We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fall Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
“Great Fall Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The entire area is absulutely beautiful. The Bavarian Inn and the surrounding grounds are perfectly maintained and extremely well manicured. The fall decorations certainly enhanced the landscaping. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and gave us a very comfortable feeling. There were plenty of attractions to keep us entertained; the pools, game room, lounge, gift shop and restaurant on premise is great. It is also nice that there are many unique shops and two very nice restaurants within walking distance of the Inn.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony was good on a nice, warm evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear William S.,

Thank you for your recent stay and your very kind review of your stay at Bavarian Inn Lodge!

We so appreciate your stay and are happy that you enjoyed all the Lodge and surrounding businesses have to offer. We look forward to serving your family again soon!

With Great Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    476
    168
    82
    57
See reviews for
1,791
765
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed from October 12th to October 14th and had great expectations after seeing so many wonderful reviews.

The good... staff were friendly and the room was clean and we were able to get our room at 2pm (check in is at 3pm).

The not too good:
Oma's restaurant for lunch- Having arrived at 2pm (from Canada) and not having had lunch, we headed down for a late lunch/early dinner. We were given 'lunch' menus. But schnitzel wasn't on the lunch menu. Our waitress said we could order schnitzel from the dinner menu. So, my husband order the chicken from the lunch menu, my one daughter and I ordered schnitzel off the dinner menu and our other daughter pizza from the children's menu and we ordered one Caesar salad for all of us to share. It was 15 minutes before our waitress returned to say there was no schnitzel (it's now about an hour from dinner being available... and there's no schnitzel??). So, I opted for the chicken lunch and my daughter choose spaghetti.

The problem.... the caesar salad came with chicken... we didn't order it with chicken and were charged for chicken... but worse was the fact my husband was charged the 'dinner' price for his chicken dinner, when he ordered from the lunch menu. We did get the caesar price dropped (to no chicken), but the waitress said his chicken meal had 3 pieces, so he had ordered dinner. It wasn't until the next evening that I noticed 'dinner' only offered 2 pieces, same as lunch..... I really should have called over a manager on Saturday, but we just thought it couldn't get worse....

Oma's - brunch on Sunday - we were seated and after a few minutes (the place wasn't busy) had a waitress take our order. We opted for brunch and were halfway through before she came with tea and hot chocolate, but not my coffee.... only 4 drinks (did I mention it wasn't busy?). There was one dish at the buffet that looked like it may be some raw meat (ham or beef??) and when we asked the waitress was it was she didn't know....shouldn't her job be to know, or to tell us she'd find out????

Oma's - dinner on Sunday - we tried a few other places, but the wait was going to be too long so we had very little choice but to try Oma's again. It took 15 minutes for our drinks to be delivered (again it wasn't busy when we were there) and then another 15 for dinner... only because our waiter never returned until drinks were brought to take our order..... this time they did have schnitzel.

Overall, we found the food and meals were nothing to write home about.

The room - the shower had really poor pressure and our patio door lock didn't work, so they put a piece of wood to prevent it from being opened. Hopefully it's just a case of being too booked to have that remedied for this weekend (room 361).

The pool - why exactly are wristbands needed? I can't see anyone trying to sneak in to use those pools or slides..... and the chlorine was so high it was burning our eyes. We managed to talk our girls out of going back on Sunday for that reason.

The fun centre - really? that can't be included as part of the room fee?

Frankenmuth is a lovely area, and we'll likely go back some time to do some longer visiting in the many nice shops along the strip. But it is a given we'll not likely book again at the Bavarian Inn Lodge.

Rosita and Clifford

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Rosita M.,

First, thank you for your complimentary statements regarding the cleanliness of your guestroom and the friendliness of our staff. I am happy that you were able to report the things you enjoyed and thank you for your constructive criticism on what did not go well as well.

In investigating your afternoon meal time challenges, it appears that a newer server attempted to be very accommodating by offering you the dinner menu during lunch - which is absolutely fine. But in her switching from one menu to another, she thought you were ordering the chicken from the dinner menu not the lunch menu. This is not normally a risky venture as we don't normally offer two menus at the same time. But she erred in interpreting your order to be a dinner order not the lunch order. The dinner menu in fact offered BOTH a two piece and three piece chicken option. Clearly our server failed with you in clarifying the exact chicken meal to offer - I apologize for this overall failure in communication.

I am meeting with all of the staff involved in your situations as you provided enough detail that we will be able to coach and mentor the trainees involved. The original Oma's server and brunch server were both trainees who should have already been trained well enough to serve you effectively.

I am sorry that the lock was defective on your sliding door. But the wooden piece offered to place in the track is not a remedy for the lock. All locks should work every day and all 200+ rooms with sliding doors have the wood piece to lay within the track as a secondary lock as required by AAA. This is a standard commonly used for secondary locks nationally on sliding doors.

Regarding wristbands for the waterpark useage. Implementing the system is rather costly over a year but we do in fact find it necessary. There are two kinds of folks sneaking in. Those who book one room and then want to bring 20 people down to use the facilities with one room and also regional children coming in in summer and weekends to swim. We are liable for any injuries to guests via our liability insurance and our carrier has always insisted the facilities are for overnight guests only and it isour responsibility to avoid the risk of non-guests that might get injured plus we do not want crowds of non-paying guests to cause over crowding for the paid guests.

Many aspects of the Fun Center are in fact included in your room rate. The use of 4 pools, 3 whirlpools, and two water slides as well as ping-pong tables; the children's play village area and board games are all free. As is every day practice in any resorts with video games and miniature golf, these are pay as you play opportunities. To include them free for all guests isn't done anywhere that we are aware of in the Mid-West or Canada.

I am so very sorry that we disappointed you and we will make every effort to avoid these challenges in the future and are sharing your comments with EVERYONE who has the ability to improve for the future.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I highly recommend the Bavarian Inn Lodge and Restaurant. Amazing time and amazing food! Great friendly staff that was very attentive to any needs we had.

I can't wait to go back! And will recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Trisha G.,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Lodge. We appreciate your kind words on the food and staff! We look forward to your return!

With Sincere Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A total and marvelous experience. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and polite. We requested a tour of the Inn and given permission. The front desk provided a map, were shown directions and we explored the many facilities. Especially the two of us were in awe of the fun center. Games and activites galore. Our next visit is scheduled for January 2014 and we plan on using the indoor 18 hole putt-putt gol course and adult swimming pool. The water slide we will let the younger generation enjoy. FUN, FUN, FUN.
Again the front desk staff provided a personal tour of a mini-sutie, one of the many types of rooms at the Inn. It will be on our list to reserve as it was fabulous

Room Tip: River view rooms are pure relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your visit and your kind words regarding our staff. I and the entire Bavarian Inn Zehnder family are so proud of our staff. We have a great bunch of people who truly enjoy working in the hospitality industry and in serving others. We are all proud of our produccts and services and work hard on improving them every day. We Look forward to your arrival mid-winter!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to visit. Hotel is very clean, employees are very nice and helpful, grounds are clean. The fun center was a step back in time to fun days as a child. The pools looked great even though we did not swim. Loved the festival outside and the Christmas store down the street. Will make sure to come back again

Room Tip: room in the corner (tower) gives you extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Joy,

Thank you for including Frankenmuth and the Bavarian Inn Lodge as part of your PureMichigan get-a-way! So glad you had a great time and we hope for an opportunity to serve your family and join the traditions of Frankenmuth for years to come!

With Sincere Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine City. MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we decided to take our grandson somewhere for a couple of days we looked at several places to stay. However, none of them seemed to have what we wanted , the cleanliness, the friendly & helpful staff, and the choices to do so many different things. Whether we go alone or take the entire family we always have a great time at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for choosing the Bavarian Inn Lodge as a return visit when you could have stayed so many other places. Your kind words are fuel to the souls of our workforce as we will share your kind words with them. We will keep working hard to earn your business!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We love the Bavarian Inn Lodge in Frankenmuth, MI. and have been staying there for years as a family! We have also taken advantage of using there conference facilities for business events. Everything is excellent! We have already rebooked for the Octoberfest in Frankenmuth in 2014!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Lodge and for enjoying all we have to offer from both a family perspective and a business/conference perspective. We do try to cater to families, couples and corporate groups all at the same time and feel we have built the facilities in a manner that keeps all business types happy at the same time.

We so very much appreciate your business!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing