We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vaca at Frankenmuth”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Stow, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Vaca at Frankenmuth”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have gone to Frankenmuth ever since we were kids. We now take our children and grandchildren to experience all the fun we had as kids. We always stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge and have enjoyed it each and every time. A great place to stay, clean fun and now even more exciting with the new water slide going in. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomy and a great place to stay with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopper529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Shopper 529:

Thank you so much for bringing so many generations of your family back to the Lodge to have fun! We are so proud that you do so! It is the ultimate thank you! And we are pleased to serve you!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,885
    499
    173
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,845
793
41
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Kids loved the pools, arcade, and putt putt. It was nice to be within waking distance of most of the shops and restaurants. The food available at the resort was wonderful.The staff was very nice. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecrowe98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear TheCrowe98,

We so appreciate your kind words on this site last year. Somehow responding to you slipped thru the cracks but we hope your family will continue your tradition of visits to Frankenmuth and the Lodge.

With sincere appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The comfort of our room was outstanding. If you've ever stayed in a hotel were you could hear guest above and beside you, then you know how hard it is to sleep. The rooms were quiet, peaceful, relaxing and comfortable. The pillows and linens were soothing and refreshing. The recreation for the entire family was a lot of fun! The fun center had arcade games for all ages, a putt-putt golf area, and a few pools and hot tubs to choose from. We are planning a return visit for our entire family, sons, wives, and grandchildren, when the new waterslides are completed! I would recommend a visit to the Bavarian Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the door of the tower. It was very quiet and there are elevators convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear ApGrandma,

First, my apology for not responding to your guest survey sooner. I have learned that some reviews don't appear immediately on the site and now learned I can go back quickly and see any posts that have not been responded to. So please excuse the gap-in-response!

Thank you for staying with us last August and sharing your great experience on this site! Our rooms are extra-ordinarily quiet due in part to cement block and concrete construction in many parts of the hotel. More recent construction styles will use all wood which resonates the sound of other areas. With that though, we also have staff monitoring the halls for over-anxious voices heading to or from parts of the hotel to their rooms.

We hope for an opportunity to serve your family again in the near future! Keep us posted on how we are doing on this site - when you next return!

With great appreciation!

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is decked out with decor from the old country. The place is huge - making walking around a necessity. The rooms were clean and quiet. The beds seemed lumpy and hard to sleep in. There are many pools and hot tubs with lots of chlorine - our eyes and skin were itching. There are many things to do here - karaoke, putt-putt golf, restaurants, video games, music, swimming, etc... They had an old car parked in front of the hotel which is cool. And we saw Ms. Michigan! The hotel is located in a great location near downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirekram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear NireKram,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing our kind words and suggestions! We are all under one roof and I agree with 360 rooms we are a rather large facility. You eluded to having to walk great distances. When you next return, please know that we have two Amigo Mobility electric chairs that can be rented in advance with your room reservations in the event you have limitations or a handicap in traveling the halls. We in fact allow you to rent the unit and take it off premise via the sidewalks to downtown Frankenmuth as well.

I am sorry that your bed was too firm. We have replaced all mattresses within the Lodge within the last 3 years. most of them are not even 2 years old yet. When you return in the future, you can ask our reservationists about a foam mattress versus a traditional spring mattress as we have two types in the hotel and they have each room number documented with what they offer.

We hope you will return again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downriver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had visited this past weekend staying from August 24th early morning to August 26th morning, we were very dissapointed with our stay this time. Our main dissapointment was the price, we paid over $400 dollars almost $500 just for two nights. We have been coming for over 15 years, usually staying twice a year and we also had recieved good deals sometimes staying an extra night. However this time, the i'd hate to say it, but it's not exactly worth the prince anymore. We stayed however because it was my birthday and we had never visited for my birthday before. We always stayed in one of two rooms that are on the main all and that are all the way down the hallway towards the back of the building's corner room that overlooks the back of the hotel (not the parking lot side). We also enjoyed the corner room. When we first arrived, our room wasn't ready yet which was fine because we were prepared for that so went to shopping and came back later. Upon entering room we imediately checked the cleanliness of the room as weel as lifted the sheets and breadspred to check the mattreses due to the overwhelming problem of bedbugs around the US. we were pleased to see that the sheet was no longer fitted to the mattress because it made it musch easier to check the mattresses ourselves. We were happy to see a table and chairs out on the balconey. The only housekeeping problem we found was at first that there was no extra roll of toliet paper and the roll that was out was like half left. We also ran into a problem later that night at almost midnight when we realized while turning the bedside lamp in the middle of the two beds on that there was something sticky all over the inside of the lamp shade which at first did freak us out that it was there. Upon finding it we imediately called housekeeping and the housekeeper who was very polite and helpful brought up a new shade, even the new shade was smaller than the normal size for the lamp we were very happy that our call was responded to.

Overall the staff was very nice, though we did find that the lady who was working in the perksclub area early friday mid-afternoon seemed like she didn't want to be bothered when we went to get another perks club card for myself. We also had some certificates that had been sent to us but was expired, but we didn't notice because the certificates before never had any dates. The lady said no she couldn't help us because they were expired and have had dates for almost 5 to 6 years, she said it as if we were just botheirng her. Now I know they HAVE NOT had dates for almost 5 to 6 years because our last visit was about 2 years ago and the ones we used had no dates at all. The lady just said that there was nothing she could do for us, we had 60 dollars worth in certificates, then she told us we could also use an new ones online. Now we were glad she at least told us that much because no one EVER told us that we could use them for the online shops.

Our next dissapointment was arcade, growing up i had always spend almost the entire time in the arcade, spending close to 200 dollars almost every visit which would be like 400 dollars a year since we used to visit twice a year. the prizes ticked prices had always been worth it before now, the number of tickets needed is just riduculous. For example, this past time they had a large dragon for 11,000 tickets. the last time i was here i had about 30,000 tickets, i got a snake which was the same size as that dragon for only about 4,000 tickets, plust a LARGE scooby-doo, plus another LARGE dragon, plus a smaller dragon, plus two small plushies, plus a LARGE stuffed lion and still had about 8,000 tickets left. This time i paid 6,000 tickets just for a (4500) large-medium sonic (Which even though ticked price was high was still really happy to get, because i check every day i was there to see if it was out yet and then this morning the really nice gentleman went to the back to bring it out for me since i had been checking so much for it, it made my birthday better.) and smaller version of the 11,000 dragon for 1,600 (which wasn't bad at all). I have noticed in all the times i've come that the prizes are really starting to go downhill even though they do get some good ones once in awhile. but now the ticked prices...are just going higher. And i was really shocked to find that the number of tokens to place most of the games were now anywhere from 2 to 4, when it used to be just 1 for almost all the games.

Oma's and Ratskellar

Oma's breakfast is wonderful and well worth the price. The food is much better then even the bavarian resturant which was a BIG dissapointment. The Ratskellar was awesome, their grilled chicken sandwich is better then any i've ever tasted and i would also eat there before the bavarian resturant. The only bad part was when went down there it was about 2 something friday, there was no one around in the ratskellar, we had to get help from the lady at the giftshop to call over and get some service. Then the lady that was at the ratskellar seemed like we were being a big bother, now i understand they were getting ready for a party later that evening....but that's no excuse, she could have been a little more polite. But the food was indeed awesome.

The courtyard pool

We visited the courtyard late friday night and were amazed to find it very quiet and relaxing because the last time we had visited there was lot teens (people that seem anywhere from 18 to 23) making lots of racket and noise and splashing about. I was very happy to find that the age was 21 for entering the courtyard pool and whirlpool now.

Over-all

All-all the hotel experince was nice but the price is high, we just hope that they won't sky-rocket the price after they add on the waterslide to the kiddie pool or if they do they make it so that you have to pay a seperate cost to do the waterslide area. Because otherwise we will be finding other places to stay in the future, though we preferred the bavarian Inn since we have been coming for over 15 years, but we're unsure at this point. We also left some of this same comments on our comment card which we gave the clerk when checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS_downriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear MS_Downriver,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your birthday weekend this year. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest extent that you could... primarily due to our room rates. On the August weekends, we do not have any special discounts or offers as this is the peak of summer travel. In looking at your account, I saw you last stayed in 2009 on a Halloween weekend special at $65.00 / night on a two night package. But in Oct. of 2008 and Oct. of 2007, you stayed in weekends at $185./night and $180. / night respectively. I am pleased that you could take advantage of the Halloween events more recently, but to have only raised rates $10.00 over a four year period of time seems reasonable to me. I am sorry you don't agree.

We do everything in our power to keep rates competitive. If we don't hundreds of guests each week would stay elsewhere. We often offer the lowest rates in our Community because we have double and triple the rooms available of every other hotel in town.

I am sorry for the lack of enthusiasm by a Perks staff member you experienced. There is never a good reason for poor guest service. I do have to affirm though, that we announced to all Perks members back in 2005 that we were beginning to have a 18 month expiration on Perks Certificates but would accept blank certificates throughout 2006 only. These dates are accurate as I have been a leader in the Loyalty Club since inception back in 1999. We are actually proud of the 18 month life of our loyalty club certificates as it is unprecedented in the independent resort world to have them extended this long.

Thank you for the details you shared regarding the video games. We here have always had to be competitive in the cost / play ( 1 versus 2 versus 3 tokens, etc.). I met with Kim Watson the manager over the redemption area for the past 12 years. First, I can affirm, there has never been a time since 1986 that all or even 30% of our games were only one token. The play time and payout of tickets on redemption all correlate very carefully to the upfront cost of the game. We study other properties locally and around the state as we travel. We are confident that our payout in tickets for games significantly exceeds our competitors.

I am please to see that a staff member listened to your request and pulled the Sonic item out of the incoming arrivals for you before they were ready. These type of licensed plush toys are dramatically higher in cost than a Snake or Dragon (300% more) thus the ticket redemption cost is higher. I am glad you still enjoyed it. Our payout in tickets is the same as it has always been. I am sorry for the confusion on changes over the years.

Finally, I am sorry for the lack of service in the Ratskeller at a slow time. I suspect they were working on fudge production and am sorry for their not being attentive. Greg Mitchell, the Ratskeller Manager is sharing this example at the upcoming staff meeting as an example to improve in the department.

Thank you so much for your frequent patronage. I hope you continue to take advantage of the numerous Perks Club Rates. We will not "jack up" rates because of adding indoor slides. We would rather see occupancy go up 20% or more than to raise rates and not see an increase in visits. That said, if you visited on Perks Rates on a Sunday last year and come on a Friday the next year, rates will be different. So take advantage of all the options we offer you. Remember, on the $432.00 room rate you paid out this year, you received $40.00 in Perks Certificates already that are good for 19 months!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Bavarian Inn is a great stay for a family, with a quaint (but large) hotel with beautiful spreading grounds all around it. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. The hotel has numerous pools which are only going to get better with the new water slides coming later this year. There is a fun game center with mini-golf and plenty of video games for kids. Plenty of fun shopping right around the hotel, and almost everything is within easy walking distance. The German theme makes this a fun and unique getaway, and DO NOT miss the amazing chicken dinner available at Zehnder's restaurant or the Bavarian Inn's restaurant, you will not be disappointed by this old time themed feast!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the River View rooms with the green lawn sloping down to the river just outside our windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Andy G.,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Bavarian Inn Lodge and Restaurant as well as Zehnder's Restaurant where our roots originated nearly 60 years ago! The 2nd, 3rd and 4th generation family members are proud to interact with and create family memories with our guests and share our Bavarian Heritage with our guests. We thank you for staying with us and hope you can return soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great place. Tons to do and both the hotel staff and people of frankenmuth were fabulous. We could walk to most places of interest and the scenery was beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Whibbsy,

Just realized we did not respond to your August 12th review 2012 and want to thank you for your kind words on this site and your promise to return. It is the finest form of flattery any hotel can experience. WE hope to be a part of your future tradition and hear from you again on this site!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing