We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, hospitable staff, family feel”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Set in beautiful Frankenmuth with plenty of fun activities for entire family of all ages. Very clean inn with incredibly friendly staff. Not overly crowded but more of a family feel. The pool is not overwhelming like other inns/hotels with pool areas. The arcade fun centers are clean and spacious. Bathroom areas are immaculate. Food at Oma's was very good for breakfast. You will not be disappointed! We will always choose Bavarian Inn when we visit Frankenmuth. You get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Susen,

Thank you so very much for your recent stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. We agree that we are not your typical water park hotel. We have designed the Lodge to be as personable and friendly as can be with a living-room-approach waterpark that is sprawled out amongst the public areas of the Lodge in a unique way. I will share your kind words with our staff regarding the cleanliness and friendliness you experienced during your stay. It can only motivate the staff to hear feedback from our guests!

We hope to serve you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,830 - 2,836 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our memorial Weekend was preceded by the Bavarian Inn furnishing my daughter (Melissa Steinet (Tylen) wedding ceremony and reception in the Reine Room. They provided orderves, a main buffet of choices of chicken, beef, bean almondine, potatos (redskin) and an open bar til 100am. Music was provided by a record dj from black productions. The Bavarian Inn's staff were extremely helpful to see that all details were covered and everything went without a hitch. We had approximately 200 guests that enjoyed the day and evening events. All were highly appreciative of the Inn's effort. We have been guests there on several occasions and this service was truly the crowning event of our lives.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are to great standards, but the best rooms are on the riverside of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Tylen:

Thank you SO MUCH for entrusting your daughters wedding with all of us at the Lodge. Weddings is one of our most FUN things to do and we were honored to help your family with the special memories at hand! We hope we may become an ongoing part of your families traditions in the years to come! Have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. "Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years"
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had so much fun on the 2 new water slides. Wish they had more water play things for smaller kids. my daughter is 3 and too small for slides and the wading pool with sprinkler did nothing to keep her entertained. Hope they put in a smaller slide for the little ones or some sort or play area for water fun. The arcade park and play cottage were fantastic though she ran all over that area completely entertained. The games were great for all ages. Our room was super clean. Staff was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Jamie,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our water park facilities and especially the two new water slides! I will share your comments with the owners regarding entertainment opportunities for smaller children. We do have long-term plans for this. But the two story childrens village has been a huge hit for nearly 20 years. I'm especially proud of that as my mom was the artist who painted it!

We are proud to have hosted your family and will keep working hard to have the Lodge ready for your next arrival!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently got married at the Bavarian inn lodge, and had our reception at the restaurant. It was beautiful! Our wedding was Saturday may 25th, in the afternoon in the gorgeous sommer garden. I live over an hour away, so I was worried about how things would come together, but the staff was beyond helpful! If you are planning a wedding here over the phone or email, there's no need to fear, because Charmaine is there!!!! If I had any concerns, questions, or needed recommendations she was just a call or email away. And if she wasn't available, someone else was more then happy to help! The rooms were great, and both our families had fabulous times! There's was more than enough activities for both children and adults! Pools were clean, slides were fun, drinks and food were delicious, and the staff and customer care was fantastic. I'm sad it's over. I want to do it all over again! My husband and I will definitely be visiting and continuing to make memories here with our family one day. Hey, maybe I can talk him into renewing our vows in a few years ;) thanks Bavarian inn for making us feel like family! Keep up the great work!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsashleyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mrs. Ashley H.,

Our staff had a wonderful time helping you and your husband create great memories on your wedding day! Your weather was gorgeous as were you! Your kind words towards Char will make her beam when they are shared with her publicly in a few minutes! Our staff love to hear the feedback provided by our guests! She may be calling you about the renewal vows party soon!

Thank you for the opportunity and we will be waiting to serve your family in each capacity as you think of them in the years to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. "Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years"
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel and rooms were very clean, in need of updating but comfortable. The water slides were a blast and indoor putt putt golf course was a lot of fun. The covered bridge is a great way to enter the hotel grounds and the water way in front is tranquil. We only visited two of the five pools and the water slides. The pool areas were clean and easy to get into and the life guards were friendly. The only thing that keeps it from being a 5 rating is the hotel is showing its age on the inside. We would stay here again but would not recommend breakfast or eating meals in the restaurant by the arcade.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamTrav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear FamTrav,

Thank you for your feedback on this site. So glad you enjoyed the amenities that you did take-in during your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you had some sort of disappointment with your experience in the Ratskeller restaurant for breakfast. Perhaps you will share specifics in your online evaluation that we email to all guests. We always want to learn what we can do to improve every guests stay.

When it comes to being outdated. We are in a perpetual updating mode. We have replaced all mattresses, tv's and many other amenities in the rooms as of late. We are working on bed spread and drapery changes currently. We have upgraded our free wireless internet in the building to newer technology that is penetrating the block wall building as well.

Our Bavarian theme is one thing that will not change though. So if the German / Austrian feel to the furniture is what causes it to fee outdated, this old world feel will stay the same.

Thank you again! Your thoughts and feelings are a gift to the owners and staff and are greatly appreciated! I am hoping that we have an opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I started going to Bavarian Inn when I was a little girl with my family and now I take my children there. My whole family still goes several times a year as a getaway from everyday life. We love the festivals that surround this hotel and all of the activities that they are apart of! I always recommend to others that this is an awesome place to go and an amazing hotel for all ages!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanim823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Lanim,

Wow... what an honor to have served you as a little girl at the Lodge and now you are bringing your young family! I am proud to have been at the Lodge since the beginning, when we broke ground in 1984 and opened in Feb. 1986. I and many others have been at the foundation of instilling FUN in the workplace that instills helping our guests have FUN with and around a happy staff! We will keep working hard to fulfill our mission - - "To Create Enjoyable Expeirences for our Guests, Ourselves and Each Other!"

I would love for you to ask for me at the Front Desk upon your next arrival so I could meet you and your family!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Bavarian Inn Lodge
"Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had mentioned on a previous review that my wife and I are fairly regular visitors to Frankenmuth and always stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. All of our previous (approximately two dozen) stays have been flawless. This time we checked in on Sunday, May 19 at around 4 p.m. We were greeted warmly and given the keys to our room. After hauling most of our luggage up to our King Riverview Room, we found the room had not been serviced from the previous guests. Their card keys were on the desk because our initial thought was that we had been given a room that guests were currently occupying. I called the front desk to let them know of our predicament and within minutes, two wonderful ladies from housekeeping arrived, determined immediately that there was no way the room could be promptly serviced and called the front desk to get us placed into another room. All the king riverviews were booked, so we were upgraded at no additional charge to a king jacuzzi which overlooked the parking lot. While we did not use the jacuzzi, the sofa in the room was very convenient and we only missed the Riverview for morning coffee. All in all, the quick, professional way those two ladies from housekeeping and the person at the front desk who had our new keys delivered to our new room showed grace under pressure. Again, sometimes adversity lets us see who can make decisions, how they are trained, their judgement and their empathy. A potentially difficult situation was resolved to our satisfaction and is just another example why we stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Philip M.,

Thank you for your detailed explanation of what went wrong on your recent stay and how you were pleased with the recovery of guest service. I am so sorry for the error of giving you keys to a dirty / vacant guestroom. There is no good explanation for this happening as both human intervention and technology are in place to stop this from happening.

I am soooo pleased to hear how our empowered staff solved the problem with an apology and acceptable solution instead of making you wait 30 minutes or more for the original room to be cleaned.

We appreciate your loyalty and years of visits to the Lodge. I hope to meet you on your next visit in person!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years... and counting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: $151 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing