We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Bavarian Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay at the Bavarian Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I always look forward to going up north but the best part of it, is staying at the Bavarian Lodge in Frankenmuth. I wish I had joined the Perks Club many years ago. I joined in 2008 as 2 friends and myself were able to get a better room and cost for spending just $10 to join. I, my family and friends have benefited from it over and over again. .Not only it is a great place with all types of things to do but the people that take care of u are the BEST. The rooms are a good size (except maybe some bathrooms). They offer many amenities. They include a refrigerator but no microwave. If you have have a mind of a scout you can improvise just with the coffee pot. Ramen noodles, oatmeal. My group that usually goes stay in the adult portion of the Lodge. We have our own ADULT ONLY pool and hot tub. Therefore avoiding all the little people like we once were. The restaurant Oma's right on the main floor, close to the lobby, has a lot of great foods and what is better you get Perks points for all that you spend. They have a Frankenmuth Pizza. If you look at the ingredients you may not be sure you want to try it. But oh,, you don't know what you are missing. Sauce, cheese, CHICKEN, BACON, SAUSAGE, SAUERKRAUT and some of the usual items like onion, peppers and garlic. Bet you can't eat just one piece of it. You will be surprised. Not only will you like the building itself and all its activities, but the people are special. Not only the individuals you see on an everyday stay, but Upper Management people like. John Engle, whom I happened to meet while walking down the hall one day. Judy Zehnder Keller can be seen on various occasions., I have personally met Dorothy Zehnder while I was at the Bavarian Inn Restaurant for a Nat King Cole tribute luncheon. It was 2 days before her 90th. Birthday. I have her cookbook personally signed by her. Dorothy, John. Judy are just regular people like you and I they just have a bit more clout. Don't just come and stay, come and PLAY HERE. The Taste of Frankenmuth in early spring sponsored by the Rotary Club. The money collected goes back to the community. Then there is Easter with fun and games for the kids both young and old. Then there is the Dog Bowl over Memorial Weekend. Thousands of Dogs of all varieties, sizes and shapes. Some working, catching, Dock Dogs, racing and the best part I like is Sheep Herding. .There are also fun things to do in the Loralei Lounge for St. Patrick's Day and Mardi Gras. I almost forgot about the fun center in the basement along with 3 pools and two more whirlpools including the new splash tubes and a waterfall pool. Besides all the fun things for kids of all ages, including air Hockey and Skee ball is Miniature Golf and it is free to Perks Club Members on Wednesday.. Just remember, join PERKS CLUB, STAY, PLAY, EAT AND ENJOY YOURSELF AND YOUR FAMILY AND YOU GET MONEY BACK FOR WHAT YOU SPEND. Can it get any better??????????????

Room Tip: We have mostly stayed on the first floor mainly in what we call the Adult section. This last time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Marge,

Wow... we thank you so very much for your YEARS of loyalty to the Lodge. Judy, Dorothy will be as tickled as I am to read your detailed insights into what makes your experience the BEST it can be at the Lodge. You have described our Frankenmuth pizza better than I ever have (I may steal your quotes for promotional use...). It was fun to see how you enjoyed the children pools for so many years and now you hover MORE around the adult pool/whirlpool. Trust me, we won't ever give up having the adult pool area!

Regarding your comment on small bathrooms, Judy specifically designed the bathrooms as a women to have the vanity and mirrors outside of the shower / toilet area and has always thought of that as part of the bathroom area. She felt it gave the opportunity for one to be showering without steam affecting the mirrors for others who may be curling hair, doing makeup, shaving, etc. But we understand exactly what you mean about that design - thanks for your thoughts!

Please look me up when you next return so we can reconnect! Want to meet your whole clan!

With great appreciation ,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    476
    168
    82
    57
See reviews for
1,791
765
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metamora, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful Lodge, but more important, these have to be the nicest people ever. They go out of their way to accommodate their guests. The rooms are exceptionally clean. We didn't eat here, but the Lounge and entertainment were great. I'm looking forward to staying here again. This is a great place in a great city. Don't miss Frankenmuth.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what room you stay in. You'll be so busy in this fun town, it won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mari G.,

THANK YOU for your wonderful comments on our team members! I too am so very proud of our housekeeping team who take such good care of the guestrooms. We all hope for the opportunity to become a tradition with your family. We know our real job is to help you create family memories. Hope you enjoyed the coldest Snowfest in history. The snow blocks still look amazing a week later!

With Sincere Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. on behalf of the entire team at the Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipsic, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a great time at the Snow fest, and many of the ice and snow sculptures were next to the lodge. After touring Frankenmuth, the warm and friendly indoor pools, spas, and water slides were a welcome feature to our trip. The rooms were excellent and had that clean smell that hope for in hotel accomadations. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All floors seemed to be equally great, as the elevators take care of stairway inconveniences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Clark,

So please you enjoyed BOTH Zehnder's Snowfest and the Bavarian Inn Lodge with our "warmer atmosphere" - - - great for thawing out in! We have 5 guestroom elevators even though we only have 5 floors for part of the building and 4 for the rest. Glad you like the convenience of everything easily being under one-roof!

We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to serve you again perhaps this summer!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling hts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got back from another Fantastic Weekend at The Bavarian Inn Lodge !! Every time we go we seem to find another style or room to stay in, What a treat ! The way the Staff treats us like Family is Awesome ! The Pools, Arcade, Food, Excellent !!!!!

Room Tip: If you like the Arcade ask for a room near the Family Fun Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneycruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Disney Cruise...

WE love being considered part of your family. I often tell our team that we want to pretend we are a BID bed and breakfast and want to interact with our guests like you would if they were in our own living room! So pleased we help you have FUN in Frankenmuth.

Hope to meet your clan when you next return... ask for me at the Front Desk!

With Great Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A few of my siblings and our families recently stayed at the Bavarian Inn, which was totally wonderful. We stayed there to also attend Snow Fest which was just a short walk across the beautiful covered bridge. Every family member from 10 months to 50 years enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: I believe the lower floors have older bathroom fixtures. I found it difficult to turn on the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0701KAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear 0701KAW,

We are so glad that we could assist multiple generations in your family to all have FUN together. So happy that you enjoyed Snowfest as well. We look forward to serving you again soon and THANKS for sharing photos on your post! Hope you enjoyed our celebrating Chinese New Year too!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Each year we come to the Bavarian Inn to share in the outside adventure of Snow Fest. This is a mini vacation that is perfect for the entire family. They have a wide variety of cozy rooms that each have a refrigerator and coffee maker in them. A wonderful selection of restaurants and a great lounge full of entertainment. The kids always enjoy the three pools as well as the great new water slide. There is also a adult only pool and they have a nice whirlpool to enjoy after being out in the cold. They have the best gaming center for all ages and we love the miniature golf. They also have a great snack bar and a perfect place for parties of all sizes. It is close to wonderful shopping at Birch Run Outlet mall and it's just a quick drive from the interstate. Always something to do and each year we build more family memories!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Karen K.,

Your insights into what you enjoy most at the Lodge is so very appreciated. Glad that you enjoy the waterpark aspects of the Lodge along with the Family Fun Center aspect all blended together!

We look forward to hosting your family annually and are HUMBLED that you return over and over again. Thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

our company party. food was excellent especially the fillet and of course the chicken. we stayed overnight.staff was very attentive and helpful. the room was excellent.could use a few more tv channels though.

Room Tip: I can't really rate the spa, it is not applicable to my stay. I did not go to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mama49:

I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful company event at the Lodge. We enjoy helping companies celebrate their year end with many Holiday parties AFTER year end. We too have our employee Holiday party in January. Thanks for your kind words regarding our staff. They are clearly the most valued asset of the Company.

I have GOOD news regarding the Television channels. We began upgrading the TV system for the Lodge on Monday (yesterday) and are moving from 37 channels to 68 channels including 24 channels in HD (High Definition) including many sports channels. It has been a long process as we need to reprogram 377 TV's one-at-a-time! I personally was assisting in the reprogramming last night and received raves from the guests who saw the difference in the new system. I hope you can return soon to check out all that is new!

With sincere appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing