We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

When you Check into the Bavarian Inn Lodge, you are literally surrounded by an Authentic looking carpeted lobby with Christmas wreathes(believe it or not) a wood front desk, a purple couch, a store next door, pamphlet stand a grandfather clock and other neat things. the rooms are very nice and clean. most of them are standard; TV, clock, AC/heating unit, shower, toilet, coffee maker and microwave. On the other hand, suites are if you will more upscale with an IN ROOM jacuzzi and other neater features. There's great stuff for all agest at the lodge including. 5 indoor pools, a children's center which includes a pool for kids, a VERY hot whirlpool for mom and dad, a jungle gym-type structure. Willy's Miniature Golf, and an arcade. Two gift shops are in the hotel outside the Miniature golf area; Martha's Gift Shop and Michael's Gifts and Treasures(which you can rent mini golf equipment at). For food in the hotel, go to Oma's(German=Grandma's) Restaurant. You wont starve, plus outside the hotel, take the shuttle down to the Bavarian Inn Restaurant with live Accordion playing or go literally across the street to Zhenders Famous Chicken Dinners. Zhenders believe it or not has a supermarket that's literally in the basement. if you adults are a big beer lover, then you've certainly came to the right place. Trust me, you wont miss getting a taste of beer in Frankenmuth. Shopping is so easy, just drive yourself or take the shuttle. The castle shops are literally underneath the Bavarian Inn Restaurant. They have the "Doll And Toy Shop" shop, Court Jester's Cafe and other neat shops. They even have 2 large wooden nutcrackers and a large checker board table. What's not to like about the hotel and for that matter, downtown Frankenmuth. Why not celebrate that special day at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. They will host birthdays and weddings. In some of the restaurants, you can even get a special discount I believe. That's my review and I hope i've helped you at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REVIEWS10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for your in-depth overview of your experience at the Lodge. We appreciate your repeated visits and enjoy seeing your passion for all the Bavarian Inn Zehnder family and our team enjoy building every day - enjoyable experiences!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, COO / G.M.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,590 - 3,596 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

Room smelled bad. Housekeeper came in at 10:00 Am while I was sleeping. They double charged me for my room. I will NEVER stay here again. I came here for a Wedding and the "President" of the Lodge was one of the Most Rudest people I have EVER met.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank Marionsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear MarionSprings,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

I am very sorry for the challenges you experienced with your stay back in 2011. There is never an excuse for a poor smelling room. I would hope that the double charge to your guestroom was corrected at check out but I'm sorry this still inconvenienced you. I am perplexed at what the Owner of the company said or did to come accross rude. She is normally a very positive, upbeat and friendly person. She meets tens of thousands of guests each year and I have never heard this statement from a guest before. So I apologize on her behalf for whatever had happened.

We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had an amazing time staying at the Bavarian Inn, there was plenty to do and see. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean and neat. The food was excellent. Im so glad we stayed there and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, it was a nice get a way for a few days!

Room Tip: I chose the river side view and Im glad I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_mayrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear E. Mayrand,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding over two years later.

That said, Thank You so much for your review and king words. We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

When we first arrived we were greeted by a woman named Deborah at the front desk. She was so nice to us. First impressions are important. The hotel was great and the pools were relaxing. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay and kind compliments about Deborah and our Front Desk. She is clearly a jewel of this department and was tickled to have "made your day". We hope you can return soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. / GM
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Bavarian Inn Lodge in Frankenmuth is a treasure! This was our second stay in less than a year because we enjoyed the first so much. The front desk supplied us with a list of downtown happenings and made sure we felt welcome. Yes, the rooms are a bit outdated, but they are very clean and quiet so it does not detract from the stay at all. We did not hear a single guest noise from another room during either of our stays and the airconditioner made no noise. I recommend a balcony room for quiet mornings with coffee. Ours didn't have a view, but it was still very nice to stretch out. The mini-fridge is plenty big to pack your own breakfast and store your leftover chicken dinners.

Downstairs, the kids, and dare i say many adults, had a blast in the game room. It was like chuck e cheese but better! My husband and I were completely addicted to Deal or No Deal game. A game of mini-golf was followed by an extra large draft from the Ratskeller restaurant and swimming in one of the fabulous family pools and hot tubs.

The price of this hotel is very reasonable considering the entertainment value on site. Start saving your quarters for the game room. You will be glad you did!

Room Tip: Get the Bavarian Inn emails for special updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungabunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Hungabunga,


First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

That said, Thank You so much for your review and king words. We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

In no way is it worth the money to stay at the hotel or eat at the restaurant. It is terribly overpriced and nothing special. Rooms are outdated. Restaurant chicken dinner is very bland and plain tasting. I was so disappointed and felt terrible that my mother spent the amount of money she did trying to give us a special weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank CLBToledo_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay earlier this month. We have made many significant ongoing investments in our guestrooms with all new mattresses & large flat screen LCD TV's with wall mounts. We do have a Bavarian theme to the furniture with a blonde / pine color scheme and European styled draperies and spreads. I apologize if this made it feel dated.

I am very saddened to hear you did not enjoy the chicken. We receive continuous praise on our Bavarian Inn chicken & would love to hear from you personally as I feel something must have gone wrong. Please contact me directly to discuss this personally so we can make it right!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. / GM
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was at first reluctant to book a room at the Bavarian Inn because I thought it had the appeal of a kids palace and not a place for adults. This assumption was so wrong! We were very happy to find that our room options included a room that went directly to the "adult pool." Also, the family fun center has games that are appealing to adults and children alike. Our whole experience was excellent..from the service, to the room, and to top it all off, we signed up for the perks club the day of our arrival and cut our room cost almost in half! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiyapapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Hiyapapaya,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

That said, Thank You so much for your review and king words. We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: $151 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing