We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing special”

Redwood Steakhouse & Brewery
Ranked #3 of 346 Restaurants in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went on a weeknight so it wasn't crowded. Service was okay, but the food was not great. The BBQ ribs were not tender, tough and chewy with very little meat. The coffee was only warm not hot. The salad was the best thing, very tasty. But we probably won't hurry back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    118
    64
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinity
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Surprise in Flint”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After leaving a football game and heading back to Flint for the night we were starving and looking for a good solid meal. After driving by a nameless sports bar that did not look kid friendly we found Redwood Lodge right across from our hotel. This is a fantastic family restaurant with quite a diverse menu. I had a create your own pizza which was fantastic and the kids had the sirloin off of the kids menu. we all enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was enjoyable also. Steaks are a bit pricey so be ready to pay about $3.99 an oz according to the sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Too Pricey!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I visited for dinner. The ambiance was nice, it was built like an old wooden lodge with large beams with some animal mounts on the walls. We were seated right away since they were not that busy at 5:00 PM.

There is a wide choice to choose from on the menu like steaks, fish and pasta to nachos. My wife had the skillet lasanga and I had the 8 oz. fillet. The meals came with bread, salads and one side. The food tasted great. The overall pace of the meal was excellent. We really liked the desert tray that our server brought over to tempt us. It was hard to turn down.

With all that said, the price is geared towards an upscale resturant. This might be a place for a special occasions, but I'll visit the other steak houses in the area for a better value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great brewpub environment”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was here for a quick lunch. The beer was tasty and the sandwich was very good. Service was also very good, although it wasn't too busy. I'd like to return for dinner sometime when I'd have a chance to sample more of the brews made on site.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ole_Roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wide menu, good steak plus microbrewery”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed right across at one of 3 hotels at Gateway Center and this was the place to go! Steaks great and we returned the next eve for fish & chicken. Equally delicious. Mention hotel and get a discount. Nice microbrew samplers. Decent dessert tray. Rustic decor and nice servers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood Steakhouse & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Redwood Steakhouse & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing