We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Hotel room was small and cramped for two people with luggage. Repairs had been made in the bathroom and left screw holes showing.The bathtub was chipped and had tried to be repaired unsucessfully. The hotel was filled teen-agers and parents in town for sporting events which made for a noisey evening. Breakfast was available but overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbdonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel over 10 times on business in Flint! The customer service there is above exceptional and the accommodations are very clean and nice! And the Jacuzzi rooms are just AWESOME! I highly recommend staying here if you are in travelling through Flint!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pdoubrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Came to Flint on business, and stayed here based on past great reviews. Compared to other Courtyards in the country that I have stayed at, this hotel is average at best and has not been renovated as most Courtyards have been in the past 2 years (which is typical of hotels in this economically depressed SE part of Michigan). This hotel is near the Flint airport near two other hotel properties, but not much else. Highway noise from Rt 23 was evident. There is only one restaurant nearby, Redwood Lodge-a microbrewery (except for a couple fast food chains). It seemed a long way to go (5mi) to eat at a decent restaurant or go anywhere. The room was clean, and the staff aimed to please. There was even a little complementary reception (nachos, calzones) for dinner on Tuesday night. Parking is ample. Had the breakfast buffet one day. Service was prompt and attentive and the food good, but omelets were the smallest I have ever seen. The breakfast was a bit pricey for the area. Can't say there are any better hotels in the area (although this is rated #3 in Tripadvisor, and #1 and 2 are next door), but this is a decent but unexciting choice.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We chose this hotel because of the positive ratings through TripAdivisor and were pleased with our choice. Upon arrival, they gave us the wrong type of room; had reserved a king bed with sofa sleeper and they put us in jacuzzi room with only king bed. We were traveling with our 7 y.o. so this did not work for us. Despite the fact that they appeared pretty booked and we arrived late, they corrected the situation by putting us in a room with 2 queen beds. We were on the first floor which was nice because we had a sliding door to an outside courtyard area. Other than a couple of cigarrette butts on the ground, it was a pleasant sitting area with chairs and a little table.
The room smelled a little musty when we first entered but after opening the slider to outside, it aired out nicely. The beds were fabulous! Lots of pillows, fluffy linens and very clean. Whole room looked very clean and we were informed via a letter on the desk that they were in the middle of steamcleaning all carpets in the hotel. It appeared that our room had already been done. The bath area was small but very clean as well. The shower spray was very powerful. The curtains really blocked the sun out in the morning. When we awoke, we thought it was still nightime because there was absolutely no light from outside coming in! The pool was small but very clean. Our room rate included breakfast which consisted of made to order eggs or french toast and a complete breakfast bar with both cold and hot items. There was a large variety to pick from. The eating area also had a bar that was open in the evening with simple drinks to choose from. The only thing we lacked was an in-room refrigerator. The jacuzzi room had one but the queen double room did not. We would definitely stay at the Courtyard in Flint again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 3doglovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

My wife and I had a great stay. Very friendly at the front desk. They even called to see how we like our room. Received an email before the trip saying they were preparing for my trip. And when I came they had a higher floor like I requested, plus extra pillows in the rooms and extra blankets. The room itself seemed new, and the area of Flint is great, away from the expressway. The general manager even sent me a follow up note asking how the stay was. Wow, great service, we will be spoiled for future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howeyd2Macomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

I have stayed at several hotels in the Flint area, and the Courtyard is, by far, the best property. Just stayed for one night and was very impressed.

Positives

Front desk staff called me by my last name on several occasions after check-in. I cannot think of the last time that happened at a mid-range hotel.

Room was typical size for a mid-range property, but virtually everything was done right in the room:

- Comfortable bed and pillows (not those extremely flat pillows that many Hilton brand properties seem to have adopted).
- Quiet room; windows kept out the outside noise.
- Best light-blocking drapes I have seen in a long time. Virtually zero light could seep in around sides, top, bottom of drapes.
- Excellent in-room lighting.
- Good shower head and water pressure.
- Free Wi-fi.
- Window heating unit continually blows the fan even when not heating, thereby covering up outside noises, and avoiding the noisy start up/shut down cycle. Kept room at very even and comfortable temperature.

Breakfast is not the free continental type, but is definitely a notch above the free versions. Fresh fruit was cut up (strawberries, pineapple, melon, etc.), waffle maker, hot oatmeal (not the packaged stuff), eggs, bacon, and all the usual bread/cereal offerings. Very well done. My room rate included breakfast, so keep an eye out for such rates – well worth it.

Hotel is 100% non-smoking (as are all Marriott brands).

Negatives

If you are a TV watcher, you might be disappointed in the smallish TV.

Does not offer a shuttle to Flint airport.

Small pool/work-out area (but it is typical size for mid-range properties).


Overall

I was truly impressed and would definitely stay here on all future trips to the area. A great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iflyyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I stayed at this hotel one night. This hotel was choosen because of its location to the airport. I was given a jacuzi suite. Because of my marriott status. The room was in the midst of renovation, but over all a nice quiet room, with an excellent bed.

I would probably stay there again.

The breakfast buffet was nice, but not included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Flint
Holiday Inn Flint
#4 of 17 in Flint
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Flint Grand Blanc
2.1 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc

Address: 5205 Gateway Ctr, Flint, MI 48507-3996 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Flint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range: $117 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Flint Hotel Flint
Courtyard Flint
Flint Marriott
Flint Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing