you and your family had fun and enjoyed the Waterpark. We always appreciate our guests feedback on our facility. In regards to your specific comments, our family suites with balconies and the family suites without balconies are the same in size. We do offer a few other styles of suites that differ some from our family suites, however, I am not sure what style you purchased on your most recent visit. As for check-out time, we do offer an extended check-out time till 4pm on our "Splash The Day Away" package which may have been availible the day of your departure. We also provide lockerooms with showers for our guests that have already checked-out to accommodate our guests who would like to shower before heading home. Thank you again for your feedback, we hpoe to see you again sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 1365 South Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark offers 178 deluxe accommodations including 74 family suites. Enjoy over 50,000 sq. Ft. Of aquatic fun with our six-story family raft ride and super loop body slide; zero-entry activity pool with water geysers, water basketball and volleyball, Action River, Splash Landing play area, Dumping Bucket, Giggling Gorge and Perilous Plunge 4 story tube slides, relax in the Whimsical Whirl Hot Tub or just float along the Crooked Brook Creek Lazy River. For the landlubber have fun at our arcade or lunch at Elf hollow cafe or the Mushroom Grille. A towering 26-foot tree is a prominent feature in the hotel lobby with a large gas fireplace built into the trunk. Zehnder's Splash Village includes elves and fairies as part of the waterpark and hotel's overall theme. Complimentary shuttle service is available to Zehnder's Restaurant and The Fortress Golf Course. Come and join the fun today at one of Michigans top family destinations and Frankenmuth's largest and only indoor waterpark, Zehnder's Splash Village Frankenmuth, MI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zehnder`s Splash Village Hotel And Waterpark
Zehnders Splash Village Frankenmuth
Zehnders Splash Village Hotel Waterpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing