We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Fall getaway”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherdsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fall getaway”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It has become a new Fall tradition for us to ride to Frankenmuth and spend time just relaxing and having fun. The last two years we have stayed at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. The staff has been friendly and welcoming each time. They have bend over backwards to help us. We arrived early in the day this year and the front staff worked to get us into our room several hours before our checkin. The room is delightful and a good value for the money. We are already looking forward to coming back again and would wholeheartedly recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear John L.,

Thank you for traveling up from Kentucky to take in the Lodge and Frankenmuth! So pleased that you and your family enjoy your visit and our guestrooms and amenities. I hope to meet you and your family when you return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,819
    480
    168
    82
    59
See reviews for
1,796
772
39
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I travel for business. Yet I have never stayed at a site that truly treats you like family! I did not meet even one person who did not have a smile, and ask how they could help. When I requested something from Guest Services, the smiling face was at my door in less than 5 minutes! The food is wonderful, and the service made it taste even better. Rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds, refrigerator and a deck that lets you get outside should you choose. There are plenty of reasons to get out and walk - either around the grounds or downtown Frankenmuth. I cannot say enought about my stay here - just that it was one of the best I have ever had!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family, you may want to request a room close to the access to the Family C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Rose L.,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Lodge and sharing your story of being wow'ed by our staff. I will be sharing the details with our team. Your story will surely motivate them to deliver more of the same. I hope you will look me up when you return. Would love to meet you in person. I have been here over 35 years (since age 15) and will likely be here when you next return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I came here with my fiancé for our wedding and so we got one of the deluxe suites to stay in for three nights. As soon as we stepped in the room it smelled like smoke. The front desk said they can run an air deionizer which we knew wouldn't work.

They had one room available and it was a "mini suite", basically a slightly larger normal room. Otherwise this room was ok.

The staff handled the situation as best they could ( we got a discount for the smaller room) but I wish we had the bigger suite that we originally wanted for our wedding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipsterED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear KipsterED,

I am SO sorry that other guests were disrespectful in the use of our guestrooms and it caused you to smell smoke. Our staff did not recognize that there was an odor in the room so we failed in not addressing it. The law for all hotel rooms being non-smoking in Michigan is over two years old now and we charge guests $250 when we determine that they have smoked in the room and dryclean drapes, clean all bedding, clean carpet etc.

I am so sorry that you had this experience. The Ozone machine we use does in fact work very well in assisting with any type of moderate odor. Please do consider allowing any hotel to do this for you if you ever experience this type of situation again.

We appreciate your patronage and I'm glad you ended up having a great stay after you were moved.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staying at the Bavarian Inn is a happy experience, the staff are friendly and helpful and work as a team to really provide a first rate experience for their guests! We used a web-only offer that basically provided two nights for the price of one so it was a great value too!

While our room could have used some updating, the staff, the recreational facilities and the food service all shine and will bring smiles to your time at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. Play the arcade games, swim in the pools, walk the grounds, eat in the restaurants, shop the gift shops, play miniature golf, relax and enjoy it all! We did!

Room Tip: Even the parking lot view rooms have good views and were quiet. There is a lot of walking, this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Trippin Together,

Thanks for having FUN at the Lodge. Very much appreciate your sharing your experience with the world. Regarding updating, we have all new mattresses, a new soft and firm pillow system with 4 pillows on each bed, new dressers, LCD wall mounted TV's. Next we are working on new bed spreads and some draperies, but we are a Bavarian theme place, no plans for super modern. Plans instead are for "country German". Thanks so much for staying with us.


Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potterville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Bavarian Inn is the best place to stay, if you need to relax and shop a little and have a great meal this is the place...or bring the whole family and have a great time. Never run out of things to do. I took the grandkids and they had the best time in the kids fun area with all the games and pools. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tammy U,

So happy to hear you had a great time with your grandchildren at the Lodge. We focus on creating family memories and when grandparents are having fun with grandchildren... it doesn't get any better than this! We hope you can return during the Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Bavarian Inn for two nights to celebrate our one year anniversary. Our room was spectacular. The staff was very friendly. My husband enjoyed also. He even said that we would definitely be coming back. The only thing I recommend is updating a few things like the miniature golf course and maybe adding more of a selection to the menu at Oma's restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Michelle W.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind words about your stay. We are in fact in the planning stages of doing some remodeling with the miniature golf course. We are reworking the murals around it right now with stories relating to Willy the Dragon who lives with us in the Fun Center (in Willy's Kingdom). We have concept changes / plans for giving the holes a new look and some really fun new decorations & carpet. We will update you as these progress on our face book page.

Thank you for your thoughts and sharing here on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has friendly staff, exceptionally delicious food & a great assortment of goodies to take home with you from the gift shop. The room was clean and comfortable. Our room was located in the adult/courtyard area; third floor with window overlooking pool. The beds were double, extra long and extremely comfortable! Plenty of pillows too (4 for each bed; 2 firm & 2 soft). If you're not a Perk's Member, make sure you sign up... It only costs $10, but trust me, it'll pay for itself in the first trip (check in to Lodge).

This trip was with my mother-in-law to celebrate my birthday (let's just say I'm "29" again!). We stayed during the week (Wednesday & Thursday nights). We thoroughly enjoyed the adult pool/courtyard area. Since it was during the week we never had to share the pool with any other guests... it was like our own private pool & hot tub.

We enjoyed a few great rounds of mini golf (free to Perk's members on Wednesdays!). Then had a great pizza and played some of the arcade games in the fun center.

For breakfast we ate at Oma's... should be "Oh my" (as in delicious country / home style cooking).

Later in the day we enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Inn. Since we are Perks members, we had a coupon which upgraded our family style chicken dinner to include the 4 German meats FOR FREE!

Since I'm a Perk's member, I earned $40 during this trip... So we're already planning our next "girl's escape"! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _cloaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Cloaking,

It really sounds like you could be a tv spokesperson for our Bavarian Inn Perks Club. I helped develop the club in fall of 1999. We are proud to create rewards for frequent guests and get to know over 19,000 families better because of our Perks Club program. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and love changing the decor, programs and packages to lure you back frequently. I hope you will look me up personally upon your return visit.

Until then,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing