We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Blackstone's, someday you'll find your identity” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackstone's Pub & Grill

Blackstone's Pub & Grill
Ranked #27 of 344 Restaurants in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Oh Blackstone's, someday you'll find your identity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you don't like Blackstone's today, wait a few weeks, they'll completely change their menu and you may find something you like. I've had brunch, lunch, dinner, and drinks here at least 50 times in the 3 years they've been open and I've had maybe 5 good meals. It seems they have a new chef and menu once every six months and the menu can range from 3 to 12 pages. I think the appeal is that it's a place that's sort of trendy, good location and the inside looks nice but their food is inconsistent, my mother once ordered buttermilk chicken and it was ice cold on the inside. I used to like their "boneless chicken wings" and although, they were breaded and fried chicken tenders, they were obviously made in-house. Well, up until 2 months ago and they're now the tyson chicken fingers you buy at the store. Their waitstaff is pretty bad, the bartenders are good, although, I'm not sure how strong the mixed drinks are. When it's busy, it's very hard to hear the person next to you and I've seen chairs break on 2 different people, so watch out. I wouldn't recommend eating here but sometimes it's nice to meet someone for a drink.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby6881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat with friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Was my second visit. Was 7:30 on a Friday night but wasnt very crowded. It was full but not 30min wait crowded. Spinach dip is an enormous serving with only a few pita pieces. (more to bring home!) Coconut shrimp were ok. Garlic bread is very rich...flavorful but rich and filling. Loved thier mac and cheese but again a big serving. My husband enjoyed his fish and chips. Thier cocktail 'Paddy's Punch' is marvelous. Thier 'Beach Bikini' should be rethought out, or we just got a badly mixed one, it was aweful.

Dress casual or after work...doesnt matter.

Take your friends! Watch some games like the Tigers or Lions or both!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveKYlivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

It has a nice atmosphere and very good food and service. I will be trying it for dinner soon. Cannot believe how good downtown Flint looks and now there are several good restaurants to choose from.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We LOVED it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My Mom & I stopped here for lunch one afternoon and loved it! I am not sure why some of the reviews were quite negative because our experience could hardly have been better. From the time we walked in the door we were greeted warmly and treated like royalty. We sat just inside the door overlooking the street and it was very pleasant. It's awesome to find such a great place downtown Flint, I used to be leary of the downtown area but what a breath of fresh air this place is! I would strongly encourage anyone to give them a try for lunch or just a quick cocktail. It is fabulous! Check out the photo of the Bloody Mary my mom had, it was like lunch in a glass she said it was one of the best she ever had. I only drink beer and consider myself quite the expert, the glass was chilled to perfection, cold beer, great friendly service. I cannot imagine anyone not enjoying this place for a relaxing classy lunch or dinner. If you haven't been to Blackstone's you are missing out on something very special. We will definately be going back again and again. PS: It's gorgeous inside check it out for yourself!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HotelScout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Was great when it opened but poor now.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I am not sure what has changed to make this place go down the drain. Menu changed for the worse. Staff are average. The food that I got the last two times was poor to average. The beer is cold thank God!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacherdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstone's Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blackstone's Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing