We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bavarian Inn Lodge-Home away from Home"”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stay at the Bavarian Inn 2-3 times per year usually for 2-3 days at a time. It is always a great time. There is always something going on in the town & the hotel. The basement of the hotel is a complete fun center, video games, mini golf, swimming pools, bar/grill. It is a place where the whole family can have a good time-children to adults. We always visit the Riverview Plaza to make our trip complete. It is just through the parking lot and has many unique shops.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, I would recommend the fun center floor. Almost everything you wa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Brian H.,

Thank you so very much for your kind words and your loyalty to visiting the Bavarian Inn Lodge and the entire community of Frankenmuth! We do not take your loyalty for granted and will work hard to assist you and all our guests in creating family memories together as you return in the future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,720)
There are newer reviews for Bavarian Inn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,228 - 3,234 of 3,720 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a first visit to this area; the occasion was a family reunion. The staff was simply wonderful and very helpful. We found all aspects of the Inn to be extremely clean. This is not an easy thing to do with the volume of guests, especially with many children at the Inn. The arcade area, cafe, adjoining pools, and bathrooms were always spotless; we were there at various times of the day and was impressed each time. A great time was had by all both young and old!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Terrie S.,

Thank you for being a part of a larger family reunion at the Lodge. We love to be a part of families gathering together for special memories and appreciate your entire families business and choice of staying with us. Your kind words about the cleanliness will be shared with the staff in housekeeping. We are proud of their efforts and appreciate that they are being recognized by you. I hope you can visit alone, or with your reunion again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spending 5 nights at the Bavarian Inn was a great experience. The room had a wrap around glass and screen balcony overlooking the Cass River. The beds were very comforttable and welcoming after a day of shopping, walking around the beautiful town and attending the National antique fire engine muster at the gorgeous park. The breakfast buffet at the Inn was very good. The Lorelei Lounge (outside) was a breath of fresh air and a great place for an evening drink while listening to the singer. Our banquet had the best food we've ever had at a banquet. The staff and facilities were top notch. This is a great destination for a couple, a family (5 indoor pools) or a large group. The entire experience was memorable, relaxing, and fun.

Room Tip: Room 1439 had the largest wrap around balcony with windows and screens overlooking the Cass River an...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Linda J.,

It was a pleasure serving you and the other Fire Muster delegates and your beautiful fire trucks were a thrill to spectators all over Frankenmuth. So glad you enjoyed the Schnitzelbank Bier Garten and your room. We hope you can stay with us again when the event returns... or perhaps sooner!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Well I'm a pessimist so I'll start with the bad. Prices are ridiculous. Staff isn't too helpful. Not outright rude but just "doing their job". I really hate (pet peeve) there is no free coffee in the lobby Coffee is super cheap but you have to go in overpriced gift shop & pay $3 for it. Or make it yourself in the room, but then you can't leave because they don't give you "to go" cups. The river view which we payed extra for sucked. They were doing construction yet did not lower the price to reflect that. You had tiny outdoor patio but you had your neighbor so close you could kiss him. Walls thin heard guy next door snoring loudly. Their "perks club" really doesn't give you that much considering how much you spend there. Plus no free breakfast. There nothing is free. Oma's the restaurant serves excellent, delicious breakfast -which costs money. $400 for 2 nights not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Christine414:

I'm so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. I am not aware of any 350+ room hotels who place complimentary coffee in their lobbies. With over 1,000 guests in house it would be awkward & extremely difficult to provide nice service to guests. Instead we invest over $100,000 a year to provide complimentary coffee in all guestrooms year round. We provide china coffee cups, which you are welcome to carry to the Fun Center or lobbies if you wish. Most guests perceive this as a higher level of service, but I appreciate your comment about leaving with the coffee. We can evaluate that process!

The coffee provided in Martha's Gift Shop provides a vast variety of coffee products (latte's, espressos, flavored coffees, etc.) Guests typically choose this option as they prefer it when on vacation as a treat or they are accustomed to higher level drinks.

We are in fact under construction with two new water slides opening in about 3 months, but we just started. Since this is anonymous, I am not sure of the exact location of your room. Please contact me if you were not provided the future discount offer to experience the waterslides. At the time of your stay, we had just began removing the external corner of the building where a tower will be built. I am very sorry that this affected your view of the river.

I am very disappointed that you felt the perks club does not offer a great value. We provide a 10% return value for dollars spend on all dining, shopping, and lodging. I know of no hotel / resort that has a 10% reward. There are many other benefits of the club, but this site does not allow the promotion of a property on this site.

Finally, I must beg to differ, there are so many amenities included (free?) that you don't experience elsewhere. Since you are specifically disappointed in there being nothing for free, I hope this site allows the explanation and response to your specific complaine. The use of 3 indoor pools; 3 whirlpools; exercise room; children's village; ping-pong tables; board games signed out from Michael's Gift Shop; yard games in fair weather in the front lawn of the Lodge; nightly live entertainment; family karaoke in the Fun Center's Ratskeller Restaurant. Also Free shuttle service between the Lodge, Frankenmuth River Place Shops and Bavarian Inn Restaurant which is downtown Frankenmuth. We work hard to provide a variety of services and amenities that are comparable or better than most alternatives that are very family focused. I am sorry if they do not meet your needs.

Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss particulars in more detail or if I can receive more clarity regarding your circumstances.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
jimengel@bavarianinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family is spread out and selected Frakenmuth as a convenient getaway for everyone. We picked the Bavarian Inn because of the decor and amenities. Crossing the covered bridge to seeing the awesome architecture of the hotel took us away from daily life to another world - Bavaria! We received great service, enjoyed great meals and loved the convenience of adventuring town on foot. The variety of shops were fun to experience. The weekend attractions added more to an already fabulous time. We loved the escape that is now wonderful memories!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Cass River is breath-taking!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear TerrieP,

Thank you kindly for sharing your passion for our theme and location on the river in downtown Frankenmuth. We too are very proud of our entry and the now 33 year old wooden covered bridge that you cross to arrive at the Lodge. We hope to become a tradition with your family!


Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really liked this hotel, older hotel but lots of charm, many
amenities, good location and great food. Rooms were
cute, clean with comfortable bedding. Lots of
fun things to do, we just needed more time to visit. Great staff!

Room Tip: Plan on spending an extra day to enjoy all the amenities, and location.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisgood27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Lifeisgood,

Thank you kindly for enjoying the "cuteness" of the Lodge. We hope we teased you with so much to do that you can, in fact, plan more time away with us when you return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently spent one evening at the Bavarian Inn with my two youngest boys, 13 and 11 years old. I love that the inn is in walking distance to everything in Frankenmuth. The grounds were beautiful. My kids loved the fun center. There were tons of games. They enjoyed the two pools that were open. Two of the pools were closed to add slides, but they enjoyed the waterfall pool that was open. I would love to go back with my entire family soon. Can't wait for the slides to open.

Room Tip: I used a coupon from the Entertainment Book that saved me $40 on my room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Rhonda S,

Thank you for sharing the Lodge with your 11 and 13 year old. We love being just accrossed the covered bride from downtown and glad you enjoyed that convenience. I would agree the grounds were exceptional this year. Even though it has been a dry season, we have been "green" by using river water to irrigate with. The flower boxes have automated irrigation as well - especially all the ones up high!

We are in great anticipation of the slides too! Hope you can see them soon after they open around Thanksgiving time!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#3 of 8 in Frankenmuth
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: $178 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing