We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for all of your travel needs”
Review of Holiday Inn Flint

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Flint
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Adequate for all of your travel needs”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel was arranged by our agent about 15 min drive from where we were doing business. Facility is a courtyard type arrangement and included a restaurant with breakfast buffet, conference and meeting rooms. All services were standard and the price was reasonable. Right across the street is Redwood Grill that gives a discount to hotel guests. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
My only concern is why guests have to be so loud talking in the hallways so late at night and early in the morning! Please remember there are other people sleeping here too!

Room Tip: Away from elevators and facing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your August stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre Flint. We are conveniently located in the Flint area for all business travelers. Our breakfast buffet is available 7 days a week and provides an assortment of breakfast items to satisfy anyone's tastebuds! I will be sure to share your feedback with rest of the staff and we look forward to your next visit to Flint Area! Thank you for making our hotel your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    28
    19
    13
See reviews for
39
21
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Flint MI is not exactly known as a great city, but this hotel is GREAT. I've been here a few times over a span of years. It is a rejuvenated holidome- and that layout does probably seem odd to the patrons who never experienced the holidome back in the day. At my teen aged son's request the manager "upgraded" our room to one right off the pool. My son was delighted (although I know that with the convenience of close proximity to the pool comes noise...). The pool area was very clean. There is a hot tub and pool. The room itself was not really special, but very clean, safe and comfortable. The pool closes up at 10, so the noise from kids having fun in that area ceased by 10. We found the check in process to be very efficient and desk staff were very nice. The lobby are is spacious, but not luxurious. My son and I had breakfast in the hotel resuatrant in the morning. We got vouchers (not sure if it was Priority club status or ??) that triggered the free breakfasts). My son said that it was the best breakfast buffet he'd ever had at a hotel. There are places to eat within a short drive if you don't choose the hotel restaurant. I would stay here again. It is a good value and compared with many other hotels in the Flint region, this is a gem.

Room Tip: Rooms off the pool are fun if you have kids, but expect noise.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear August Guest! Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay! I was delighted to hear about you and your son's experience at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. Our poolside rooms are very popular because if their accessibility to the pool. I will be sure to share your feedback with the front desk and restaurant/kitchen staff regarding the service and food you experience during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again when Flint is your destination on future travels. Thank you for your patronage and loyalty to the Holiday Inn Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My daughter had a last minute softball tournament in Grand Blanc and it was getting very difficult to find a decent hotel under $100. The rest of the team stayed at basically the same hotel for $113, I got ours on Priceline for $65! The hotel looked very nice, very clean, the pool was pretty small- but still nice and served its purpose. The only disappointment was that they did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. When coming to the Flint for tournaments we are the ideal location and only full service hotel! We hope that you will consider us again for future softball tournaments in Flint area. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family was very pleased with accomadations; the professionalism and the hospitality. Everyone enjoyed their stay at The Holiday Inn flint, Gateway Centre. The scenery, the pleasantness of the staff. The service was excellent. Whatever, we needed, they made sure that were satisfied. Again thanks for the enjoyable event that was pleasing to my family.

Room Tip: They were very Spacious, and pleasing to the eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the staff. We look forward to hosting your next family reunion and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I don't understand the layout of this hotel. My room had a window that looked out over an area between the lobby and a restaurant(?). The coffee maker is in the bathroom...No, not the sink outside the bathroom but in the bathroom itself (is that even sanitary?).

The room is cramped and the bathroom door, main door and the adjoining room door all get in the way of one another.

Don't take the stairs to the lobby if you stay here (the door is locked on the first floor - so much for 'getting a little exercise by taking the stairs'). In my home state, that's a fire code violation, maybe not so in MI.

Also, THE HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEM IS VERY LOUD!!!!!!! It sounds like a jet engine is starting in the room and unless you're a really sound sleeper, this is likely to interrupt your sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an EXTERNAL view. Some overlook internal areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleofarubans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Center. We have a variety of room types available that overlook the Atrium, the Pool, and the outside that will accommodate every guest's preference. We hope that you will consider us again the next time your travels bring you to the Flint area. We value your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoy your facility...love the patio off the pool! The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, professional and helpful. The free breakfast is awesome...a full breakfast buffet. This will be our third year booking a block of rooms here for our baseball team. Krista, from the marketing team, went the extra mile to quickly get our rooms booked. She was very professional. All contact I have had with all staff over the years has been a pleasant experience...always respectful and pleasant. Great location...great place! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will be back! Thanks for another great stay. Coming back in June and again in July!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your Team's stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. We are the ideal Hotel for hosting teams as we feature an indoor pool, hot tub and Game room. We also offer packages that include our full breakfast buffet in the morning for teams to get in and out to the games. I will be sure to share your feedback with Krista and the rest of the staff and we look forward to hosting your team again in June and July. We appreciate your business and loyalty to the Holilday Inn Gateway Centre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nasty bloody sheets with stains in 4-5 areas on bedding. Sheets should have been thrown out! Called and asked for clean sheets. They handed them to us at the door. Went to change sheets and mattress was stained and dirty along with comforter. It was disgusting. Hair and sticky spots on bathroom floor. Worst nights sleep ever in a hotel. Spoke with manager and was comped $25.00 off price of room!!!! What a joke. Warning, it will leave your skin crawling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre in April. We appreciate all feedback, good and in areas of opportunity so that we can improve our services. I was dissappointed to hear of your experience at the hotel as we strive at maintaining very high cleanliness scores among the Holiday Inn Brand. I would like an opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail. I look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely, Scott Horgan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Flint Grand Blanc
2.1 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Flint

Property: Holiday Inn Flint
Address: 5353 Gateway Ctr, Flint, MI 48507-3980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Flint 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre, located near Grand Blanc is the place to be and be seen for business or pleasure. We are Genesee Counties only full service hotel featuring 171 guestrooms, on-site restaurant, heated indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free wireless Internet and video arcade room. J. Porters, our award winning American Bistro Steakhouse, features a family friendly, smoke-free environment that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located near Flint's Bishop International Airport, the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre is the hotel of choice for AT & T, General Motors, Delphi, IBM, CapGemini, McLaren Regional Hospital and Genesee Fieldhouse. The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre features Banquet and Conference facilities for groups of 5 - 700. Our Catering specialists will coordinate every aspect of your event from start to finish. We are nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban setting near I-75, I-475, US 23 and I-69. All roads truly do lead to the prestigious, award winning Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Flint Hotel Flint
Flint Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing