We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frankenmuth River Place Shops
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Fun Shopping Experience

My family and I come to Frankenmuth every year and we love visiting the River Place Shops... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wanderingkelso
,
Marblehead, Ohio
via mobile
Nice way to spend a day.

There's something for everyone. If you like fudge, ice cream, hand made leather goods, wool... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
grumpys62toy
,
Levittown, New York
Read all 794 reviews
  
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveler rating
423
260
91
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
260
91
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping area cupcakes something for everyone cupcake shop enchanted forest yankee candle cupcake wars book store cherry republic specialty stores great lakes great shopping bavarian style walk around unique items bavarian inn great place to shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The shops are beautiful, but severely overpriced. Lots of kitschy stuff, and didn’t find anything we couldn’t live without. Maybe it’s because it’s the end of the summer season, but none of the shop keepers seemed particularly happy to be there. Tried to buy some $5 seed beads for a knitted shawl from the bead shop and got “do you have cash? We really don’t do purchases on credit for under $10.” Okay, keep your beads. Skip it unless you’d like some photos. The shops at the Bavarian Inn and on the Main Street were much more interesting and better priced.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank t_niagara86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverPlaceJess, Public Relations Manager at Frankenmuth River Place Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, t_niagara86, thanks for visiting River Place Shops. We are sorry to hear you found our shops overpriced, as we pride ourselves on having something for everyone and at every price point in our more than 35 stores and attractions. Please let us know if there were any specific things you were unhappy with during your visit, the River Place Shops team hope to host you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica Haynes
Marketing and Events Director
Frankenmuth River Place Shops
frankenmuthriverplace.com | #riverplacefun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautiful area to shop in. A for Atmosphere,but there really wasnt much to shop for. Need more variety.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank LuvaNurse443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverPlaceJess, Public Relations Manager at Frankenmuth River Place Shops, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Hello, LuvaNurse443, thanks for visiting River Place Shops. We are sorry to hear you did not find our variety of shops and attractions unique, as our team of stores work hard to have something for everyone in the family. We pride ourselves on being a unique shopping attraction and hope you return to experience our free and family-friendly events!

The River Place Shops team hope to host you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica Haynes
Marketing and Events Director
Frankenmuth River Place Shops
frankenmuthriverplace.com | #riverplacefun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

We enjoyed this shops, really nice place to look around with a large variety of shops with sweets & snack type options.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank sukieakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The River Place Shops have many unique shops including Popcorn Wagon, a favorite of mine where you're able to buy all sorts of non-traditional flavored popcorn. It also features one of the oldest American breweries nearby. It's great for all ages and has many great shops, restaurants and also features an arcade. I often stop into a shop that sells nerdy things like board games and cards. It's also Christmas / German / Bavarian themed, so you will see Christmas decorations in the middle of the summer. Right down the street, you have T-Dubs, an amazing pizza place. I highly recommend their BLT Pizza. Top Notch!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank psyclonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

The shops are unique and fun to visit.

There is a place to get benet's and chicory coffee New Orleans style. There is also a cupcake shop that has many types of cupcakes. I had the Texas Sheetcake cupcake and it was delicious.

A must see is the Everything cherry store. I never knew that there were so many uses for cherries.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank mrskark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews