We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money”

Zehnder's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Zehnder's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hospitality abounds with traditional family style chicken dinners and tantalizing breads and pastries in the world-famous Zehnder's of Frankenmuth restaurant.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for your money”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow, certainly the biggest restaurant I've ever been to. If you have big appetites to fill you must visit Zenders in Frankenmuth. The all you can eat chicken dinner is the best deal . Our server
was friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our all-you-can-eat chicken dinner is quite the meal. We also offer smaller portions on our luncheon menu, and in our Z Chef Café located in our lower level. However, what we are known for is most certainly our Family Style Chicken Dinner. Thank you again for posting.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    548
    306
    124
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still Great !”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On special occasions, it is always nice to visit the Village of Frankenmuth (Michigan), and have one of their signature meals. The signature meal of Frankenmuth is their "All you can eat" Chicken dinners. For $19.95 you get a half dozen relish assortments, specialty breads, Liver pate, cheese spread, and chicken noodle soup for a starter. Then comes the mash potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and about 6 assorted pieces of perfectly breaded fried chicken. All this is served "family" style.
If you run out of anything, the waitress will immediately bring you more of anything you want. If you can eat no more, "doggie bags" are provided for anything left over.
The waitress we had was there when ever needed, and was prompt and efficient.
The dining room(s) at Zehnder's are large, but still retain the feeling of an elegant , "old time" Hotel restaurant.
We visited on a weekday, after the Labor Day holiday and we were able to get immediate seating. I know that they do have waiting lines on weekends and holidays.
I have visited this Village perhaps once every other year or so, and have been doing so for the last 70 years. It is still a special treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbenBrewder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your experience. It's the stories like yours, and the memories we are a part of for the families we serve that really make us who we are. Once again thank you, and we look forward to your return.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

A great array of appetizers, some better than others. The cole slaw, pâté and cheddar to die for. The chicken was great, the sides were as well. Some here have said the potatoes were instant. Not on your life! Right down to the ice cream, all the food was super. Service with a smile, reasonable check. Will be back for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Facetime4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Chicken In My Life!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My extended family took a huge trip up to Frankenmuth together and none of can stop talking about this place a year later! Best German food, ever. Period! We did the family style meal. It is worth the money and worth the wait, although I highly recommend getting reservations. You have to eat here if you visit Frankenmuth- you won't forget it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to serving your family the next time you're in town.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For the price I would have expected REAL potatoes not instant. The food was so so and the whole place was a bit dingy. I don't think I saw a single employee smile while we were there. Won't go back to the restaurant although I may check the gift shops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommierie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I’m very sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this matter further, and I’d really like the opportunity to make this up to you. I can be reached at (800)863-7999, or webmaster@zehnders.com.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zehnder's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zehnder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing