We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Gemutlicheit' in Frankenmuth!!”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
“'Gemutlicheit' in Frankenmuth!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

In translation, 'gemutlicheit' is German for warmth, comfort, coziness and good natrure!! This will be found in great abundance at the Bavarian Inn and the Bavarian Inn Lodge.
From the always pleasant and helpful reservation folks to the 'open arms' greeting and smiles you receive from the gracious front desk crew, to the greetings and smiles as you make your way to your room from every staff memeber, it just sets the tone for your stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge!
If this is your fist visit, you will marvel at the cleanleness of the entire Bavarian Inn operation, the rest rooms appear to have been just cleaned and are fresh in aroma. All comon areas are just as well kept.
The restaurants, no matter which one you choose are a delight with a most pleasant 'old world' atmosphere from Tiny's Room to the Crest Room you'll find soemthing that will intrigue you. The food, service and reasonable pricing will 'blow you away'!!
Now for the Gift shops, all the items are of the uitmost in quality, the prices and variety will keep you coming back for more!
One visit to the Bavarian Inn and Lodge and you'll be hooked for life, there's something for everyone, the kids will love the water park and Dad and Mom will enjoy the pools and spas.
We can atest to all the foregoing as we have just completed our 17 visit to the Lodge in 1986!!
Lee and Lynn Hornack
St. Joseph, MI

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Lee and Lynn,

It was so wonderful to again see you just after Thanksgiving and sit and visit. It felt like a family reunion to me and I am proud to say I remember all of your stays with us over the years. Your kind words here are a beaming testament to our efforts to have a good, honest work ethic (like our German forefathers) and to treat our guests like long-missed family. You have been that to us and we are grateful for your every visit and your trust in our entire team!

God Bless and Fröhliche Weihnachten dear friends!

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,888
    500
    173
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,848
793
41
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent our 2nd wedding anniversary at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. I first went to Frankenmuth with my family in the 80s and wanted to start a tradition of going here once I got my own family started. Every stay seems better then the last and we always leave looking forward to a return trip. As times get tougher and the dollar gets harder to come by, its nice knowing their are still family ran business' that we can enjoy family vacations and "couples getaways" so close to home. Thanks for another great stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalamazootraveler877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear KalamazooTraveler,

We are honored to be a long standing tradition with you and are pleased you enjoy our family run business and our approach of acting like one big family that are trying to welcome you into our home. Our team takes such pride in serving you and our other guests and we try hard to also have FUN while we are all here with you.

We will keep a family friendly focus forever, promise!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family and extended family have been going to the Bavarian Inn for at least 15 years. It's a very cozy place to visit and everyone there is so friendly and treats you like family! It's a wonderful tradition to pass on to each generation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Rebhan,

Thank you for 15 years of visiting us at the Lodge and our FUN town of Frankenmuth. So honored to have earned your trust for this long and can't wait to meet you on your return visit! A Merry CHRISTmas to your entire family from all of us at the Bavarian Inn Lodge!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been going to Frankenmuth since I was little and now that I'm married my husband & I go a few times a year and we always stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. The hotel, as well as the town, is timeless. Each of the rooms has history to it including stories on the walls about the person the room was named for. We've eaten at Oma's several times and have always loved it. The rooms are clean with beautiful views of the river and covered bridge. We don't have kids yet we always have a great time in the family fun center! I turn back into a child when I'm there and actually got emotional when we checked out this past Monday. The decorations during the holidays are indescribable. The Bavarian Inn will be whatever you're looking for....romantic, fun, quiet, quality family time, etc.

Room Tip: In the summer a balcony river view is perfect. In the winter we loved the interior balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby7166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Toby7166:

What an honor to have hosted you personally since you were a child and now your husband is joining you in your 'couple life' together. So glad you are enjoying the amenities we have developed as well as our FUN community of Frankenmuth! Your eloquent words express what we are trying to promote to guests every day, but you say it even better!

I have worked for the Bavarian Inn Zehnder Family for 36 years and so enjoy working with all of our team members (1000+ with the Restaurant) to create enjoyable experiences for guests like you. I hope you will look me up on your next stay, I want to meet you! Merry CHRISTmas to you and your entire family!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay, it's a wonderful family atmosphere! We have been here with our children and just the two of us!!! Bavarian Inn Lodge has everything for a couples trip or a family trip! Wonderful staff from the front desk to housekeeping to wait staff! The food was amazing!!! Can't wait to return for another getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whirlpool suite with a balcony with the riverview! Absolutely perfect...even in win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Kristina T:

We appreciate your business as a couple and appreciate your trust in us to host your entire family as well! How gracious of you to explain your history with us and please believe, we will keep working hard to create enjoyable experiences for you for years to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been coming here for 16 years and it always puts us in the Christmas mood. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds are nice, the fun center keeps our pesky kids occupied and who can ask for more.

The food is great at the inn and they sometimes have live Christmas music.

Dont miss the Sunday brunch near the pool. They have great pianists and the food is awesome. The deserts are sinful and they have a breakfast station with fresh eggs to order.

We'll be back every year forever.

Room Tip: Avoid the family suites on the first floor with the parking lot view. There is a smoke area there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Al B.,

Wow... coming back at Christmas time for life!!! - We are so excited to hear this statement! I promise to share your post with our staff as it is an affirmation of "their" hard work and focus on creating enjoyable experiences. We are honored for the opportunity to host your family annually for 16 years already! I appreciate your point about the smoking post located about 30 feet away from the guest entrances. We do try to monitor that guests in this area in the evening are quiet and usually the wind is blowing away from the building as well.

Have a very Merry CHRISTmas and we look forward to hosting and (and hopefully MEETING you all) next Christmas Season!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited the Bavarian Inn Lodge this past weekend for the first time as an extended family. Our experience was great. The staff were all very helpful when we had special requests or needs. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, plenty of room for storing extra items for children. They were very clean and the hallways were quiet in the evening. Our children and grandchildren enjoyed the fun center where there were games and activities for all ages. The five pools were great and the two new waterslides were a lot of fun for our family. A final benefit is the location just across the covered bridge from mainstreet Frankenmuth. We will be back again next year for a most enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Our room on the North end, further from the elevators was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Evheide;

Hearing of three generations of family all enjoying each other at the lodge is the best review we could ask for! Thank you for staying with us and now planning on an annual return visit! So glad we exceeded your expectation and you enjoyed the new water slides! Merry CHRISTmas to your and your family and see you next year!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing