We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”

Zehnder's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Zehnder's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hospitality abounds with traditional family style chicken dinners and tantalizing breads and pastries in the world-famous Zehnder's of Frankenmuth restaurant.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a great time at this restaurant. The food is very good and was a great time for the family to get together and enjoy. You will never go hungry with the family style meal and everything is hot and fresh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttwpff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    543
    299
    122
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Style Meal”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We ate on a voucher from the waterpark resort, it's Zehnders. The food is very good, and there is a lot. There is no way to leave here hungry, the staff do take very good care of you. If you pay it is pricey but the meal is good and there is a ton of food.. There is also gift shops and a bakery on the lower level.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 74Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Family dining”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been here a few times in combination with our stay at Zehnder's Splash Village. Our kids just love the experience. A ton of food to satisfy a huge hunger. Not always the healthiest option though. Our kids love meeting the Zehnders chicken!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful family restaurant!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We love Zehnder's and have dined here many times over the years. The family-style chicken dinner is very good, but the rest of the menu is very good, too. The service is always excellent! If you sign up for their birthday club, you can get a free meal during the month of your birthday. If you want a less expensive option, dine at the Z Cafe downstairs. The food is just as good, but you can mix, match and pick just what you want. We have had chicken, turkey and pork at the cafe and all were very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripowl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was ok”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in the Birch Run area doing some shopping for the weekend and one of the clerks in the stores said we MUST try Zehnder's for the chicken dinner. So we thought great its gotta be a good meal. The atmosphere is nice, the waitress was very helpful in explaining the menu to us as it was our first time there. We went with the all you can eat chicken dinner. The appetizers were good. The coleslaw(bit too many red onions in it) and the cranberry relish were really good. The main course was good as well but there was some sort of spice in the gravy that i just didnt care for. The chicken was ok, it wasnt greasy (like KFC or other chicken places) but it was a bit on the dry side. Overall the chicken was good. If it was a little bit moist it probably would be amazing. The mashed pototatoes were very fuffy and melts in your mouth. The squash well was nothing to be desired. They should use a butternut squash.

The desert was soft serve ice crea which was good, you have the choice of different flavours and toppings as well.

We didnt make reservations as it was sort of a last minute decision to go and we had no issues getting in, was seated right away.

Overall it was an ok meal. Nothing to write home about. Would we go back? Probably not but I am sure others love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_InBradfordYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zehnder's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zehnder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing