We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sue and Esther's American Tea Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Frankenmuth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sue and Esther's is a quiet, relaxing, little tea room, with lovely decor and light, fresh and delicous meals. I would highly recommend going with girlfriends and as a place to take that special little girl, or young lady in your life to share what it means to be ladylike! They even encourage patrons to try on the vintage women's hats hanging on the walls. My friends and I have taken pics while doing this and have made great memories!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankenmuth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place for ladies to eat in town.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The service was excellent! I came alone to check it out after a massage. I was treated like an old friend. The best service I have EVER Had. The food was fresh unique and delicious. We moved to Frankenmuth from the city and this place reminds me of a quaint Ann Arbor tea house. NOt a place tha served everything from Gordons food like all the other places in town. THis is a must eat place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momxxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum Bubble Tea!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I used to live in Chicago and one of my favorite things was bubble tea, so I am so happy there is a place I can get it locally! I love to be able to try new teas and it is really great for lighter meals when you are looking for something other than a heavy dinner which there are lots of options for here in Frankenmuth. I only wish they were open more :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SugarHighBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomield Hills, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not so great - don't waste your time”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

this place smells like an old ladies tea room - everything was stale - even the ambiance. There were not that many tea selections and the food wasn't anything special. Don't waste your time

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueandEsther, Owner at Sue and Esther's American Tea Room, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Brad,

Wow -- we're sorry you didn't like our little tea room. You're right -- the building is old but there's not much we can do about that. Our food is typically pretty decent. We offer over 53 various teas with selections from each tea category. I'm sorry you couldn't find one that you liked. Hopefully someday you'll find another tea house that can better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice tea and decor, however, very little to eat at outrageous prices.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very disappointed with my visit. You can get a wonderful full course meal with left overs at other places. I would not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LittlePetiteOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueandEsther, Owner at Sue and Esther's American Tea Room, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Little Petite One,

Thank you for coming in with your party over the weekend. I'm sorry you felt like there wasn't enough food on your tray. Your group organizer chose our Lite Tea, which is a little more expensive at $12.95 per person and part of the Tea Experience. You can try as many pots of tea and have as many flavors as you'd like. The food is served on 3-tiered trays and includes tea sandwiches, scones, petite sweets and fruit. The cost comes more from the time it takes to prepare, which is why it is reservation only. It truly is part of a traditional afternoon tea -- which is more snacking and socializing. It sounds like our luncheon menu probably would have been better for you. We have wonderful quiche, a baked chicken and spinach turnover, organic salads, sandwiches and more. And each entree is served with salad. The prices start at $6.95. Hopefully you'll stop back in for lunch and try something more substantial!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sue and Esther's American Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing