We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Character, Lacks Service”

Main Street Tavern & Pizza
Ranked #34 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Has Character, Lacks Service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is what I would call a "townie bar" or "hole in the wall". Busy night had only bartender on, no wait staff to speak of. A very grumpy middle aged woman would sometimes get up from her seat to help out, I can only ascertain that she was the owner/manager of some sort. Regardless, she was more of the typical small tourist town bar owner than friendly frankenmuth host. As in "oh yes I will take your money because we would not exist without tourists, but Id prefer if you just sent a check as a donation instead of coming into my bar because I actually hate tourists, yes this makes no sense but that is how we do.". Im sure Ill stop in again next time I am bar hopping in the town, but certainly would not go out of my way to do so. And another note, the bathroom was offensive. Even for a man.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shine1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    10
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pizza!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Greatest pizza ever. It is definately a bar but worth putting up with beer smell to get the pie. Fresh ingredients. Fantastic flavor and ranch dipping sauce for crust was to die for!

Helpful?
Thank CBear1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“dirty place”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

OK..it sucked. service really was the pits... food was boring zza waOK..it sucked. service really was the pits... food was boring OK..it sucked. service really was the pits... food was boring zza was med bad... zza was med bad... s med bad... OK..it sucked. service really was the pits... food was boring zza was med bad... OK..it sucked. service really was the pits... food was boring zza was med bad...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank poppyhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Anniversary 2013”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Friendly great service with a great atmosphere, good menu selections and great pizza with plenty of toppings, great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love pizza”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The pizza was fresh and loaded with the toppings that we love. We had 3 large pizzas. The salad was good as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Tavern & Pizza also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Main Street Tavern & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing