We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family or Couple, you can't go wrong.”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family or Couple, you can't go wrong.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Inn is beautiful, inside and out. The staff is very friendly, the customer first atmosphere is refreshing. The rooms are nice, and clean, although a little dated. The cable T.V. service, and channel selection is poor at best. The bathrooms are small. Our bed and pillows are excellent. The staff at the Lorelei Lounge is excellent, and the lounge has live entertainment. Oma's restaurant serves good meals at a reasonable price. The pools, slides, and entertainment is top notch. We love this place. Make sure to sign up for the perk program(save all your receipts from local businesses)! Stay away from the famous chicken at the restaurants in Frankenmuth! It's over-priced and not worth it. KFC is much better! Frankenmuth Brewery is reasonable and serves great food and beer.

Mike and Aimee. Honeymoon, 7-7-12 / 7-10-13

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Michael C.,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Bavarian Inn Lodge and your kind words about your stay here. Thank you for your feedback. We will reflect on those matters that relate to us at the Lodge and look forward to serving you again when you visit Frankenmuth!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Creating Enjoyable Experiences for 36 Years at Bavarian Inn -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,861
    487
    172
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,823
785
40
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped in frankenmuth for a one night stay at the Bavarian Inn. My children really enjoyed the Family Fun Center indoor watermark and arcade. Had no problems. Staff were courteous and helpful. It is a unique place and I know my kids will remember it as a good memory. Also the family fun center had a pretty secure system. Felt like the kids were safe there although the elevator to go downstairs to the center was always so slow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twox2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Twox2416:

Thank you for your recent one night stay with us. So pleased to hear your children will have fond memories of their first visit! We do take security as a high priority and always encourage families to not have children unattended as that makes for the best experience for everyone. Sorry there were elevator issues. We only have 5 stories so I am a bit stumped on a speed issue but will research that immediately.

We look forward to serving you again on a future visit to Frankenmuth.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in the Whirlpool Suite facing the river and it was great. The room was awesome, the Whirlpool tub with fiber optic lights was great. Loved walking out to my balcony overlooking the Cass river and all the weeping willows. It's peaceful and tranquil yet just a hop skip jump away from the busy mainstrip traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Karen S.,

Thank you kindly for your recent stay in a whirlpool suite and your kind words on this site! We look forward to serving you for years to come and will work on keeping tranquility as a great amenity to be enjoyed by all!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We truly enjoyed the beautiful Bavarian Inn Lodge. The staff were very kind, polite, and extremely
to making everyone's stay enjoyable. The entertainment was outstanding and the food was great.
thank you again.
Lois Black

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurielMabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Lois,

We were honored to serve you during our Holiday weekend. We are pleased that you traveled over from Canada to be a part of our Independence Day weekend! Your kind words are appreciated and we hope you will choose the lodge when you return to Frankenmuth in the future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was a wonderful experience with a very caring staff and wonderful amenities. While at first the price was high on the second night it was less than half of the first. Also with the perk membership there are many more benefits and great prices. I can't wait to stay again. Also I would suggest the hot chicken sandwich for lunch it was the perfect size with some raspberry lemonade at the Bavarian Inn Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Shawn,

Thank you for your recent multiple night stay. I am very proud of our staff and they certainly do have a caring approach to their work throughout all the departments. I suspect your rates were different as we have special Perks Club rates on certain dates but cannot offer them on all dates and especially on holidays such as the 4th of July weekend. Please to know you value your membership in the Bavarian Inn Perks Club which I started back in Oct. of 1999.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay with children! Be warned that the noise in the hallways is happening at ALL HOURS, but if you and your children can sleep through that, then no problem. The main areas are a bit dated but you can't beat the location and the water park. We love that it's walking distance to everything and the staff at the front desk is so friendly. We had excellent service in all of their restaurants and it remains one of our top places to stay when we visit for Thanksgiving every year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellesCharmWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Michelle's Charm,

Thank you for allowing all of us at the Lodge to help your family have FUN together. I don't agree that you or any guest should tolerate noise in the hallways at any time of day or night. We have multiple Managers working past midnight and several stall throughout the entire night on staff 365 days a year and we will manage sound when we can find it and when it is reported to us.

So please let us know when you have hall noise and we will respond. It is our policy to evict guests who are not responsive to being respectful in the hotel. We also do not allow late night large gatherings in guestrooms - as we have many public places where that can happen!

I am confident we can beat that challenge for you and all guests at the Lodge.

We look forward ot serving you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Creating Enjoyable Experiences for 36 Years at Bavarian Inn -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've traveled quite extensively and stayed in all different kinds of places. This is one of the few places that impressed me with presentation, great service and decent pricing. The B.I.L. is definitely worth the trip and adds to the experience of Frankenmuth. Kudos the people that own/run/service the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 314robl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rob L.,

We are humbled and honored to achieve the "top of the heap" in your travels and are flattered to attain this claim with you. We will share your kind thoughts with our staff for motivation and appreciation of their efforts!

Thank you so much and we look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Creating Enjoyable Experiences for 36 Years at Bavarian Inn -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing