We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a stroll”

Frankenmuth River Place Shops
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 40 unique shops and attractions in this authentic re-creation of a Bavarian village. Fun for the whole family!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place for a stroll”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you like browsing in speciality shops, this is your place. From speciality socks, olive oils, liquors, candles and so many other products, you will have a great time meandering through the stores. Unfortunatey, the wind was cold and we had to stop short of our tour, but try it in the summer. Horse drawn carriages add to the charm as do paddleboats on the water in the nice weather.
Don't miss the cupcake shop with the chocolate covered bacon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank miss_patty526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    180
    63
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Shopping Area and Perfect For Warming Up During The Ice Festival”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been going to Frankenmuth, MI for years and never meandered through this shopping area. I usually head right into the downtown section and now I know I have been missing out! There is a shopping guide and map available at the entrance. There are plenty of shops offering the usual souvenir type items but also many unique treasures as well. It is set up as a large circle and is easy to navigate. It is very clean.There are benches to relax on. There are clean public rest rooms. There are places to stop at for refreshments and food. A great experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelic1Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“All in one place.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Loved the place so much that my kids wanted me to buy a cottage over there so that they can visit more often Loved the historically significant neighborhood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScarboroughMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just a great place to spend a great evening. Unique shops, unusual items, place to sit and relax, purchased Christmas gifts that may not be accessible every where.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
314 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good addition to town”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This place has not been here long. It is a nice addition to the town, short walk from Bavarian inn and zingers. The sidewalks are heated so the snow does not accumulate. The selection is not huge. Good fudge, popcorn and lots of imported knick knacks. Worth a stroll.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelmoorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankenmuth River Place Shops also viewed

 

Been to Frankenmuth River Place Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing