We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but that's about the only thing good about it.”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Guest rooms seriously need some overhaul.

- HVAC unit was way too loud. You can hear/feel other room's unit rumbling while you are on your bed. It also mean that for the one in your room, it will be too much. Especially if you're on the bed closer to it.

- The room was stuffy. Had to leave the window open for a couple of hours.

- The night we stayed, fire alarm went off 3-4 times! It was only the first time that the Hotel made an announcement that it was false alarm and everything was fine and dandy. -- On consecutive false alarms, they didn't even bother to make another announcement OR ANSWER YOUR PHONE! So you never know what's happening. This is dangerous.

- Soundproofing is bad. Clientèle aren't not so good. At 4 in the morning, drunk people were yelling in the hallway, banging doors, eating chips or whatever the felt like to do.

This is and old "charming" hotel. It gives you a feeling of Bavaria or whatever, but you can just stop by, take some pics and leave. Stay in other places where you will most likely get a better sleep.

I tried wifi service in many establishments in Frankenmuth. They all appear to be served by a single provider, and they were all slow. To give Bavarian Inn some credit, Bavarian Inn wifi access, while not super fast, is significantly better comparing to all those other places.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mda1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for both your criticisms as well as your compliments regarding your stay during the World Expo of Beer event in Frankenmuth. I apologize for the noise complaints and fire alarm problem that occurred during your stay. That particular night was a very difficult night with multiple additional managers trying to control the sleeping environment with guests who took advantage of the WEB event listed above. We investigated the alarm situation and our procedures to avoid a repeat of the false alarms that occurred when trying to reset the systems. We would have sounded additional pages if there had been a real emergency and implemented our evacuation plan. Fortunately, there was no emergency.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, GM / COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,582 - 3,588 of 3,785 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Our window broke so it stayed open ALL NIGHT the fire alarm kept going off at 11pm and they wouldn't tell us what happened our tv doesn't work and the guy never came back to help our heating and cooling doesn't work it fell OFF the wall. AWFUL never coming back

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxforever15xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Forever,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

That said, I am so very sorry for so many things that went wrong with your stay. It is almost uncanny that so many things could go wrong at once. I suspect the fire alarm problem that kept tripping caused my maintenance team from neglecting the thermostat problem. I make no excuses but assure you that we don't have these kind of problems separately happen, yet alone to any one guest. Hundreds of reviews since you will attest to that.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and sharing your constructive criticism on this site.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Bavarian Inn Lodge is by far the best in town. I've only stayed there twice, but I love this place. The first time I visited this fine establishment was for our 1st anniversary; we got a suite that was part of the romantic package that was offered with tons of extras. The second time we stayed there, we just rolled into town without any reservations and they were more than happy to accommodate us. My daughter had a blast. There are soo many things for kids to do there.

It's a way better value than Zehnders which only has the waterpark any a tiny arcade, but they charge alot more for less to do.

I could go on and on about all the great things about the Bavarian Inn, but take my advice and give them a try. Make sure to sign up for their Perks Club too. Awesome !!!!

P.s. The management and staff are the friendliest people I've ever met. I also like how the manager personally replies to reviews on tripadvisor, whether it's a positive or negative review. This, by far, shows that this establishment really cares about their customers and their satisfaction. Keep up the great work guys !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonroeMIcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Monroe,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later. I am even more embarassed as I see you complimented ME on responding to reviews and then yours didn't show up right away and I didn't know it!!! So sorry!!!

That said, Thank You so much for your review and king words. We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have been staying at the Bavarian Inn twice a year for the last five years. We have never had an issue with the Lodge. The staff has always been very friendly and accomodating. Our rooms have always been clean. In fact, each time we are there, we comment on how immaculate the entire place is. Our children talk about our visits well after we are gone and are always look forward to returning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially to those with small children.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear TheJudge,


First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

That said, Thank You so much for your review and king words. We have made significant strides in replacing mattresses, adding two water slides, remodeling in most of our guestrooms, adding a four pillow (soft / firm) pillow sets to every bed and so much more.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked quite a few rooms for my daughter's wedding. Her room was supposedly the "honeymoon suite" and it was not very nice..esp for the price. She kindly asked for a room change before the other guests and the weekend arrived. The manager was curt and not understanding and needless to say it wasn't changed. I believe this is inpart due to poor reservation services. I was on hold and trnsferred at least 3 times every time I called and she said that a peerson not normally taking reservations booked her room. My sis ter and herhusband needed a handicap room. She got one...on the second floor!! Not good if there is a fire!
We also met several other people there that were equally dissatisfied with their rooms.

Room Tip: better hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knitngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your displeasure with the room types received and offered within your room block. I am sorry that you were treated in any manner other than hospitable. There is no reason to be short or curt with a person who is disappointed. Unfortunately, I have not been able to identify the manager or people involved. Usually our sales manager would arrange wedding rooms. No one in group sales is aware of any disappointed bride with our suites. My sincere apology and if you care to contact me directly to discuss I would greatly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, GM / COO
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I went to this hotel with high expectations. The room was small, furniture all crowded down by the window. The bathroom was not big enough for a flea. The room was not clean behind the furniture. The temperature control could not be adjusted.
The screen was coming off of the window. The walls in the hallways were scruffed.
For all their bragging, it was not what I pictured. The location of our room was at the end and the balcony rooms could see into our rooms. I have been to much finer hotels than this. I wrote a e-mail, said they would forward my remarks to the management, have not heard a word. Also, I left a book there and I called twice and have not received any response. I like amenties and I did not have any. They need to spruce up this motel. Also, the staff never asked on check out if everything was okay or if I had a nice stay. Well oiled machine made to make money. Also, if you book from the hotels site, the money is taken immediately. They also charge 25.00 for cancellation fees. If going to this motel do not book from their site go to Orbitz or Travelocity. My room number was 218. The grounds were beautiful and Omas restaurant was a nice experience.
Cheryl Boyle
Sharon Goemaere

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elephant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Elephant42,

First, my apology for the very late response to your review of the Bavarian Inn Lodge from 2011. We learned of a new tool that helps you see reviews you have not responded to, so I am responding nearly two years later.

That said, I am so sorry for the problems you had back in April, 2011. There is no excused for an unclean room or a screen not being attached properly. Regarding the bathroom, our owner, also a women decided she wanted the vanities placed outside of the toilet/shower area and stands firm that she made the right decision so the mirror is not fogged up when one person is showering and another wants to put on make-up or shave.

We have made extensive changes to the Lodge since your stay and hope you may reconsider a return visit. Our cancellation fee still stands but we do allow guests to reschedule a date well into the future to avoid the fee. We simply had to implement this policy due to hundreds and hundreds of people holding rooms throughout a year an cancelling them last minute then they sat empty. That hurt the Lodge financially, but it also hurt the people turned away who were not allowed to book that room. This policy has eliminated the folks who were casual bookers who often forget to cancel, get charged a no-show and are too upset. It made the problem virtually go away.

We hope that you will consider a return visit and thank you for your past patronage and this review,

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I read the other reviews and I was going in with low expectations. With that in mind it wasn't so bad. The room was so-so, it could have been worse. The staff was very pleasant. The pools and hot tubs had TOO MUCH chlorine. The hot tubs made our eyes burn instantly. The pools gave all of us rashes and were cold. Also the pools were so packed that all you could really do was stay in your little spot. It was so incredibly noisy and NOT relaxing at all. The little cafe next to the putt putt does have really good pizza. The 'fitness' room was pretty gross. It stunk and most of the equipment didn't work. Our trip was a little get away over spring break and our 10 year old was not very thrilled at all. We can say..been there, done that, but once is enough. Frankenmuth is fine, it's just the next time we'll stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimengel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

I am so sorry that you were disappointed during your Spring Break stay at the Lodge. I do agree, it was shockingly busy the entire school break week. The volume of children in the hotel has not been at this level in the past 4 years! So I concur that the hotel was "hopping" and can understand the crowding you experienced in the pools. This is a very rare circumstance. They are not this crowded in summer nor were they this crowded during Christmas break. That said, I never witnessed it so crowded that guests were not able to move around. I am sorry that you experienced this. The chemical levels in the pools are monitored twice mid-day and adjusted and also adjusted overnight. With the very heavy bather load, there is a stronger odor, known as chloromines. (the gas dissipated into the air when chlorine does its job). We actually run a 4 foot fan in the area where we have 3 pools together at night to help combat this challenge, plus adjust the chemical levels to safe levels 3 times every day. I am happy to hear you had no issues with the water temperature during your stay, as all pools are heated.

i do not see any manager report addressing these particular disappointments during school break. In the future, don't hesitate to approach any manager to express any disappointment you are experiencing. We would enjoy the opportunity to make things right immediately while you are here.

Also, don't hesitate to ask a reservationist if you are booking during a very busy time in the hotel, we usually can tell this is occurring we can steer you to slower dates where the hotel is more quiet with less traffic.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, GM / C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: $157 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing