We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bavarian Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bavarian Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My sisters and I go to the Bavarian Inn Lodge at least once a year. Every trip is always nice. The people are so friendly and helpful and we love the adult pool. We can sit and talk and not have screaming kids to drown out our conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mary G.,

We are honored to host you and your sisters annually. Proud to be a part of your tradition on your 'sister get-a-way'. We hear many comments about enjoyment of the "always" adult pool and whirlpool. We are the only waterpark hotel we know of in the U.S. who dedicates these amenities to adults only. My office was near this hotel for years and I only heard "Marco Polo..." twice in 10 years!

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you all again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    476
    168
    82
    57
See reviews for
1,791
765
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Bavarian Inn. The room was exactly at described, loved the shops nearby. Took pictures at the famous Cheese Haus! The family center with the games, water slides and mini golf at the Inn were wonderful! I'm going to definitely make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBrown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Dee,

So happy you will be returning annually. We enjoy being a part of traditional travel for thousands of Michigan & Mid-West families. We are honored to add you to the fold! We will keep working hard to keep the Lodge clean, friendly and FUN for your next arrival!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Live in the area and go just to get away with the kids. Staff is friendly and honest and rooms are beautiful. Close to town and shops but never wish to leave. The drunks in the lounge are great and the food is too notch. Try the Frankenmuth pizza in the lounge or the hay stack burger!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBear1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear CBear,

So glad to have you as guests with your daughters living in our back yard! I presume you actually like the "drinks" in the lounge versus the "drunks" that was typed! (funny). We try hard to have great drinks but to avoid having any drunks...

So glad you enjoy our signature Frankenmuth Pizza and we enjoy serving your family. Until we next meet...

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Frakenmuth and stay at the Bavarian Inn. We drive from Boston so it is a hike, but we enjoy the drive and enjoy our stay at the Bavarian Inn even more. Our daughter who is handicapped travels with us. The handicapped accessible room where we stay is one of the best that we have experienced, which makes the overall family experience a plus.

Staying at the Bavarian Inn is a unique and peaceful experience. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Handicapped accessible rooms on the second floor are spacious and barrier free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Walter F.,

It warms my heart to know that we achieved your daughters needs regarding accessibility in the guestroom and within the Lodge. We have taken great effort to train our staff on guest needs in the barrier free guestrooms and have virtually no steps in public areas to address unless an elevator is needed. We have bed height documented for reservationists for transfer information as well as right versus left transfer for all barrier free bathrooms and beds documented. We have even assisted in developing software with a third party to make all of this imagery and data available on the web to take the fear out of travel for those who need this assistance.

Thank you for making the trek from Boston and we look forward to seeing you again and I would be interested in any opinions from you or your daughter on MORE improvements we could make in the future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and sons (ages 6 and 7) stayed here the week of 4th of July. The location was great. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants. This town is so much fun, great environment. So friendly and fun. At night the hotel has live music outside which was a lot of fun for all of us. The boys enjoyed the pools and arcade. We ate at the restaurants. the food was good. The lady with the accordian is awesome! The building itself is very neat and great for photos. The room was a little worn down and not really that nice. Our air conditioning was broken and we called down to the front desk. A service person was at our room within minutes and it was fixed quickly. Despite the room being worn, I would stay here again. We walked all around and drove to the Christmas shop and I do think this is the best place to stay because of the location and atmosphere. Overall it was a fun experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear HnnTom:

Thank you for entrusting the Bavarian Inn Lodge for your family vacation during the 4th of July weekend! Thank you for your kind words about both the Lodge and the Bavarian Inn Restaurant. We are very proud of our accordionist - Ms. Linda Lee whom you recognized in our post. She is in the Polka Hall of Fame and coordinates all of our entertainers at the Bavarian Inn Restaurant year round as well.

I'm sorry that you had air conditioning challenges but am pleased to hear that my staff reacted quickly and was successful at remedying the system. There have certainly been some significant stresses on A/C this summer with so many days in the high 90's and nights still in the 80's.

We have many perpetual updates planned in our guestrooms. Our draperies and bed spreads are next on the roster for updating and I think you will enjoy the changes when you next return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Bavarian Inn Lodge is a great place to stay for a fun family weekend. Our son, who is 15, and our daughter, who is 9, had fun in the arcade, playing putt-putt, and swimming. Our son enjoyed the waterslides. It was nice to walk into town instead of driving and trying to find a parking spot. I enjoyed crossing the covered bridge by vehicle and on foot. Our kids really liked it and are begging us to come back and stay here. We will spend another family weekend here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Angela J.,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge and your kind words on this site. It brings a smile to our faces when we share reviews with our staff and they see how all of them are helping create family memories for our guests.

We will keep working hard to keep you and our other guests happy with FUN amenities and friendly people! We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

On our way home (Stoney Creek, ON, Canada) from Holland, MI, we stopped in Frankenmuth for a two-day stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. Crossing the covered bridge by car and foot was a unique experience in itself. Once at the lodge we were welcomed by friendly staff in the lobby as well as at Oma's restaurant. The Frankenmuth chicken was delicious. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. The 'adults only' hot tub and pool were a relaxing place to end our day. Other than a trip to Bronners the next day, we were able to park at the lodge and walk everywhere. Lots to see and enjoy. Boat cruise was a relaxing way to end a full day of site seeing and shopping before our 2nd evening meal at Zehnders. The 'huge' sausage meal, served by a very friendly and informative waiter, was both delicious and filling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bert & Diana,

Thank you so much for including Frankenmuth and The Lodge as part of your American / Michigan vacation from Ontario! So pleased to hear you were able to take in so much of the community in such a short period of time! We enjoyed your perspective of photos included on the post as well! We will be honored if you chose Frankenmuth and the Lodge for another vacation in the years or months to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing