We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Another great trip”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My family has been going to Frankenmuth for many years now and we still look forward to the exciting weekend stay. I can not say enough about the Bavarian Inn from the game rooms, pools, water slides, mini golf, gift shops, and so much more. We also love the fact that everything is within walking distance of the Inn. We will continue the family tradition for many more years to come.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Tina Q.,

Merry Christmas and thank you for your recent (and many many past visits) to the Bavarian Inn Lodge. It is a pleasure to serve your family and we will keep the place fresh and FUN for your return visits for generations to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn guests since 1977 -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,837
    484
    169
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,807
780
40
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My stay at the Bavarian Inn was one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences I have had. The accomodations were clean and quiet and the staff was curtious and accomodating. The hotel is located within walking distance to all downtown Frankenmuth attractions. I highly recommend the Bavarian Inn Lodge if you are planning an overnight stay in Frankenmuth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Tom,

We are honored and proud to have surpassed your expectations on your recent stay to the Bavarian Inn Lodge and Frankenmuth! The entire Bavarian Inn Zehnder family and our leadership are so proud of our Housekeeping Staff (I sometimes call them the "sparkle" department). We hope to have helped you create special memories in Frankenmuth and hope to serve you again when next - you visit Frankenmuth!

Merry CHRISTmas!

With Great Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Overall, this is a nice hotel. We did enjoy the indoor mini golf, the indoor pools and waterslides, and hot tubs. The arcade was also fun. With that said, I feel the hotel should be more reasonably priced for families. The average working family struggles to pay the price to stay at this hotel. (**I thought it was expensive**)They did not offer us any dining coupons or discounts when we checked in. Moving on...The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was extremely small. Even our children, who usually don't notice such things made comments on the tiny bathroom. The other point that must be emphasized is the alcohol. There were many people drinking and intermingling with the children. I don't mind booze, but it really should be kept away from the "family fun center" and kept in a more adult place! Would we go back?...Yes. Could they improve?...Yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear John P.,

Thank you so very much for sharing your insights into your recent stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall amenities and features offered within our Fun Center and water park. We appreciate your comments regarding the responsible service and consumption of alcohol. We train significantly to manage guests experience from the perspective of FUN, safety and responsibility.

Regarding the rates that we charge, we feel we are the most competitively priced water park hotel in all of Michigan and Ohio. We also offer a diverse array of fun that other water park hotsl do not offer. Often our rooms are $40 to $90 lower per night than other comparable facilities on a weekend. We are constantly working to keep costs managed in this still tough economy and thus keep our rates the same way. Perks membership also offers great value and special rates for guests who feel there is any possibility of returning in the future.

We will keep working hard to address your concerns and keep the Lodge innovative and FUN. We do hope you will return again. Merry CHRISTmas from all of us at the Lodge!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family has been going to Frankenmuth for 40 years and have never been disappointed. On this trip we took some friends who were new to the area. As we drove through the covered bridge and the Bavarian Inn Lodge appeared, we heard a charming sigh from our guests, while for us it was like coming home.

The greeting at the front desk was cheerful and helpful. I had requested rooms close to the pool access and we were on the second floor - rooms 264,266, and 268, just steps away from the staircase to the pool and the elevator as well. We had barely entered our rooms, when a cup of coffee was inadvertently spilled on the bed. Housekeeping was just outside the door and were exceptionally kind. They took care of it right away, saying "Accidents happen". What a way to start our mini vacation!

The rooms were clean, and the kids had a ball at the fun center and around the pools. When I ask about the menu for Oma's Kitchen, they loaned me one to take along. Needless to say, we went back to eat there and at the walk up restaurant in the fun center. The wait staff at both restaurants were friendly and helpful and the food was great!

The staff at the fun center were amazing as well. One of them gave my grandson tickets that someone else had left at the desk. The staff was upbeat - even when the children couldn't decide which treasures they wanted to "buy" with their tickets.

The European atmosphere and the friendly staff started our Christmas Holiday off with a festive beginning. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marme_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Marme,

Your title of "Like Coming Home" is so very humbling for our team to read. We share our Trip Advisor posts with our team members and yours will warm their hearts, as it has mine! Thank your detailed account of your stay and kind words regarding the things that matter most to you. We are deeply appreciative of your 40 year loyalty to our community and to the Bavarian Inn.

We will keep working hard to keep the Lodge looking great and having lots of FUN things to do for your family for GENERATIONS to come! Please ask for me at the Front Desk upon your next arrival. Would love to meet you!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went with two young nieces (5 and 7) who had nothing but good things to say about the Bavarian Inn Lodge. Lots of things to keep the young'ns busy including a large arcade and three separate pool areas (including water guns, a waterfall and water slides). Every room was booked the week's-end we stayed but the place didn't seem overly crowded (other than the parking facilities) and we didn't have any trouble getting immediate seating in their on-site restaurants on those occasions where we didn't go into town (Frankenmuth - the chicken dinner capital of Michigan) for a meal or shopping. They also provide a (wheelchair accessible) shuttle bus to get from the Lodge to in-town dining and shopping.

Two-night stay minimum (not noted on their website) and somewhat pricey but worth it for keeping the kids entertained. Note that they charge your card immediately for your stay and that you are ala'-carte for subsequent meal charges, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocket58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Rocket58:

Thank you very much for your review on this site and your recent stay at the Lodge. I really appreciate your feedback. We are "tickled" when we see family having FUN together at the Lodge and are glad your nieces enjoyed themselves. Thank you for being a Frankenmuth Chicken Fan and for sharing the fact that we have a free shuttle to and from the Restaurant to the Lodge with a wheelchair lift. Did you know that we power the shuttle from bio-diesel fuel that is made from the fryers oil of our restaurants?!

Regarding the two night minimum, this is a sporadic requirement on some weekends for some nights. If we do not hold some rooms in this manner, the Saturday night can sell out 6 weeks in advance and then the guests wanting both Friday and Saturday are turned away and Friday has 100+ vacant rooms.

Also we only require payment in advance for specific web specials. Usually we collect payment for the entire stay at the time of arrival.

Thanks again and we hope to become part of a family traidition as you visit Frankenmuth in the future.

Merry CHRISTmas to you and your entire family!

Sincerely,

The Bavarian Inn Zehnder Family and Team

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Driving home from there now. We are leaving with fond memories. The Lodge was beautiful the staff friendly the food was fabulous. We had a great time shopping in town. Very warm and fuzzy. No microwave but my son found out that irons make good pizza reheaters. Don't worry staff he used a paper towel. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpyw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Hpyw2:

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback on TripAdvisor. WOW... you taught us something we never heard of. The Iron... for pizza? Paper Towel on an iron? Definitely reaching beyond the normal and safe use of an iron. Glad you are safe though and we appreciate you staying with us. Calling us warm and fuzzy is an ULTIMATE compliment as I always tell the staff, I would rather have you appear "warm and fuzzy" to guests than "professional". When you are "warm and fuzzy" you are a level way beyond professional!


Thanks again and Merry CHRISTmas to you and your entire family!

Sincerely,

The Bavarian Inn Zehnder Family and Team

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have gathered here for over 20 years. Great family fun for all ages. Last year they added some cool waterslides. After our stay at the Lodge, we then go for our annual chicken dinner which we have been enjoying for over 40 years at Christmas time. Our kids ages (2-22) beg for a two night stay. Cousins come from as far away as Texas and Boston. The airport is conveniently located for easy travel. Certainly a tradition that will continue for many more years to come.

Room Tip: When our children were younger we enjoyed the suites. Now they have their own rooms. The rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Denise,

The Bavarian Inn Zehnder family are deeply thankful for your families traidtionaly Christmas visit from around the Country to Frankenmuth! We absolutely love being apart of creating special family memories, in fact that is our formal Mission Statement... we just happen to fry chicken and make beds to help people achieve this...

Merry CHRISTmas to your entire family and Happy 2014! See you then!

Sincerely,

The Bavarian Inn Zehnder Family and Team

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing