We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could eat this all the time, but I'd be huge!”

Zehnder's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Zehnder's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hospitality abounds with traditional family style chicken dinners and tantalizing breads and pastries in the world-famous Zehnder's of Frankenmuth restaurant.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I could eat this all the time, but I'd be huge!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had the lunch portion, two piece, all-white chicken dinner. VERY good value and we cleaned our plates. Loved everything from the breads, to the spread, to the cabbage salad (coleslaw) to the potatoes to the chicken--everything!

Our server stood on her head for us and we really liked the "uniforms" they wear.

Excellent place to eat and we'd come back time and time again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I will be sharing your review at our daily staff meetings and want to thank you for posting. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. If there is anything I can do for you please let me know. We look forward to your next visit.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    575
    325
    129
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Shopping!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Zehnder's is famous for their chicken dinners with all the 'fixins', and their other home made from scratch family dinners. The service is outstanding. And the atmosphere is welcoming. They have the most amazing bakery and shops in the bottom level.... you must shop there.... spices, condiments, gifts, jewelry, clothing, all kinds of beautiful and unique things. Don't miss experiencing Zehnder's when you're in Frankenmuth. And they have some sugar free desserts in the bakery too.... great SF cheesecake!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We're so happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We make everything we can from scratch, and use no preservatives in any of our baked goods. Thanks so much for posting.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Family Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed the family style chicken dinner for 6. Good fried chicken, cranberry relish, coleslaw, hubbard squash and butter noodles. However, we recommend more vegetables and less high carb foods on the menu- no need for potatoes and noddles both plus 3 kinds of bread. The waitress, who provided excellent service, brought us more coleslaw and squash upon request. We suggest you make reservations to avoid long line ups.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandma_sue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for tasking the time to write a review. I will pass along your comments to our head chef, and I want to thank you for letting us know what you think about our chicken dinners. Please feel free to contact me in the future if there is anything I can ever do for you.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Some kind of wonderful”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything was delicious. Chicken livers and giblets where fantastic. Wife also enjoyed the coconut creme pie.

Helpful?
Thank harleyhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for posting. I will be sharing your comments at our daily staff meetings as well as sharing them with our Head Chef. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth the wait!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

this resteraunt is so worth the wait. It was under 30 minutes and the food was great. our server was also great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassywoman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for posting about your visit. We do like to keep the wait as short as possible, and I'm very happy to read that it was worth your time. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zehnder's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zehnder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing