We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big John Steak & Onion

Big John Steak & Onion
Ranked #7 of 344 Restaurants in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“MMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I travel a lot. Every time I leave a place, there's always one food item I crave in my dreams. For Flint, or probably even the state of Michigan, this is it. A Big John's #3 with steak, onions, banana peppers, and cheese. My parents who live out of state stop here every time they visit, sometimes twice. Drive through, carry out, or dine in are options. They are clean, friendly and fast on Fenton Road.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big steak subs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hot steak and onions with other vegetables you want on it. I love having mushrooms on it and cheese. Fast service. Clean. Mostly to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy to my Tummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Big John is the greatest. I love the steak and chees and the Barbecue steak and cheese. There are many in the Flint area to choose from.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Flint staple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Good quality meat and just a good sub something people who visit or live in flint have to try at least once they also have salads.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great Steak and Onion Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I no longer live in the Flint area, but this place is always on the top of my places to go when I return for a visit. Often it's the first place I want to go for a meal. It's just simple and tasty.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttoopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big John Steak & Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing