We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Bavaria - Michigan Style.”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Taste of Bavaria - Michigan Style.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We rented two rooms. I took my parents there for an overdue Christmas present. The location of the Bavarian Inn Lodge could not be better. The check-in was quick and friendly. The rooms are spacious and decorated in a manner that tells some history about the folks who settled the Frankenmuth area. There were just a couple of things that brought my rating down. For the amount of money that we paid, the toiletries were subpar. There was just tiny bar of soap that my husband broke before I even had a chance to use it. Then I even broke it again. Also, the door to the balcony in my parent's room was very difficult to open. We even discussed it being a fire hazard. To be fair though, we did not complain or bring it to the attention of the front desk (although I would think that a maid would notice it needing repair.)

In the morning we had breakfast at Oma's. It was tasty and I highly recommend it. We also had dinner at the Bavarian Inn Restaurant which was the chicken served family style. The service and food both were very good.

Room Tip: We chose a meadow view room with a king bed and balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear SCChickman:

Thank you for your muti-generational "Christmas Present" visit to the Lodge. So happy you joined us and had a great stay. Sorry you had limited soap in your rooms. I have never heard of a trend of braking soap so I have shared this concern with housekeeping to see if we have a product quality problem. Please never hesitate to ask for more soap in any hotel if you need it.

Since these evaluation sites are anonymous, I will attempt to determine what room had problems with the external door based on the fact that you visited from South Carolina. We will work on resolving the door that must have a loose hinge or door jam problem if it is not opening easily. It will be an easy fix.

Thanks again! Hope we make your Christmas list again next year!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,865
    489
    172
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,828
785
40
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My extended family went to Bavarian Inn for the 4th of July so rate wise, it's not the best during this busy time. They have several indoor pools, an entire floor of arcades, pool, and what not. Think of Dave and Buster. all in one floor. The floor above it is all restaurants. gift shops, etc. 2nd floor and up are the rooms, Very quite actually.

Within walking distance got to check out the covered bridge, the glockenspiel which is an experience anybody should have. The town is decorated and built so it's resembling the Bavarian region of Germany. Pretty cool. Parking is free, and plenty. Wifi included but depends on your room, can be weak. Wish they have cord for broadband if the wifi is weak in the room. One suggestion for management is to put a wall that divide game area from the indoor pool downstairs. Didn't enjoy playing for a long time smelling chlorine in the air. Oh they have awesome putput golf indoor too.

Seriously, any family should bring their kids and vacation here for a few days. It's like Great wolf lodge meets dave and buster and bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap052108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear ap052108:

Thank you sooooo much for staying with us during our Independence day celebrations in Frankenmuth! Thank you for expressing your joy as well as your constructive suggestions for improvement.

Regarding the pool smell by our games, we specifically created the Lodge fun center to combine water play and dry play activities all intermingled. This gives a very unique water park like experience but one that allows grandparents to be wtih the children but not in a area where it is all waterplay with 84 degree air. Here they can watch a Tiger's baseball game and be near the pool, or play putt-putt with the kids but others are in the adjacent pool.

When we built the fun center this way, we also engineered the HVAC and circulation systems to accommodate that. We did expressly have some challenges with HVAC equipment in various areas of the fun center with this intense heat and had to call in outside vendors to help repair various units. So sorry for that.

Regarding the wifi, we are not aware of specific rooms that have a weak signal. We have learned that laptops pick up signal much easier than smart phones and tablets as they have much smaller devices (antennas perhaps) to capture signal. We will definitely monitor this and see if we can audit the signal looking for weak spots.

Hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The amenities tailored to the whole family- ranging in age from age 4 to age 60!!!!

Room Tip: We had the country view...it was beautiful. I would make sure you do not have a view of the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Jill:

Thanks for bringing what appears to be at least 3 generations of family to the Bavarian Inn Lodge. We so enjoy seeing families create mini-family reunions at the Lodge. We estimate that you are well over 10,000 mini-reunions that happen with family each year! Hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great! Would recommend to anyone!
Or family went for a weekend getaway, and it was a wonderful place for a family
The staff was great, very friendly. Very clean, rooms were great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryoussefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Ryoussefi,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world here and your referrals to family and friends. We look forward to serving those who are important to you in your life. Thanks again for visiting us!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been staying at the Bavarian Inn Lodge almost every summer for many many years. It is probably the most fun hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. It is GREAT for kids. There is a huge game room (HUGE!), mini golf, 3 pools and much more. It's got all the charm of Frankenmuth and the staff is very friendly. All the restaurants in the hotel have great food as well. Overall I would recommend the Bavarian Inn Lodge to anyone staying in Frankenmuth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for our frequent visits from Wisconcin to Michgan's Little Bavaria and the Lodge. So happy to see that we bring "FUN" to your family when you stay here. Your kind words will be shared with the staff. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to helping create more family "fun" memories in the years to come for your family!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Let me just say this the lodge is hands down one of the best places to stay in Frankenmuth. I stay at the lodge all most every month and have stayed in many different rooms and boy do I love the comfort and feel like I am at home. The staff is great; I have gotten to know everyone I think in the past several years from staying at the lodge. I often call this my home away from home. The rooms have been updated with new flat screen TV's and beds adding to the comfort of the stay. The pools are always very clean due to maintance doing a great job, and housekeeping goes above and beyond making every guest room look good. Front desk staff does a great job with check in and everyone is makes your stay more enjoyable. Great staff and hotel hands down. Check out Oma's restaurant for great food along with nightly entertainment in both lounges. With 5 indoor pools and game rooms it is the place to bring the whole entire family. From staying at the lodge so often I feel like they are a part of my extended family. Thank you for all you do and keep up the great work.

Mike Greve
&
Family

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel is good. Love the suites on the 3rd floor phase 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Mike:

Thanks for your very kind words. We have appreciated your family for visiting us for over 25 years now! Your the greatest!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Families will find this place has everything you need for all ages. The Inn has great pools and play area, arcade, view of Cass river and, outdoor landscape. The restaurants are comfortable and offer variety of foods and drinks. Kid friendly makes it ideal to take our grandkids. It is well run and the Perks club special rataes makes it affordable for income strapped seniors like us.

Room Tip: The view of the Cass river is beautiful. Many sea gulls fly in front of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Frank J:

Thanks for bringing multiple generations along to the Lodge and enjoying time with the grandchildren. So glad you are enjoying the many benefits of the Perks Club. Hope you are taking advantage of the free chicken dinner at the restaurant in the month of your birthday! Thanks for you kind words and patronage.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing