We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience!”
Review of Holiday Inn Flint

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Flint
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When we booked this hotel, we only intended to stay 1 night while we were in town visiting relatives. However, the weather turned nasty, dumping 17" of snow overnight, so we ended up staying a 2nd night. The staff was more than accomodating, even offering our family of 5 a free breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant one morning. The pool area was very nice, much larger than any hotel we have stayed at in recent years. You could tell that the hotel had been renovated in the last few years, as the furnishings still looked clean and up to date. Our room was spotless and the beds comfy. The only thing I wished was that there had been room for a roll away bed in our room. We booked the 2 double bed room, and entered online that we'd have 5 people in our room. However, because the room lacked floor space for a roll away, our youngest had to sleep on a blow-up mattress on the floor. Fortunately, I had called the hotel ahead of time and found out that I would need to bring this with me, or he would have been on blankets on the floor. Though we generally like to find hotel rooms that offer each of our family members a bed to sleep on, we would consider staying here again, since the price was better than comparable hotels in the area. Oh, and speaking of the area, the area in which this hotel is located is the safest area you will find in the Flint metro.

Room Tip: We were in room 308, which was nice because you could look down on the pool area, but not have direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Flint/Grand Blanc area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay considering the unfortunate outside elements. I will be sure to share your feedback with the Hotel Staff and we look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had reserved 7 rooms for a family memorial service for my mother-in-law. I started out with 4 rooms, went to 8 and then back to 7. All of this in a matter of 10 days, the front desk staff was very pleasant the entire time. When we arrived all of the rooms were ready. All of the staff of the hotel were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCourter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear GCourter, thank you for your feedback regarding your family's stay at the Holiday Inn Flint/Grand Blanc area. Our condolences go out to you an your family for your loss and glad that found our staff accommodating and friendly to your family during this difficult time. We hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed four nights at this beautiful Hotel and will definitely be back. My wife came to stay with me for two nights along with our two, four legged kids. From the restaurant to the front desk, we say thank you, thank you, thank you. Definition of a Hotel, an establishment that provides lodging and usually meals, entertainment, and various personal services for the public. It should say," see Flint Holiday Inn"
Thanks again
Tim and Lori

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear December guest, thank you for your feeback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. I will be sure to share your wonderful experience with the rest of the staff! We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Grand Blanc/Flint area! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

When I opened the door to my fourth floor room, I was assaulted by the stench of chlorine. Turns out the window didn't overlook the outdoors but rather the swimming pool below. The smell was overpowering and there was nothing I could do. I had an important presentation to give early in the morning and hadn't slept much the night before so planned to turn in early to get some rest. Impossible. The raucous kids playing in the pool might as well have been behind a curtain. And the pool was open for children until 10:30 p.m. The hotel staff were very nice but couldn't move me as the hotel was booked. They asked the kids to quiet down, but that only lasted about 10 minutes. Besides, they shouldn't have to quiet down. It's a pool and they're kids. The problem is the design of the building. Windows that don't look outdoors? Poor design. Ventilation that sucks chlorinated pool air into rooms? Poor design. Rooms without real sound barriers to an area where children play? Poor design.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newfriendseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. We have a variety of room types that feature poolside, Dome side, and exterior side to accommodate all of our guests needs. We hope that you will consider us again when looking for accommodations in the Flint/Grand Blanc area. We want to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here for a close to home shopping getaway and was pleasantly surprised...great location, 30 minute drive to Saginaw Mall & Frankenmuth/Birch Run Outlets. Hotel is close to expressway and staff was very helpful. Loved the bar in the lobby, solely because the bartender (Patrick) went out of his way to make sure everyone was having a good time. Will definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor just off the elevators...didn't have any noise complaints. Huge king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisNKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

DearChrisnKatie, Thank you for your feedback on your November stay! I will be sure to share this with Patrick and the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your are visiting the Flint/Grand Blanc area. We value your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Would you like to park in the hotel landing? Yes we all would. Well, if you're black you are more than welcome. Any other race? Ehhh too bad.
Would you like a jacuzzi room? It doesn't come with a refrigerator!!!! What the hell? I'm pretty sure motel 6 will even have that!
Ok. So you have a jacuzzi room. Do you expect the tub to be clean? Or do you you think there will be PUBIC HAIR ON THE WALLS?!? Omg we wanted to puke. We like to have a small "getaway" once a month and we will never go here again.
If you expectant quality than neither will you.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear November Guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We enjoy getting feedback, good and in areas of opportunity. I apologize that we didn't exceed your expections during your stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Houskeeping staff and additional training will be implemented to ensure that we maintain high cleanliness standards within the Holiday Inn Brand. We hope that you will consider us again when you are looking for accommodations in the Flint/Grand Blanc area. We want to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel several times for business. The hotel has always been average. The staff is nice, the decor has been slightly updated. The beds are old and in poor condition. The internet is unreliable. The restaurant is average. But, this now is my last time. After killing five flies, I contacted the front desk and was told "Sorry, that's what happens when we clean the vents. Do you want bonus points? " Before I went to bed, I killed one more. In the morning, there were two more flies in my room and another dead one on the floor. Disgusting.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank JBBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear October guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am truly sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We take pride in maintaining high service and cleanliness standards within the Holiday Inn brand and unfortunately we didn't showcase them during your stay. I can assure you that your experience will be addressed and that additional training will implemented to ensure that problem/resolution occurances will be handled properly in the future. We hope that you will consider us again the next time you are traveling to the Flint/Grand Blanc area. We want to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
#1 of 4 in Grand Blanc
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Flint

Address: 5353 Gateway Ctr, Flint, MI 48507-3980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range: $103 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Flint 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre, located near Grand Blanc is the place to be and be seen for business or pleasure. We are Genesee Counties only full service hotel featuring 171 guestrooms, on-site restaurant, heated indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free wireless Internet and video arcade room. J. Porters, our award winning American Bistro Steakhouse, features a family friendly, smoke-free environment that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located near Flint's Bishop International Airport, the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre is the hotel of choice for AT & T, General Motors, Delphi, IBM, CapGemini, McLaren Regional Hospital and Genesee Fieldhouse. The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre features Banquet and Conference facilities for groups of 5 - 700. Our Catering specialists will coordinate every aspect of your event from start to finish. We are nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban setting near I-75, I-475, US 23 and I-69. All roads truly do lead to the prestigious, award winning Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Flint Hotel Flint
Flint Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing