We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude nasty desk clerk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Reviewed September 21, 2012

desk clerk was so rude when told that she had a very bad attitude she then became irate and nasty rude. i called her a name under my breath in the foyer and she came running out from behind the counter and screamed at me told me she was going to call the police. then she took a different approach she said that she was uncomfortable and i should go someplace else. talked to mgr said i should apologize to her. guest relations was no help said that the corrective measures have been taken. when asked what measures could not tell me. told me jeff cobb tried to call me but did not have my phone number. strange its on my redi card on the form i filled out and with guest relations. from the sounds of this he has nothing to say to defend the actions of his motel which is drug infested and has a high amount of ladies of the night and day there. I've stayed here since 2008 often because it was different back then. since this new manager what happened jeff. this was on 9/16/2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marine6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was my 3rd time staying here with my daughter who runs the race every year. I initially looked for a convenient, reasonably priced place as it was just going to be somewhere to sleep. Despite the unfavorable reviews, we stayed here and never had a problem. However, this time I felt very uncomfortable and decided this was our last time. Next year, we will look for someplace else.

As far as a place to sleep, it's OK. The beds and pillows were comfy. The AC worked great. The WIFI was spotty. There were no problems with noise or other guests. The room was clean.

Upon check-in, the clerk was friendly. There was a man at the desk with her who I assumed was the manager. He totally ignored me. While she checked me in, he spoke to her in a derogatory way. I felt it was inappropriate and probably could have waited until I left the area.

After I checked in, we drove the car around and began to take out our bags from the trunk. I looked up and saw the same man watching us. This was just within a few minutes so he must have left the front office right behind me to walk to the back and get there as we arrived with the car. Maybe it was nothing but it creeped me out. Being 2 females alone, I like of worry more than I probably should.

Inside the room, on the back of the door, there was a racial statement written in marker. The allegation of the statement did not concern me. I was more concerned that the motel itself did not remove the statement.

Like I said, we stayed here 3 times now. Had these few things not occurred, we probably would stay again. But, I think it's time we move on to something else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MittenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your TripAdvisor response. As the Inn manager, I wear many different hats. It was a hectic day and I was spending alot of time out on the property inspecting rooms, behind the front desk, etc. I'm sorry if I made you feel uncomfortable. It is my hope that you will change your mind and return to Red Roof Inn Flint next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Walked in and walked right back out! Room was dirty, people making out in cars in the parking lot, walls were dirty, crack in the door, air conditioner was gross, carpet has no words to describe the filth, holes in the room chair!! Wouldnt stay here for free!!!! Will upload pics to show some of this mess once we return home

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your response. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I feel a bit torn on my review of Red Roof Inn, as I stayed there two different time (on the way to and from our final destination). The first stay I was very happy. Because I was travelling with my dog, I was assigned to a room with no one staying on either side, which was thoughtful and appreciated. Although the motel is obvious outdated, it was clean and comfortable, and at only $50 it was a fantastic deal. I left our first stay feeling great about our stay and immediately booked a night on our return trip. However, my experience was not as great on the return. The room smelled of smoke (despite being a "non-smoking" room), we were placed in a crowded area of the hotel, despite having informed the front desk that we had a dog and would like a room away from other people. The room was not clean. However, that being said, because my first experience was so good, I would give this motel another chance. On both stays, the room was quiet, the wireless was great, the room was cheap, and there was a great lawn space for my dog. Overall, I think it's worth a shot.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with pets, request a room along the back side for quick and convenient access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelia913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I appreciate your response and am pleased that you're willing to come back and give us the opportunity to provide better service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Having been forced to stay at this place by requirement of hotel assignment by Regional Soccer Tournament, I arrived late evening to a smelly/smoky room. Friends who had checked in earlier witnessed people coming and going into a room as a different car pulled up and left in minutes many times over just a couple hours. After being told don't let your children going out of room after dark at check in, something is up with place. After a very uncomfortable night of sleep we never came back and found a cleaner better hotel closer to tournament site. 1 family decided to stay behind and stay another night only to have their children witness 10 Police chasing a person who had robbed someone in hotel. Guns were drawn and the robber was apprehended in middle of parking lot. Children witnessed this horrible scene and all went running to their rooms. Refunds were at first denied as we were forced to pre pay but because of convention bureau help were eventually had our cards refunded. This place is a scummy, drug infested crack house hotel. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your response. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We did, however, honor our Hassle-Free Guarantee and refunded your entire stay for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently was travelling from Northern MI and wanted to stay at a place convenient to the highway and inexpensive. I found the Red Roof Inn to be just what I was looking for! The staff was very pleasant and my room was clean. I read some of the other reviews and had NONE of the experiences that some of the other reviews noted. This was a great place to stay and I look forward to returning when I head back up north!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind response. I look forward to seeing you back here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

ABSOLUTELY NEVER STAY HERE - drug dealing and prostitution rife at hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank 565NOSTAY565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your response. I'm sorry if the neighborhood didn't meet your expectations. We did, however, honor our Hassle-Free guarantee and refunded your entire stay. Guest satisfaction is very important to me, and I hope you will reconsider Red Roof Inn Flint in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
#1 of 4 in Grand Blanc
285 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Flint
Holiday Inn Flint
#5 of 17 in Flint
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport

Address: G3219 Miller Rd, Exit 117B, Flint, MI 48507-1349
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range: $48 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this Non-smoking inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi in all rooms. Microwave and refrigerator available in select rooms - Inquire when booking. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome. Conveniently located off of I-75 and I-69, the Red Roof is within 5 minutes drive of the Genesee Valley Shopping Center, McLaren Hospital, Perani's Event Center, The Cultural Center, and the Swartz Creek Horse Racetrack. Kettering University is just 5 miles away and Genesys Medical Center is 10 miles from this hotel. Frankenmuth, with its wide variety of shopping, is just 20 miles, and the Great Lakes Crossing Mall is 30 miles. The Red Roof is near a wide variety of restaurants. Minimum Check-In age is 21 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Flint - Bishop Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Flint Hotel Flint
Flint Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing