We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much good food and shopping!”

Flint Farmers Market
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much good food and shopping!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I love the art store on the second level. kudos to whoever melts the wine bottles and sells the pretty light switch and outlet covers!

And the apple cider slushes below the art store are AMAZING!!
Love the rock guy, cheesy people, and the dolmas at the middle eastern place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WORTH CHECKING OUT”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Saturdays in Flint are wonderful and a great day to explore the area. Take the Farmer's Market. It's so much fun. Bring your camera. I usually visit the market frequently.

Parking is free and safe in both the paved and gravel lots. Hours are 8A-5P on Saturdays. I think they are also open Tuesdays and Thursdays. Double check.

There is a row of outside vendors selling produce at reasonable prices. Then, enter the brick building. It's abuzz with wonderful booths. Some are food related. Others aren't. Take in the entire experience.

There is a wonderful Middle Eastern booth that sells delectable Chicken Shwarma pita sandwiches and also some downright sinful Halva & Turkish Delight. Mosey to the baked goods, cheese, wine, herbs, beverages and other food vendors. Samples are available.

Then there is a booksellers booth, rocks and craft items. Everything is so much fun to look at. There is no way that I can ever leave this market empty handed. And, there is also music at the market. Again double check with the Flint Farmer's market website.

"The Master Gardener" is usually there and we've had fascinating talks. I find it very helpful with my own plants, not that I am a gardener by any means.

Just know that this is not a stagnate market at all. Check out the programs, the talks, the events and the satellite market options. In other words, there is a lot happening within the market.

Restrooms and a water fountain are easily available.

Be sure to look for the stairway and go upstairs.You will be glad you did.

Scope out the bulletin boards. The market features classes and also events such as a BBQ, Chili Cook Off and others.

Definitely have breakfast at Steady Eddy's upstairs, which caters to the vegetarian and vegan crowd, which I am not. No matter. The food is wonderful. There is usually a line and no one seems to mind. There is also a gallery upstairs and another store. Don't miss it.

This is a wonderful place to take the children. They will love it. A great educational experience.

Usually at the main entrance you'll see tents of vendors selling everything from garments, plants and take with food.

When you are finished, be sure to cross the street and look at the Flint River. This is the bike path and you'll see signs explaining the history of Flint, which punctuate the City. It's a great way to explore Flint. Make a day out of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StepOnBusTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than Food- but, Oh! The Food!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently moved back to Flint in my late 20s, and decided to stop by a place I loved as a youth. The Farmers' Market is such a nice place to visit. I was delighted by the addition of a wine store and a used book stand. Even though it was winter, the shops inside were buzzing. Doughnuts, fancy cheeses, quality, fresh meat, flowers, spices, and homemade jams and crafts were all available and very reasonable. I found lots of gifts and stockpiled for summer birthdays. There is an art gallery and café upstairs that would be easy to miss so be sure to look for the stairs. Those weren't open when we were there, but they looked neat so I'm sure we will be back soon. All of the vendors were very friendly and helpful. No one was pushy. It was safe and downright pretty in a way. Stop by next time you are bored and enjoy this delightful hidden market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

If you are in the Flint area and you are looking for a nice way to spend a couple of hours this Farmer's market is worth a visit. A nice variety of vendors. The products change with the seasons. For breakfast or lunch, Steady Eddie's is a tasty and reasonable option. Check the market's schedule before you go because they are not open every day.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is hands down the BEST farmer's market that I have been to. There is so much fresh and local produce. Great butcher, cheese, and bakery too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank browntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flint Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Flint Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing