We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but only one visit thanks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place but only one visit thanks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is an "Ok" place. Guess it's good for families with the arcade in the lower floor. The room had two over sized single beds, we had to use both because there is no way two can sleep in the same bed, and we are quite small people. Nice grounds, walked the river.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Steve W.,

Thank you for your recent stay. I am sorry that you will not considering returning to the Lodge. Our beds are double beds that are extra long- meaning the same length of a queen or king bed. We commonly overnight 4 guests in a room. I do understand that some folks are use to King beds ans sleeping in a double-double bedded room is not the same. We do in fact offer King rooms as well! Thank you for staying with us. I hope you would consider returning and requesting a King if that fits your needs.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    476
    168
    82
    57
See reviews for
1,791
765
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel has a great staff,very good food,and a wonderful gift shop. The rooms are nice and quiet beds are frim but comfortable, a lot of hot water when needed. The game center is great for the kids, the pools are very nice. I love the adult only pool too!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfm116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jfm116,

Thank you so much for visiting us at the Bavarian Inn Lodge! So happy that you appreciate our attempts to offer both adult amenities such as the adult pool and whirlpool but also the Fun Center activities. WE very much appreciate your sharing your experience in this forum. We look forward to your next arrival!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on 10/17/2012. My husband & I have visited Frankenmuth before but never stayed at the Bavarian Inn Lodge until now. (We've previously stayed at that other indoor water park.) We're glad we stayed here. The Bavarian Inn Lodge is better suited for couples, in my opinion. That other indoor water park is more geared towards the little ones. We stayed in a whirlpool suite facing the river and had our own private balcony. It was beautiful weather out that day (78 degrees) so we left the balcony door open all day & night to hear the bells ring. There's a screened door so no need to worry about pests flying in. The room was clean, the bed was so comfy my husband wants one for our house. The whirlpool was fabulous with multiple settings and options to choose from. In my opinion, the best part of our bathroom was the shower! It had a rain head and 3 separate body sprays. Heaven! The staff was super friendly and there when you needed them. They disappeared quickly when you didn't need them. For breakfast I made a special request for the Reuben Egg Rolls as I had missed them the night before and was accomodated right away. Loved them! Thank you Cindy! The pools and hot tubs were delightful. The kid pool & hot tub were warmer/hotter than the waterfall pool & hot tub but we were there off season and didn't mind as we moved to the warmer pool quickly. We did not try the adult only pool. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and kept immaculate. The walking distance to the shops & downtown are a bonus. We'll definitely stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IberostarLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear IberstarLover,

We appreciate sharing your fun and relaxing experience at the Lodge here on Trip Advisor! We will share your kind review the appropriate teams. I too am very fond of the Reuben Egg Rolls and I just contacted Cindy, the Oma's Restaurant Supervisor and shared your story. She remembers you well and says... YOUR WELCOME!

We will keep working hard to be ready to serve again when you are ready to return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

for the most part hotel is beautifull staff is very nice and everything ia very clean no complaints there. . But the beds are very hard all 4 of us in thw room didnt slwep well at all i didnt even go to my meeting cuz i finally started to sleep. For the money beds should be way better..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkubiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mkubiak,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Lodge and your compliments towards staff and facilities. I am so sorry that your nights rest was not in fact restful! All of our mattresses are now so I apologize that you had problems on it. Anytime a guest is staying multiple nights and has challenges on the first night, please do not hesitate to contact us as we likely can help solve that solution. We have both pillowtop and all foam mattresses and can assist you to be assigned to the opposite type upon your next reservation.

We do greatly appreciate your business and are happy to coordinate this with you in the reservation process.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Bavarian Inn is an awesome place to take the family or just a couple. It has something for everyone - from great service to friendly staff to game rooms and pools. If that's not enough, it's within walking distance to the quaint town of Frankenmuth, MI.

The beds weren't the most comfortable I've slept on but everything else more than makes up for that little discomfort.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kytbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear KytBear,

Thank you for your recent and past stays at the Lodge! Glad you enjoy the facilities both as a couple and as a family. I am sorry that your mattress was not comfortable for you. All mattresses are new so I am surprised and also personally disappointed they were not perfect for your nights rest. We do inventory both pillowtop and all foam new mattresses. When you re-book, we can look up your room # and book you in a room with the opposite type of mattress for you to try. thanks again for your visit and patronage!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiance and I needed to get away for a couple of days and we decided to make the quick trip to Frankenmuth and stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. We stayed in a whirlpool suite and were pleased that the entire suite was spotless, the whirlpool tub in the room was relaxing and the king bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and inviting. And the food at the BAvarian Inn was incredible. We will definetly be going back.

Room Tip: A river view suite has a great balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mike G.,

Thank you for choosing the Bavarian Inn Lodge for your Frankenmuth Get-a-way. Our community is certainly known for a get-a-way experience. Glad you enoyed all that is Bavarian in our small company!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a township business trip and the first time in many years I had stayed at the Bavarian Lodge. I found the staff at the registration desk to be very friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. My room was very clean, neat and comfortable. I have stayed in much pricier hotels that were not as clean or comfortable. I had three meals while there, lunch, dinner and breakfast. I was pleased with the quality of the meals and felt they were fairly priced. Every venue I visited I was greeted by very pleasant helpful staff. I never felt like this was my first trip in years, I was made to feel like I visited frequently. I will return with my wife in the near future. One more point, when I went to bed it was unlike a lot of other hotels Bavarian Lodge is very sleep friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Roger C.,

Thank you for joining us during the Mi. Townships Fire Dept. Conference. We appreciate your kind words and repeat patronage. I will share your positive affirmations of the level of service with our staff members. So happy that you had a pleasant nights sleep as well! We look forward to welcoming back you and your wife!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing