We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wifi does not work at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hometown Inn (Flint)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hometown Inn (Flint)
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Flint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wifi does not work at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I use the internet for businessan was assured it worked great. After two days it worked about as good as aol in 1998 ..good luck if wifi is importand to u. Room was ok for money...very noisy in the morning with staff screamimg outside about housekeeping

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biztravel3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

They advertise wi fi but did not work even after complaints to manager. So so room. Obvious drug activity with no security on site. Stayed next nite at sleep inn down the street and little more money but ten times better

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yadeyade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyHometown, Manager at Hometown Inn (Flint), responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am sorry your stay was not pleasant with us, our wifi is up and running fast, we are still in process of going room by room and making sure every room is 100 percent, i personally watch for drug activity and i can assure you it is non-existent here since i took over as manager, i hope you will give us another chance in the future, please contact me at andyhometown@ymail.com and i will take care of you for your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This motel has cleaned up since my last visit. I can definetely see the difference. The new management is taking an effort to fix the rooms. Last visit the rooms were falling apart. Don't get me wrong cielings and carpet definetely need some repairs, especially the carpet! You can only shampoo something so much. Now that the ghetto clientelle is diminishing I recommend some paint in the rooms and some carpet. Get rid of the nasty outdated wallpaper. Get carpet that actually resembles carpet. The best thing this motel has going is the staff! The staff is outgoing, hard working, and trying to clean this place up with what they have to work with. YOU have to spend money to make money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Stained 20 year old carpet. Stained 20 year old furniture. Curtain mangled. A/C did not work. Parts of it laying on floor of room when I checked in. Cheaper places nearby. Should have done more research.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidgff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flint hotels

Burton, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was the WORST place I have EVER been in in my life! I had my girlfriend come in from Alabama and OMG was I ever embarrassed! The carpet was SO nasty! It was damp and SO filthy that we didn't want to even take our shoes off! The room smelled like old stale cigarette smoke so badly that my quilt I brought in to lay on the bed with had to be washed twice. It was SO bad the we paid for 2 nights, but left the morning after we got up and let the other night go. Just could NOT stay there another minute. The mold was so bad that I could feel it in my lungs and I have asthma.
There is NO Fitness Center, NO breakfast, NO clean pool like they advertise, NO clean picnic area like the pictures...NONE of the pictures look even CLOSE to what we seen when we walked in! This place NEEDS to be shut down! The health department needs to be brought in! Trust me...don't even think of staying here!

Room Tip: This was the WORST place I have EVER been in in my life! I had my girlfriend come in from Alabama an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I cannot believe anyone would rate this nasty place as either "tolerable" or "clean", and I would hate to see where they actually live and how they keep it if they think this place was "okay for the money". (I am quoting some of the reviews I just read) Whole place was so dirty it made us itch to be in the room. Bedspread was filthy and looked as though it had never been washed or changed. Bathroom smelled like urine, tub had so many burn marks on it it looked like an ashtray; ceramic tile on floor was cracked in many places and actually slipped out of place when you walked on it; getting a towel was almost impossible, and didn't want to use them when you did, Don't stay there unless you don't mind, drug dealers, prostitutes and the like coming and going and knocking on doors at all times of night AND day.....horrible place. Two words: unsafe DUMP We didn't stay the night and lost our money.

Room Tip: stay with the well-known chains and pay a little more if cleanliness and safety is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The room smelled so bad that everything that was taken in had to be washed when we arrived home. The shower curtain had mold at the bottom. The beds were very uncomfortable woke to a stiff back, the fiber fill in the pillow was bunched together, but the sheets were clean. My granddaughters had brought extra blankets that they had rolled into instead of getting under the sheet and bedspread, If we would have extra's we would have done the same!! There was no clock in the room, the internet was spotty, the TV was okay. The floors were dirty my granddauthers had brought slippers wish I would have, had to keep my shoes on. I had reserved a double queen (per the clerk this is all they had) we ended up with a room that had 2 full beds. They advertise AAA and AARP for discounts, they stated they could not do this. So we paid the full rate which was Way To Much For What We Had To Sleep In and Put Up With. The Breakfast they offer is from 6:00 am - 9:00am which I believe should be extended to 11:00 am. But Bob Evans is just 2 doors down and they have a great breakfast, with a great staff!! They rent out rooms to familys has there primary home which is fine, but they should seperate areas, so the public is not placed in between two renters. There were people coming and going all hours of the night, dogs barking(it is nice they allow pets, but they need to be controlled & not bark half the night), a women that was walking back in forth arguing on her cell phone for approx. 1/2-1hour at 11:00 pm right in front of the room we were given. The renovation in 2009 must have been just the outside to the building because the inside is DISSCUSTING!! And it is a DISSCUSTING PLACE TO STAY THEY SHOULD NOT EVEN GET 1 GREEN CIRCLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flint hotels
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Flint Miller Rd/Airport
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn (Flint)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn (Flint)

Property: Hometown Inn (Flint)
Address: 3277 Miller Road/I-75, Flint, MI 48507
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hometown Inn (Flint) 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hometown Inn (Flint) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometown Inn (Flint) Hotel Flint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing